We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #113 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location. Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stay at this hotel every time we go to San Francisco. We love the location - so close to the ocean and all the walking opportunities along the Bay, from the Golden Gate to ATT Park. Everything is walkable or easy to get to by taxi or bus. We LOVE the outside gas fire pits. At the beginning or end of the day, they are a super place to meet and visit with people from all over the world and swap sightseeing tips. And you can enjoy a wine or other beverage while you are at it.

The Staff is outstanding. To a person, wherever and however encountered, they are genuinely friendly and interested in helping you to enjoy your stay. We are always MOST appreciative of the concierge staff because they send us to places and events we would not otherwise have known about. A lot of their staff has been there for a while which is nice to see and makes it feel more welcoming on the next trip.

The one big drawback to this hotel is the price of WI-FI in your room. Yes, there are plenty of spots to gather in the lobby to enjoy the free WiFi there, but it can be a pain in the neck if you need a plug in, or have any more personal things to do on the internet. Stay away from the hotel lobby 'bistro' food. it is disasterous - go instead across the street to the grocery store for better 'quick breakfasts' or other snacky items.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    1,172
    745
    261
    131
See reviews for
736
1,028
86
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family consisting of myself, husband and two teenagers arrived late at night following a long flight from London. Unfortunately without our luggage. As my husband was booking in I spoke with the concierge about our missing luggage. He was able to tell me approx when it would arrive as it has happened many time before to other poor travelers. With this in mind I am surprised that the Hotel would not have an emergency pack to give to visitors in this position. A toothbrush, brush or comb would have been most welcome. The Hotel was clean and bright, rooms cheerful. The Hotel is in perfect position for visiting the bay area. The reception staff were slightly too impersonal for me. We did not eat in Hotel so cannot give an opinion. Not sure whether i would want to return. I would perhaps give another Hotel a try as there are plenty to choose from in the vicinity. $22 a night to park car! Thankfully car not need in SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Didn't love it, didn't hate it. We stayed in a room with 2 full beds. The beds were about 5 years old per hotel staff and were not very comfortable. Our first room was right on the bus terminal so I asked to be moved due to noise (and in hope that I might get lucky on a better bed). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The second room was on the interior and was slightly larger and quieter (same beds, though). There was no true AC in the room, just a vent unit near the window so the room never cooled off completely. Room was clean. Coffee maker provided. The main attraction to this hotel is location. It's right in the Fisherman's Wharf area and very convenient for walking to sights and MUNI transportation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a pretty old hotel and very average. The check in was slow and the staff unhelpful had to wait a while for them to wander in from hiding out the back.

The interior was shabby and needed work the room was just a disgrace the shower over bath took forever to drain on closer inspection the plug was full of hair and yuck but the room was just so old and the beds were quite comfy but all the furnishings we a disgrace and there was an average big old box air conditioner on the floor and the view was over a dirty old roof of the carpark by the look of it.

Certainly would never stay again and was not happy with it at all we were not made aware about breakfast buffett but it was certainly not something we missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Just be a bit more generous and provide overall free wifi, instead
of only in the lobby, making the lobby at all time jammed,
chaotic, and suspectfully with a few non hotel guests, whom are difficult
for the hotel staff to identify, as there are so many
people in the lobby.

Also it would be more environmental friendly if they
also provide coffee mugs in the room, instead of only two
disposable foam cups. After your first coffee, you cannot have another one, or a cup of
tea, later in the day, even there is still enough supply of Starbucks coffee and tea bags.
You don't have cups anymore, until housekeeping comes again.

It was also difficult for us to get replies for our email inquiry, even after 3 attempts in two weeks, we were just ignored until we finally found a certain person's name, even in a wrong department.

Also, a charge of USD100, later to be refunded about a week after your stay, if no incidentals were incurred, was also not reasonable. Most hotels would just do a preauthorization, instead of an actual charge (and refund, if necessary).

The idea of the outdoor fireplaces is marvelous. Housekeeping staff we met in the corridors is at all time helpful and friendly. Great location but still pricy for worthiness. There are other cheaper choices within a minute's walk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very helpful staff, comfy beds, and perfect location is what would make us stay here again. Sheraton FW is not a fancy hotel by any means, but if you want a great location and a good night's sleep, this is a good choice. Just know that almost all of SF hotels charge extra to park your car, and almost all of them also charge for breakfast. We really enjoyed the firepits outside the lobby on chilly nights. Also a plus - large, knowledgable concierge desk in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The rooms are clean, but common areas were not as nice. Also, be sure to look specifically at the "Hotel Features" page so you you be aware of the $46 a day plus tax for parking. It is not listed on the booking page! The staff was friendly, but overall the hotel was a little sad looking!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.