We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but crazy during July 4th” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #109 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but crazy during July 4th”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in July during July 4th. It was very hard to find parking even in our own hotel parking lot. The entrance to this place was very hard to find and getting around the block during this holiday was insane.. and July 4th wasn't even on a weekend!

The room was adequate with adjoining doors, however the coffee maker was an issue for both rooms and the room keys sporadically worked. We had to go down to the lobby multiple times for it to work. At night, there was this ridiculous noise that sounded like construction and i had a hard time sleeping. I called down to the front desk, but there wasn't much they could do for me. I got so crazy at one point i almost went out a window to see what the issue was.. it might've been some machine/fan/generator thing, but it was annoying!!

The stay was fine but i might stay clear of this whole area to stay in during a holiday like July 4 if you don't like being around a ridiculous amount of people. Nice area though and location to pier 39.

Room Tip: try to get one in the middle of the building and not on the edges where this generator thing that so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear sleepiebabie,

Fisherman's Wharf is indeed a busy section of town due, for the most part, to the many, many things there are to do and see. Where people choose this area precisely for that reason, we can understand that it may seem crazy to some at times.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you return - maybe not on July 4 next time!

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    1,001
    628
    215
    106
See reviews for
627
854
73
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well, it's past midnight and I am wide awake because I can hear the guy in the next room snoring and upstairs sounds as if 600lbs men are walking around. Every single car that drive by outside sounds as if it is in the room with us too. This place is like a kid with cheap makeup on trying to pass as a grown up. Miniature bathrooms with the sink in the bedroom a la motel style, noisy, no restaurant except for breakfast; and oh-let's not forget $52 for parking! Have no clue where the heat/cooling is because the dinosaur in the corner with non functioning buttons, I think, is for decoration. Retro is not a cute, fun word here. It's wtf have I gotten myself into kind of a thing.
We have three nights of this paradise to savor.
My daughter might dig the heated pool tomorrow- hence the two stars. Also, although the sorry broken lamp in the corner looked pathetic, the room is fairly clean. Next time I will camp in the middle of the freeway- it maybe less noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear l3tsg01,

We were sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your visit. We do encourage our Guests to let us know and we do our best to find something that better fits their needs. We regret that we did not have that opportunity.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place might have been a Howard Johnson's or Holiday Inn in a previous life, but Sheraton did a good job on the interior...otherwise a very unassuming and frankly ugly place externally. The rooms were well appointed and the multiple outdoor fireplace nooks were a very nice touch.

The staff were very good and cheerful, noticeably more so than other hotels of this class.

The tourist attractions are three blocks away and all things being equal I'd probably want to stay at the more adjacent hotels; i didn't get a San Franciso "feel." My room faced a public bus facility, though I don't remember being disturbed by the noise. A mixed residential building was on the other side, blending in with the surrounding block or two which was devoid of any interest, charm, or character. At least there was a Trader Joe's nearby, which was the most interesting thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear lorrink,

We appreciate the comments and are glad that you found the hotel comfortable and our staff friendly and accomodating. The zoning codes for buildings in the Fisherman's Wharf area restrict heights and roof lines. The result is, unfortunately, low, square buildings. However, we were glad to read that you found the interior decor appealing and liked our outdoor firepits.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel was our first stop on honeymoon and fulfilled our expectations perfectly.

Upon arriving at the hotel, after a very fun and informative taxi ride from the airport, we had a very short wait before being checked in. The clerk was incredibly friendly and congratulated us on our marriage and provided us with a room upgrade and complimentary champagne and chocolates in our room, which was a lovely touch.

Our room had been upgraded quite recently and did not look old or tired as some of the other reviews have hinted at. The room looked over the pool area which was very quiet in the evenings and I would assume this was better than a room overlooking the main road running alongside the hotel (next to the bus depot).

We did not eat in the hotel, but given we were within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 there was no need to eat within the hotel at all. However, we did have a drink at the hotel, sitting at the firepits outside, and while this was lovely the evening we were there, I can see how some of the beggars may congregate in that area on the colder evenings.

All in all, the hotel was perfect for what we required and the location is fantastic and an excellent base for the Fisherman's Wharf area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Louise F,

Congratulations, again, on your wedding. We were so happy that you chose Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf as part of your honeymoon trip. Thanks for the nice review and comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back - perhaps for your first anniversary?

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler staying over 100 nights a year. I am a Platinum SPG member so I stay at many Westin and Sheratons around the world.

I was impressed with the level of service at this Sheraton even prior to my arrival. I sent an email letting the manager know we were celebrating an anniversary and asked if he could arrange a room with a view; I received an immediate response; we would be upgraded to a suite.

Check in was smooth and we were told our suite would be ready at 3:30; we left to grab a late lunch and upon our return checked into an incredibly spacious suite; the decor is Jetson's early 70's; the room is clean and modern with blue, white and yellow; the windows are large and open and there is a wet bar, living room and eating area. The shower and bathroom is huge and handicap accessible.

In the evening while we were preparing to go out there was a knock at the door; imagine my surprise when they delivered a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries!!

I would highly recommend this hotel; Bradley Hansen, Front Office Manager, made our stay very special.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lakegirl1927,

We just loved reading about your experience at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. As a frequent traveler and a platinum member of Starwood Preferred Guest program, you certainly are an expert in hotel service evaluation.

It was fabulous to read that we hit all the high notes. Congratulations, again, on your anniversary. Come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

But not so much this time... Stayed here 15 yrs ago right after we were married. Was looking for a place close to the wharf. Husband traveling for business, my mother, two children and myself tagged along. We were upgraded to a I don't know what the upgrade was type room on the third floor.
Pros: Most of the staff very friendly and helpful when you could get their attention. Heated Pool was nice for my children to burn some energy. Newly remodeled, housekeeping and maintenance staff always working. Close to everything...
Cons: Lack of staff, Very busy hotel, waited in line after line for just about everything. When calling front desk, phone would ring and ring. Our key cards never worked for more than 24 hours at a time. Each day would have to wait in long lines just to get our key cards straightened out. We stayed 5 days. Room Service had limited hours. Breakfast for my daughter and self was just ok, 50.00 later for a small amount of food, I expected a little better than average.. Because of location very small rooms run about 300.00 a night. I was pretty dissapointed in the SFW, was hoping it would be just as amazing as I remembered 15 years ago.. It was not a terrible hotel, but it could be a lot better...It appears that staff has been cut, or positions have not been filled. It shows directly in customer service. Waited 20 mins at times to get car from valet. At 45.00 plus tip/per day, should be able to get car right away. But, the only valet person was soooo busy, it was difficult to be upset with someone working their tail off...I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear TargetDude,

Where it was great to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, we regret that your experience was not everything you desired. True, we are a very popular and busy hotel but that should not affect our service levels. We will redouble our efforts going forward.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The carpet, wallpaper, light fixtures and rooms are a throwback to the early 70s, felt like a backstage set from the Brady Bunch. Great location and excellent service. In spite of the funky decor I'd definitely stay at the Sheraton on Fisherman's wharf again. It's a short walk to North Beach and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear B G,

Thanks for the 4 star review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We are glad that you would definitely return here.

Although we completed our renovation less than 5 years ago, the design team did select a somewhat retro look. As with many design concepts, some like it, some not so much.

It was a pleasure to serve you. Come back soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.