We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Where Art Thou?"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #108 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Banos, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“"Where Art Thou?"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Right from the gitgo we had difficulty finding the entrance to the hotel! Arriving at 9:30PM didn't help matters. We felt that the hotel entrance was not clearly marked. When we mentioned our frustration at the lobby, "Yes, we hear that a lot!"
The double-bedded room was comfortable. We felt like we were walking thru a maze to get there though! Bold blue and white striped wallpaper line the halls to each room. Going around a few corners you really felt it was like you were in a "maze". But, when you finally make it to your room, it is worth it!
The rooms had simple, but nice decorating touches. Nice flat-screen tv. Complimentary coffee and a small assortment of teas. No free wifi ($14+ per day extra in the room). Free wi fi in the lobby. Lots of space there to make yourself comfortable. Free USA Today newspaper.
Also able to buy food items - fruit, beverages, etc. We didn't use the restaurant. Concierge provided excellent customer service. She showed us menus of nearby restaurants and even gave us a 10% discount card. Kudos to Jennifer! Room attendant was also wonderful. Provided extra coffee with a big smile. This Sheraton is located 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Location is great for first timers to a beautiful city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kgaribay, many thanks for the review of our hotel and for the 4-star rating! I was pleased you found our rooms to be comfortable and experienced excellent customer service from our concierge service. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding our room attendant. I will be sure to pass your remarks on to both our concierge and housekeeping managers. Thanks so much for the visit, come back soon and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    1,141
    710
    249
    128
See reviews for
710
984
83
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Great location, close to the wharf, boats to Alcatraz and cable car. Nice hotel, recently refurbished, but do not expect any views (barely 3 floors). Lobby with plenty of compy armchairs and small bar. Great fireplaces for sitting outside!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Aniku, many thanks for the 4-star review and for your kind remarks regarding our recent refurishment results and our outdoor fire pits. I was pleased you rated our service, cleanliness and rooms 4-star as well. Thanks so much for the visit and come back soon. Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed for five days at the Sheraton San Francisco. We are SPG and we were very happy with our room. It was clean, spacious and bright. The lobby area was a great place for a drink or a snack and the service was great. The best thing about this hotel is Jessie the concierge . He went out of his way to assist us with tickets, trips, transport and tourist advice. What ever Sheraton pays him is not enough!! Well done Sheraton and Jessie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Xxfivestarxx, Wow! I'm so pleased to hear of your satisfaction with our concierge team. I most certainly will pass on your kind remarks to Jesse at the desk as he will be thrilled to hear he made a difference with your stay. Thanks so much for the review and we hope you both will plan a return visit soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went for my 50th Birthday spent 7 days from the time we arrived till the time we left everyone from the door man, check in, maid service and concierge staff were friendly, helpful and informative. For my birthday Sherton had sent me a bottle of wine and a box of
Ghirardelli chocolates this was very much a surprise and most appreciated. Our room was facing pool and fire pits which I recommend so you don't get the street traffic noise. The only
suggestion I would like to recommend is that the bathroom light be brighter. The hotel is
close to Pier 39 and in walking distance to alot of resturants. Don't rent a car you can get every where by the transportation system.
Recommend Hollywood Cafe for breakfast it was awesome but make sure you go hungry the omelets are huge. Thank you Sheraton for making my birthday so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms pool side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Deborah_K, I am so pleased to hear you had a great vacation and that we played an important role in that happening! Thanks so much for the 4-star review and many thanks for the kind remarks on our staff friendliness and helpfulness. I most certainly will pass this on to our staff. And of course ... a very happy 50th to you. I'm so pleased you enjoyed this special event in our fair city. Thanks again for the visit and come back next year for your 51st! Take care, congratulations again and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for the Packer/49er game. I had to review this hotel after reading how others had problems with the staff. I did not expeerience any such problems. The concierge staff was great and very helpful. They recommended places to eat and gave helpful directions. The room was nice and clean. The hotel is in a great location and close to Bodines, Hard Rock & Pier 39. My wife and I enjoyed our time at this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear YeahManWisconsin, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments on our helpful concierge staff. I was pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our location with proximity to Pier 39 and all of Fisherman's Wharf's other attractions. I hope you and your wife can return soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Applause:
Fast check in
A bottle of wine on ice waiting in our room
Easy access to Pier 39, muni to BART, and Ghirardelli Square.
Room facing pool and fire pits.
Beds are more comfortable than most others.
Valet parking was fast and cheaper than we planned*

Jeers:
Sunday buffet was $24/adult for nothing special.

My family of four visited for the MLK weekend (Saturday and Sunday night). We reserved the room on the Sheraton website and selected the parking $20 option. I don't recall if I signed up for the rewards program then or if already a member. When we arrived the valet met us quickly and we were off to the front desk and to our room in less than 15 minutes. Our room was on the third floor and included a bottle of wine and two glasses. Now, this may not be suitable for family, but it was a nice gesture to two parents needing to unwind after a long day of driving from Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: I've read complaints that some rooms face a noisy street. I think the way around this is to join...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Aaron_S, many thanks for the review and for the 4-star rating. I was pleased you hear you enjoyed our comfy Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds, our outdoor fire pits and our close proximity to all the Wharf area attractions. I'm pleased you enjoyed the wine and I hope you and your family can return soon. Safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was super sick when I arrived and had a wonderful person (Sandy) check me in. She was helpful, warm and welcoming. Exactly what I needed. The concierge (I think Jamie) was also great at providing useful information without rushing to get to the next guest. The beds were comfortable and cleaning staff respectful of the Do Not Disturb. It was a great location if you want to be close to Fisherman's Wharf and a quick cable car ride got me to the heart of downtown. Getting to Height was better to drive. Parking is expensive wherever you go in San Fran but there are a few lots nearby that charge half of what the hotels do for same in/out privileges. There was only one red head at the check in desk that didn't reflect the same bright, cordial service. It was a cursory type of politeness but hopefully she was just having a bad day. They did let me check out a little later due to my illness so for that alone, I would recommend the hotel as a good value for anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jamasiangal, thank you for reviewing our hotel and for the 4-star rating of our hotel service, cleanliness and rooms. I was pleased that Sandy was able to assist with your arrival and that you found the concierge service to be helpful. So sorry you were ill during your visit and I hope you are felling better! Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Starwood, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.