We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably can't trust a sheraton anymore...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #110 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Probably can't trust a sheraton anymore...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 15/12-17/12. Was raining i had to ask for a brolly right after checking in, was told they're all out, turned my back, someone else got it. No big deal, Walgreen's just right around the corner.

Booked fm spg.com, but was given priceline room. Bed with under-size sheets with most part of the mattress exposed and the worst had got to be those nasty naked duvet inserts left on the bed. I thought they were comforters, nicely tucked in, but they were yellowish, took a closer look and they turned out to be duvets without covers. Unhygenic and disgusting. My room number was 1227, which was on ground level, right next to the hotel entrance. Nice, got to know who's coming in and out of the hotel 24/7.

Took a cab to everywhere, but strangely none from the hotel lobby. These cabbies were the nicest people i've met in the city. Ok, i tend to tip service provider a little more than i should, even for take-outs at restuarants, as long as they have common respect for others. Never take advantage of a working class.

Was at the lobby at 4am 17/12 to use free wifi. The lobby was hardly manned. When manned, the front desk guy was pretty mean to people he came in contact with. If not, people walked in freely, includng a rough take-out boy who demanded an answer from me as to where's the front desk guy. daunting.

Revisiting SF after two decades, i realised i don't like this city anymore. People in SF used to have greater self-respect to treat visitors with common respect. Now its the only city in CA that judge people based on their look. People frown at you unanimously if you don't wear dark coloured jacket like them as if the city is mourning or something.

This hotel sets the tone for my stay in SF, right after check-in, and its not a good one. Maybe this hotel had let the city down. Poor management very likely, but i know i should have chosen either The Mark or Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Tickerup, I am so sorry you experienced difficulties during your stay with us. I hope you can contact my office as I would like to arrange for a nights stay on the hotel on your next visit to San Francisco to make up for the challenges you related from this last visit. Thanks so much for providing the details as that will assist us in ensuring these errors are not repeated in the future. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    992
    627
    214
    106
See reviews for
622
848
73
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel staff is very nice and helpful (especially the valet guys). We stayed in a room with 2 double beds which was very clean but light switches in the bathroom were awkward and the bathroom was so tiny it would have been uncomfortable if we were any wider. Our room was on the first floor and we could hear the people in the room above us walking around all day and night (it was very annoying and kept us awake at night...and I sleep with earplugs in!) Breakfast is limited and overpriced, even for San Fran. No free wi-fi, and it was a pain in the butt to connect (we had to call the help line and it wasn't worth the money we paid). On the bright side, the location can't be beat, the beds are very comfortable, and it's clean. I think the next time we come to San Fran we'd probably look at other hotels in the area before coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ep244342, thank you for your review of our hotel and the kind comments regarding our comfy Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and our staff being very nice and helpful. I will most certainly pass on your comments to our team as they will be excited to hear they made a difference with your stay. I do apologize you encountered a noisy neighbor above you and encourage you contact my office before your next visit so I can block an upper floor or courtyard view room that are ideal for light sleepers. Thanks again for the visit and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fisherman's Wharf Sheraton Hotel in San Francisco a week in early November 2012. We had a great experience the hotel is in a great location, the information desk was always helpful in arranging tours for us, and the room was very clean and room service was excellent. It was our 1st visit to San Francisco and we have no complaints. I would defintly go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Yankeelover1987, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4-star rating! I was pleased you had a great experience and that you found our desk staff to be helpful and our room service to be excellent. I hope you both can return soon and I wish you happy holidays and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is a great value for the area. It has everything in it
You cna walk to all attractions from the hotel.
Just down the road is small outdoor breakfast sspots, huge servings, small prices.
try the hotels outside fireplaces and bar service nice touch on a cool night.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or you could get stuck on the busy road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Marktravelslots, thank you so much for the 4-star review and for the room tip. I was pleased you were able to see all of our many area attractions and that you enjoyed our outdoor firepits and bar service. Have a great holiday season, thanks for the visit and I wish you warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was travelling with 2 friends and we had opted to share 1 standard room with 2 double beds to save money. A double bed is a bit of a squeeze for 2 people who aren't a couple, but we managed to survive. The first night we had a room on the 4th (top) floor which looked out over a bus depot. It didn't seem like an issue during the day, but the continuous idling buses through the night was a bit much to handle so we asked to be moved to another room. The second room was the same as the first but a bit smaller as the top floor had a loft style angled ceiling which gave us a bit more space.

The room had modern beach style decor albeit an ancient noisy air-conditioning unit, and was just big enough for us to fit our suitcases on the floor without tripping over them. The bathroom was tiny with the bathtub shower and toilet sealed off by a door, however the sink, mirror, built in wardrobe and safe are all crammed into an area just in front of the bathroom door.

The area in front of the check in counter servers as the lobby seating area, coffee shop, restaurant, bar and free wifi hang out area. Most people were purchasing their drinks and taking them to the limited outdoor seating areas which were quite nice and had a small gas fire for each set of seats. In terms of service, the staff were very pleasant and friendly however the coffee shop come bar staff seemed to struggle when we asked for a glass of wine from their wine tasting promotion.

All in all a well located hotel only a few minutes’ walk from Fishermans Wharf, restaurants, the Alcatraz tour dock, and Pier 39. I would stay here again but either get 2 rooms or a bigger room for 3 people.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms facing the bus depot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MissRodra, thank you for your detailed review of our hotel and for the kind comments on our very pleasant and friendly staff and the room tip. We only have a few rooms (less than 15%) that face the depot, and have a variety of courtyard and upper floor rooms that are ideal for light sleepers. I was pleased you enjoyed our outdoor fire pits and all of our area attractions. Come back soon and have a great holiday season. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was okay. It felt a little dated, but it wasn't terrible. The lobby was average. They had a nice lounge area with a bar. GREAT fish and chips!! The location was stellar. Walking distance from Fisherman's wharf, ghiradelli, buena vista, pier 69, sea lions, cable cars... great view of the bay. The whole package.

The thing I like best was the location, friendly staff and the fish and chips. Oh.. and outside they had about 8 separate spots with couches around individual fire pits. Very nice ambience and each one was like their own private pod. VERY cool.

The thing I liked least was the awkward closet space (hanging rods were straight on and on rails that pulled out, instead of sideways like a normal closet), the size - it took forever just to walk to the room from lobby - and the loud train that goes by at 4am.

Overall, I would shop around but would stay here again if necessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sheri_V, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and your experience here at Fisherman's Wharf. I was pleased you enjoyed our signature fish and chips and thank you for your kind comments regarding our friendly staff and outdoor firepits. It sounds as if you enjoyed all of our area attractions and hope you can return soon. Take care, happy holidays and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Checking in was a breeze and we got in earlier. After a long flight from Australia and then LAX this was very welcome. We had booked a double so the room was large enough. The bathroom was adequately sized for three of us and was clean. We paid for a fridge which turned out to be a good idea as we could store food and drinks that we bought from the Saveway across the road. This was also a bonus as there was a Radio Shak that we bought our cheap phone from. The only downside was where our room was which was above the driveway. This was quite noisy at night when your trying to sleep. My advice is try not to get these rooms! Otherwise good location and clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get above the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Megzi18, many thanks for the across the board 4-star review of our hotel and for your kind comments on our location and cleanliness. I hope you and your family can return soon and we wish you a happy holiday. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.