We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location for seeing this wonderful city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #112 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
SHREWSBURY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Location for seeing this wonderful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I had the good fortune to stay here for 5 days in January. After ready many reviews, i cannot see what people are complaining about. The hotel is located 1 block from Fishermans Wharf, has a bus stop across the road, a nice 2 block walk to a tram line and a rail car stop is just outside. Getting around could not be easier. The staff i had dealings with were all really friendly, i had a great room that was cleaned daily. There is is a supermarket directly behind the hotel and a multitude of places to eat within a 5 minute walk. As a base for your daily exploration of this great city, its perfect. Would go back there tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear AUDILBDM, many thanks for the review of our hotel and the 5-star rating! I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. I hope you were able to see all the sights of San Francsisco during your 5-day visit and that you can plan a return visit soon. Take care, safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    1,120
    699
    247
    128
See reviews for
692
967
83
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in early Feb after 24 days cruising from the UK. The room was huge compared to our ship stateroom and to those we are used to in Europe. Regular size for the US (from what I've seen).

Booking in was no problem and our room was ready even though we arrived at 11:00. The whole hotel is large and our room (2609) was a fair hike and had a view of a bus park and maintenance area. Luckily we are deep sleepers or the constant 'beep-beep' of reversing buses could have been a problem. The room was neat, tidy and airy: two queen sized beds half filled the floor space and our shower room was also fine and spacious. Coffee machine was greatly apprieciated and used daily. Not a fan of US television (far too many adverts), but we wanted weather updates and this we found fairly easily, even though looking out the windows usually gave us a better idea that the TV weather people claimed would happen! We had glorious sunshine every day by the way. We even tried to watch the Super Bowl, again too many adverts for us, plus the 49ers were being trounced during the first periods of play: so we switched off.

We didn't use any of the hotels facilities although the staff on the Concierge desk were very helpful and courteous on the occasions I needed any information.

The whole experience at the hotel married our thoughts on San Fran: everything and everyone was so friendly, really liked the city (and hotel).

<*))))))><

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are pleased to hear that our hotel offered you an enjoyable stay and refreshing welcome after 24 days of cruising aboard a ship. Thank you for your comments regarding the ease of booking, neat and tidy rooms, and a spacious restroom in your guestroom. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the in room coffee makers; they certainly help our guests get their day started. San Francisco truly is a remarkable city and we are thrilled to see that the weather cooperated and that you had an enriching experience in the city by the bay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The rooms are neat, tidy and roomy. Check-in was extremely prompt which is always beneficial after a 20hour+ flight. 
Easy walking distance to pier 39, shops and restaurants. There is Safeway right across the road. However there are no fridges in the hotel rooms to keep cold products. 
Getting into downtown, Union Square area is easy enough, if using public transport just catch the F line streetcar downtown, taking approx 15 minutes. 

The concierge's are extremely helpful, and always available to provide: maps, transportation or general information regarding the city.  
There is a rather large pool in the hotel however we did not use it being winter during our visit.

You have to pay extra for Wifi in the rooms however it is free in the lobby area where most people tend to use it as there are many chairs and tables available. the fireplace areas outside the lobby are extremely pleasant to sit by and very popular during the winter months.

After staying six nights in this hotel, I can recommend it to anyone visiting the San Francisco area. 

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf and in San Francisco. We strive to provide our guests with a comfortable setting that can truly be a home away from home so thank you for your comments regarding our guestrooms. Fisherman’s Wharf has so much to offer, but we are happy to hear you ventured into the rest of the city on the historic street cars. It is always such a joy to hear from our guests who experienced all that the hotel and the city have to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the concierge team; they are always pleased to help our guests. We are very appreciative of your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I really liked the location of the hotel, very close to Fisherman's Wharf. Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable.... My only complaint is there is no free wifi in the rooms only the lobby. Also look around for parking, there are garages nearby that may cost less. Search the internet for a good rate, they are out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear KtmMendocino, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4-star rating. I was pleased you found our rooms to be clean and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed to be comfy. We do offer free wifi access in our lobby, however do charge for the higher speed access in our guestrooms due to the investment we made last year to upgrade to a fiber optic connection for maximum throughput. I do hope you can plan a return visit soon as we all wish you safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything about this hotel is hard to find. The entrance to this hotel is tucked between buildings on its south side. The registration desk is almost hidden from the walk-in or elevator entrance from the underground garage. The hotel is quite large, with hallways painted in large horizontal blue and white stripes. Getting to our room was a workout - at least a full city block through the hotel following posted room number signs - turning right, turning left, now straight... The real trick is returning to the lobby. No signs that direction - just a maze of striped choices, some with dead ends. Got lost twice!
The room itself was updated with extremely comfortable beds, flat screen, reading lights, but No Free Wifi! The bathroom had been updated with solid surface undermount sink. There was a lot of street noise in the 4th (top) floor room. The staff were all courteous, efficient and helpful. The location is great. There are outside tables with glass walled fire pits. One of the three is available to smokers. I would stay at this hotel again if I got a very discounted price. Beware! My $110 room became a $186.71 room (including 25.71 tax and $51 for parking).

