We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our curtain was a stained sheet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sestri

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sestri
Save Saved
You added Sestri to your Saves list
1411 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our curtain was a stained sheet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

Well, i'll start with the only good thing about the place which was the price; $35 a night, $45 for two people (which was only told once they saw the secound person). Hard to find, once there poke your head into the living room of eldily Indian family, lots of shouting. First room awful, vibrates with the sound of industrial air con from chinese market downstairs. We request secound room, 5 hours later, and lots of shouting and misunderstanding, new one found. Instead of a curtain; a stained sheet. Has a tv though, no ariel. Everything filthy, good location.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I actually stayed at the Sestri in 2002 for three months but it keeps coming to mind as a straight forward, inexpensive for the city, place to stay. I paid $175 a week which altogether was still cheaper than most rent prices in SF. Being smack dab in the middle of China town was for the most part nice as there was fruit stands and other shops like right next door. As long as you're not expecting the Hyatt going in the place is nice for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The management was polite but did not disclose the super bed bugs infestation to us. We were only told when we woke up and were covered with bites from head to toe. We feel violated, the hotel is telling us there is nothing they can do. I do not believe this.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed bugs bed bugs bed bugs
  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masaya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I have stayed at the Sestri Hotel for months at a time when I'm in San Francisco. It is owned/managed by a very kind and helpful family who go out of their way to repair/take care of any problems. The place is very clean and completely bug-free and the showers and toilets in the women's room have recently been renovated and are now quite nice. Ask for the quiet side of the hotel when you book and you will find the noise level quite low. The beds are comfortable and you can request a chair, a dresser, or a small table if you like.

As the rest of the reviewers have said, you couldn't ask for a prettier, more convenient or safer neighborhood--it's the border between Chinatown and the Italian neighborhood of North Beach. Lots of historic coffee houses and the famous City Lights Bookstore, and pretty Washington Square park within a few minutes walk, excellent restaurants, fruit & veggie stands, and even an organic market 5 minutes away. Almost in front of the hotel is a bus stop which will take you straight to Union Square, Bart Stations, and the other way to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Street (Cow Hollow) and other scenic spots. Do yourself a favor, save a lot of money and stay here!!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, safety, nice owners
  • Disliked — no private bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights and was overall pleased with it. We knew what we were getting with the amount we paid. The beds where comfy. LOVED being right in china town. surrounded by food places and a local post office too. A 10 minute walk to pier 39. great location
The staff where friendly.

The only downside was the toilet/showers. There are 2 shared bathrooms (male and females). There was 3 showers with curtains but no where to change and hang your clothes so unless you don't mind bareing all in the middle of the bathroom it's a bit awkward to get dry and keeping the clothes dry.

But the room was very clean, as was th sheets etc. T.V didnot work though but wasn't too bothered by this.

Over all if you are on a tight budget and looking for a roof over your head and a bed for the night then i would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

The two good points about the Sestri Hotel on Stockton Street San Francisco are that it's a great location and it's very cheap. However you really do get what you pay for. The room was dirty and didn't appear to have been cleaned for a while. The bed sheets had stains and cigarette burn holes in them. We asked for a second set and these were an improvement in that there was only one hole in them. The room was smelt stale and was very noisy. The shared bathrooms weren't much better - the hot water didn't work for part of our stay, the shower curtains were too small and the toilet door locks didn't work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

Stayed here from March 10-March 16th. Had to pay for a week as they couldn't rent the room on a daily basis but even though it worked out to less than 33 dollars a day for a double room. The bathrooms were not that bad as an earlier reviewer suggested. There was some work going on in the bathrooms and in the week we stayed there, I saw the cleaners cleaning the bathrooms 3 times. The room was basic with a tv and a tap. The managers were friendly and very helpful.

Now for the location of the hotel, it was absolutely FANTASTIC!! Located in a very safe neighborhood ( I was scared in certain areas of SF as they seemed quite dangerous especially around union square). Great restaurants and bars and we managed to find really cheap food as there are fruit stalls within steps.

I would definitely recommend it to the budget traveler and also stay here again if I were to go back to SF (which I hopefully will).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sestri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sestri

Address: 1411 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sestri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.