We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #112 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff were very professional and friendly. Rooms were a nice size. The walls were a bit thin. The location was great. We walked everywhere, or it was a very short cab ride. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your delightful review for our many hardworking associates. We appreciate your comments for our clean and well-appointed guestrooms. San Francisco is an amazing city that is very walkable, we are glad to hear that you found our location to be well positioned in the city. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    1,053
    663
    231
    117
See reviews for
653
909
78
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel through priceline, so we were a little wary - but it was fantastic! The lobby and rooms were super clean, the beds were so comfy, and the staff was very friendly. The internet is expensive, as is the food in the lobby, but it was not a huge downer for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay with us at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf. Thank you for your comments on our clean and well-appointed guestrooms, comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds and friendly associates. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing it with our respective teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There was a conference in town so this was the only place I could get for less than $400 a night. The valet service was slow and cost $45 a night. If you feel safe parking across the street it's much cheaper but I was by myself and area looks desolate at night. The rooms are refurbished but they're old and no view. I heard that the rooms in the new section, across from the reception area have a better view.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the section across from the reception area (on your left when going in) which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
San Francisco is a congested city and parking can be very limited. We inform our guests of neighboring lots and street parking but offer our hotel lot as a place where guests can feel secure and also allow them to come and go as they please without additional fees. Should you chose to stay with us again, please contact our Front Desk team and asked to be placed in a room with a view and we will do our best to accommodate. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in England
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived 1pm Sheraton Fishermans Wharf in Mason Street, a standard room pre-booked for 5 nights and paid for through Travel Agent..
Queue, then, efficient lady checked us in after apologising for the wait. She gave us a map, and told us to see the Concierge for any tourist info.

Room 4412, on top floor. (Nicely carpeted and refurbished corridors, though wear does show at the fire doors.) Large room. King-size bed with 2 bedside tables, and power points both sides. Double desk along window wall with 1 chair. Sloping wall with dormer window and a Roman blind. (No view to speak of, just the rooms opposite.) Coffee-making, A/C, and 5 shelved cupboards, but no fridge. Large flatscreen TV on the unit opposite bed. Suitcase stand. Nice solid bed settee and corner coffee table. 5 lamps, long mirror and a mirror feature. 3 pictures. Open doorway to wash basin and double latticed wardrobe with sturdy hangers. Door to toilet and in-bath shower.

- Concierge booked us on the Alcatraz (triple) Combo package @$90pp,: inc 48 hour Big Bus Opentopsightseeing (stand-alone $45pp), and Panoramic Night Tour ($55pp for double combo). Bus includes 2 Free walking tours of Chinatown and North Beach, and one-hour free rental of Blazing Saddles bike.

- Breakfast Buffet @ $24.95 pp, on our last day. Had thought to look at it first, but pouring rain outside so just went straight in. Very small buffet, set out around the edge of a small room off the small restaurant. Juices and milks not labelled, and some juice jugs still frozen solid, so wouldn’t pour. Quite nice fresh fruits section, but berries not replenished. Mini cereal boxes, also hot oatmeal and congee. Bagels and fixings. Scrambled eggs, and a note that other styles available on request. Crisp bacon, sausages, etc. Ready-made pancakes (mine were stiff around edges) and breakfast biscuits in warmers. Sliced bread, and toasters. (I asked if there were no pastries or croissants, as there are lovely ones in the Spressi cafe by the entrance, and was told they only provide the sliced bread. I looked askance at her, and she asked a man to see if he could ‘find one in the kitchen’. He came back a little later with 2 large soft ones on a plate for me. 2 other tables then asked for them, and were told they are only available in the cafe outside.) Flasks of coffee and hot water are on each table before you arrive, - useful not to have to chase a top-up. Not a great breakfast, nor good value, but saved us going out in the rain.

- The restaurant only does buffet breakfast, but you can go to the Spressi cafe in the lobby area, where there is free WiFi. We had 2 espressos, 2 croissants, each w 2 butter and 2 jam, for $19 – ridiculously expemsive, but an excellent croissant!
- One evening, we had 2 espressos and 2 cupcakes in Spressi. Mine was lemon meringue and truly delicious, but $18 was, again, very expensive! (At 9pm, I looked for a downstairs toilet and had difficulty finding one that wasn’teither locked or backed up!)

Hotel is ideally located for Fishermans Wharf, with lots of shops and restaurants. Also very close to the terminus of the Sightseing Bus.

Room Tip: Would have been nice to have a view. Noisy traffic, but you are in the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your detailed review of your recent stay at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf. We are sorry to hear it was raining while you were here visiting San Francisco, but are glad to see that our hotel offered amenities that kept you dry and well feed. We appreciate your feedback and will look over your review with our respective Department Heads. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the perfect location for visiting San Francisco. Walking distance to the wharf, clean, and attentive staff. If you are looking for a traditional 4 star hotel-this is not it, however, if you are looking for a place that you are barely going to be in your room other to sleep - I couldn't recommend this place more. They even had a bottle of wine waiting on us when we arrived to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary ! Thank you Sheraton !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Happy Anniversary from all the associates here at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf. We are honored that you chose to spend your 1 year anniversary with us and look forward to creating many more memories with you. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again for many more celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a night at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf via an anonymous on-line booking service. While were generally satisfied, the Sheraton might not be for everyone. Specifically, one might consider some of the nearby, smaller, non-chain hotels. Why?

Specifically, we had three negatives regarding the property.

First, internet is on a pay-only basis, with relatively exorbitant rates. 15 minutes for $5? Why large chains do this is clearly "revenue enhancement" - but small hotels recognize that it just turns customers away. My guess is that the larger chains get enough business customers who will willingly pay whatever. Tourists are then caught in this web.

Second, overnight parking was $45. Whew! You could almost get another room and put your car in there. We used street parking in front of the hotel. Free from 7PM to 7 AM, and 25 cents an hour until noon. We got away with a charge of $3 instead of $45.

Third, as is evidently often done, the Sheraton found us what was probably their worst room -- as we had booked via a discount website. The room itself was rather dark, overlooking a roof, a very large and noisy exhaust vent directly outside our window, and other rooms directly across. This led us to keep the curtains closed, lights on - even during the day. I personally don't like living in a cave.

Would I return at the price paid? Probably not.

Room Tip: Do ask about where they're putting you. You want an "outside room with a street view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your most recent stay. We appreciate all business at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf and know you have many choices when visiting San Francisco and are honored you chose to stay with us. San Francisco is a very compressed city and parking is extremely limited, I can assure you that our pricing is comparable to other hotels in the area. Street parking is available around the hotel but not always guaranteed so hotel parking is offered for our guests convenience. We do hope that you will consider the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf in the future and would like to offer you the opportunity to request a room on a higher floor in order to resolve your past issue. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

A nice location. Clean and staff friendly. Had group rate for price, so was good there as well. Some views are not great, but all can not be est views! Would recommend if in area. Lots to do in area, and do not forget to see some of the steepest hills on roadways in North America. Only in Europe have I seen roads built this way.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We appreciate your comments for our hardworking associates; they enjoy seeing their dedication to customer service acknowledged. San Francisco has a lot to offer our guests and we feel that our location is perfect to local attractions, delectable eateries, and some of San Francisco’s more natural landmarks. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.