Room Tip: An inside room close to the lobby should be quietest with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Freedacat, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 5-star rating of our hotel service, cleanliness and location. I was very pleased to hear you found all our staff to be courteous, efficient and helpful and that you enjoyed our outdoor fire pits. I do apologize there was some confusion on the location of your room. Our hotel has six interconnected buildings as it is spread out over a full city block, so even though there are many directional signs, the layout can sometimes be confusing. I do appreciate the room tip and hope you and your friends enjoyed the Fisherman's Wharf area of the city. I hope can can plan a return visit soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for two nights in January. We received a good deal through a discount booking site. The hotel was listed at 4 stars and, although the final price was discounted vs. the going rate, the final cost was pricey. I didn't mind because the hotel bills itself as 4 star "luxury" hotel and I figured I was getting a good deal.

We were placed in a room on the far end of the hotel overlooking an alley/entrance to the parking garage. Not very attractive but we let it go because we weren't expecting an ocean view or anything and we planned to spend most of our time out exploring the city. But the room location proved to be a nuisance especially in the early morning hours when trucks were loading/unloading in the area. The "beep beep" sounds of trucks backing into the loading dock frequently awoke us during the night.

Also, we found the concierge service to be less than helpful. We needed a cab to get to the Mission District for dinner on our first night and the concierge very plainly told us to "walk out to the street and grab one". Given that experience, we called the front desk on our last day to confirm whether they could get us a cab to the airport of it we should get one on our own. The front desk told us the concierge would get one for us. At the desk, the concierge told us to wait in the lobby while he flagged us a cab. He came back several minutes later and told us he could not get a cab but got us a town car instead and that the town car would cost the same as the cab (about $45). Based on that quote, we proceeded figuring we were getting a good deal. When we arrived at the airport the town car driver billed us $65 - not at all what the concierge told us when he got us the car!! It was the final straw with the Sheraton and an unfortunate end to what had been a great trip.

Our overall stay at the hotel was definitely a low light to our trip. Very disappointing given the costs associated with staying there.

Final verdict: nice rooms, decent location but expensive, poor room assignment and unfriendly staff and service.

Room Tip: be sure to specify a room assignment away from the alley, parking garage and/or loading dock area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Deare Natalie_o, thank you for the review of our hotel and kind remarks on our rooms and location. I do want to apologize for the misquote on airport trasportation provided by our concierge service. I have forwarded your comments to the owner of this 3rd party service for his follow-up with the concierge team to insure this will not occur again. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to San Francisco and I wish you both safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've stayed twice in this hotel due to the location. If you are expecting the typical Sheraton property, you will be disappointed. Although fine for us, it's interior and decor is tired and in need of updating. The free Wifi is only available at the lobby (not the rooms) and is typically very slow because the number of guests who are also using the service. They also have a modest bar in the lobby - but the best part of the property are the fireplaces & couches outside - very nice and cozy. But if you use this hotel as your launch pad for touring SF, you will be very pleased you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear John_B, thank you so much for the review of our hotel and for the 4-star rating. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our outdoor firepits and rated our staff service 4-stars as well. Although we offer a lower speed internet service at no charge in our lobby, we do have a high speed network connected to a fiber optic cable available throughout the hotel for a charge. We recently upgraded our service at significant expense in order to provide a 10 fold increase in speed and capacity for our guests. I do hope you will plan a return visit soon and I wish you and your family warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.