We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #108 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

A refreshed 70's hotel that will never win a beauty contest but the location on Fisherman's Wharf could not be better. Very expensive to park a car (as you would expect in San Francisco) but at least there is the option. This was our second stay here and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage of our property. The location is truly one in a million with all the city’s main attractions a short distance away. We always love welcoming guests back to our property and helping them to find new ways to explore our great city. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    980
    618
    206
    101
See reviews for
569
816
73
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We made a quick, one night trip into the City to see the SFGiants play the Phillies in an evening game at AT&T . We looked for a blend of not to expensive, like $250 or less and a location that would allow us to park and then get to the game without driving. I found that's a little tough to accomplish if you want to walk to the game but as long as your good with the great public transportation in San Francisco you can get around town fine. With those things in mind we booked at the Sheraton by Fisherman's Wharf.
When I pulled in the drive to unload for our one night stay, Henry greeted us. He was very cordial, answered a couple of my quick questions and then asked several of his own. He quickly determined the nature of our visit and our plans. With those things in mind he suggested parking across the street in public parking overnight. The rate there is $20 bucks less than hotel parking, which I believe would have been $49/night. Way to go Henry. The check in was smooth with equally as pleasant and proficient staff. We quested a top floor room and they complied without hesitation. We were back at the hotel to warm up after the game by 11pm and went straight to the room. We did not experience any noise issues that fee ending or the next morning as reported previously. The room was clean, the bedding superb, not much of a view even looking out over the pool but a great location overall. No complaints. I think we got more than we payed for this time. :)

Room Tip: Rooms have been updated but the overall decor is still quite dated. Top floor means rooms with slant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
What a great way to spend a night in the city. We are all big Giants fans here at the hotel and love when our guests chose to visit us while attending a game. The F line is located right in front of the hotel which makes getting to AT&T a breeze. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you in the future. Go Giants!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

For tourists this franchise Sheraton is well located near Fisherman's Wharf. The facilities are mid-60's motel remade to imitate a hotel, but still with paper-thin walls and no protection against noise. The breakfast for Platinums is a joke, they do not permit Platinum access to the buffet, but only a plastic juice and piece of bread from the really lousy little stand beside the breakfast room. Hotel management is contemptuous of guest requests, enough so that several staffers apologize for hotel policies.

In short, this place is for gullible tourists only. Otherwise it is a bad choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel provides our Platinum members with complimentary breakfast that includes our full breakfast buffet in Sol. We apologize that there was some sort of disconnect on this amenity. We will be sure to share your feedback with our staff to ensure our guests are being informed of the different benefits our Starwood Preferred Guest program offers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is good if you are after just somewhere to sleep. No wifi in the room (it is free in the lobby but I would rather conduct my business in private) the bath was too small and there was quite a lot of noise from the surrounding streets, the decor in the halls makes you feel dizzy too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize that you did have the enjoyable experience that most our guests have. Being located in the heart of the city we encounter the noises of the city but do our best to limit our guest’s exposure. If you are a light sleeper we can always accommodate a quiet room request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

3 Stars for this hotel. This was to be our one 'splurge' hotel on a two week holiday, and I was really looking forward to it.
We chose this hotel over others in the area because of the Sheraton reputation. Sheraton is synonymous with being up market, offering the highest standards....and for $250 a night, that is exactly what I expected.
What I didn't expect was;
1; That the bellhop would watch as I struggled to get my luggage inside to the check in desk. At no time did anyone offer to help me with my luggage on arrival.
2; That the two staff behind the check in counter wouldn't even acknowledge my existence until they'd finished their conversation......although when they did eventually acknowledge me, they were reasonably pleasant.
3; That at $250 a night, I had to pay (and pay premium rates!) for wifi when it comes free in cheaper hotels, and at any Starbucks or McDonalds.
4; That ANY hotel, let alone a Sheraton branded hotel would put plastic disposable cups in their rooms and expect their guests to have to ask for proper drinking glasses. That, to me, was almost contemptuous. Are your guests not worthy of a proper drinking glass?
5; That on check out, again, nobody offered to help me with my luggage.

The room itself wasn't anything to write home about. It wasn't bad, but it was nothing special either. It's reasonably clean, but it's starting to look a bit dated. The bathroom is seriously small, to the point of being claustrophobic, and I'm not a large person. Certainly it's the smallest bathroom of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The toiletries offered are sparse and generic.
I realise that mattress comfort is subjective thing, the "sweet sleeper" bed was not the super comfy, 'sleeping on a cloud' experience that I expected. It was a mattress. Not even a pillow top. It was a little on the firm side for me, but nothing worth promoting.
The window coverings are awful. They LOOK nice, but that's all. Have them open and have zero privacy, or have them closed and have no natural light.

On the positiive side, while it's not the closest to the main attractions of Fishermans wharf, it's still very close. I didn't experience any of the noise that other reviewers noted.
The outdoor lounge area with the gas log fire pits are a nice place to relax if you can tolerate the cigarette smokers.

Put simply, it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in (by far!) yet it was no better, and in some cases, it was worse than the hotels we stayed in for half the price. For a Sheraton hotel charging premium prices, at the very least, I'd expect help with my luggage and a decent drinking glass in my room.
I would recommend this property as a mid range motel if it offered mid range pricing, but at $250 for a basic, no view room.....I definately don't recomment it...look elsewhere. With its lack of decent provisions, wifi and its plastic cups, it's clear that this place operates on a tight fisted (miserly) budget. It is waaaaay overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista Ca
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Close to everything on the warf! The cable car stop was a block away. the tour bus' are a block away. A safeway grocery and walgreens drug are across the street. IHOP is across the street. sea food and sourdough is abundant just 1 block away, on the warf and Pier 39 is less than 3 blocks away.

yet the hotel pool felt private, despite the hotel being in the heart of it all.Pool was landscaped nicely and was a good temperature NO hot tub, though which would have been a plus on a cool San fran night. Outside the lobby was a trend setting cooridor of couches facing outside firepits , which were in use at all times (very popular!). The beds were extremely comfortable!. Decor throughout was whimsical. Nicely tiled shower but the towels were not in with the shower.The Hotel staff was lovlely. The rooms were clean and maid service was timely. THERE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE ANY NO REAL VIEWS ROOMS at this hotel. Inside rooms are quiet. You have to pay foR wi fi and $46 plus tax for parking. so leave your car at home. The lobby has a cafe with snacks and breakfast items with plenty of tables in the lobby for snacking, and using electroncics. Wonderful experience. We checked in early on a weekend were accomodated with an upgraded room! If i moved my chair to the window, i could peak at the Coit tower.

Room Tip: you may want an inside pool view to avoid street traffic on the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. Our location is definitely ideal for travelers who want to enjoy what San Francisco has to offer. We are in walking distance to numerous San Francisco attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went there with my family and we found that this hotel was very nice with nice clean rooms and bath rooms.
The location was also very good 5mins from fishermans wharf where you can go to alcatras.
the only thing i could complain about is that there was not any bar where you could relax in the eveing just a cafateria.
please also beaware that sanfrancisco can get very chilly in the evenings even in mid summer you will need jumpers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Free internet...
Show More
North Beach
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
#85 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
North Beach
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#75 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Po...
Show More
North Beach
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisher...
#107 of 236 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Classic, Charmi...
Show More
Fisherman's Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#16 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,358 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#57 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.