We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seal Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seal Rock Inn
Save
You added Seal Rock Inn to your Saves list
545 Point Lobos Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499 (The Richmond)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
LA, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2004

Great !!!!! Very nice room. Great place to stay away from crowded downtown San Francisco.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    68
    14
    17
    14
See reviews for
43
52
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2004

I stayed at the Seal Rock Inn on Feb. 16, 2004 and really enjoyed my night there. I had a third floor room with a fireplace (though we didn't use it). The room was very clean and attractive and the view was stunning. The Inn has a great location just up the street from the Cliff House restaurant in the Sunset District of the city. After having stayed only days earlier at Robert's-by-the-Beach Motel, I was very relieved to find the room much more quiet and comfortable. The only noise was the sound of the wind in the chimney because a major storm hit the city that weekend.

The restaurant was reasonably priced, had very good service, and decent food.

I would gladly stay at this inn again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2004

In December 1962, my new husband and I spent our honeymoon night on the 3rd floor corner room...it was a very romantic room, with murals of the sea on the walls. We had no complaints...then I guess there weren't many buses going by. I just remember the view of the glorious ocean from the big corner windows. We loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2003

I always choose the same room. Great view, wonderful food at their restaurant, and close to the Cliff House and shops which are under restoration currently. Christmas time is great in San Francisco, the shopping is the best. A truly metropolitan atmosphere. I shall continue returning to the Seal Rock Inn, my favorite place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2003

I'm actually a native of San Francisco, but I haven't lived there for many years, so it's nice to be able to write about the City's hotels now. I really like the Seal Rock Inn, as it serves its purpose well.
The 38 Geary is right there, so you don't need a car to get you downtown. Just jump on the bus and have a ball. Ocean Beach, a real beach, is down the hill, along with the Cliff House and Louie's (best burgers). The sea lions left in the late eighties, but you used to be able them vie with the foghorns when the fog came rolling in. The hotel's restaurant remains one of my favorites. Tourists mix with the local residents, you can talk about the 49ers and Giants, and still get served by the same longtime staff. This is actually more of a motel than a hotel, but it's perfect for those of us who are city-bred and need to be in the outer Richmond. However, if you're an entitled, suburban American who thinks buses are evil, then please stay home in your tract-house....San Francisco really doesn't need you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2003

Suite 304 rocks! Originally opted for a third floor fireplace unit but when we checked in and went to the room, alas, it had not been cleaned.
the manager on duty apologized but made us wait in the lobby until it was cleaned, despite the fact other rooms were available. Manager, after being questioned about other rooms that may be available then upgraded us to suite 304 and it was bliss. It is a corner unit that could accomodate a family and a wonderful ocean view. The bathroom shower head is a big joke and whoever decorated this unit must be blind. Enjoyed the fireplace but was charged for wood beyond the first few logs, a fact that was never mentioned at check in or when making reservations. Also, we had to ask for the original logs to start the fire going. If you aren't into "bus engine noises" be prepared for early morning and late night buses as a major bus stop is right across the street. Experienced 3 different front desk managers and they all had a very unprofessional "who cares" attitude. The front desk has limited hours. The fireplace room was a bonus and although we didn't use the pool/pingpong table and net at the recreation floor, it appeared clean and well maintained. Because of the location and rate, we look forward to bringing our family back to this location next visit. I can't really way what we are going to be charged for the total because upon check out, the manager who could not be located, finally showed up and acknowledged we were checking out and that was that. he didn't offer any paperwork-like I mentioned, not too professional or caring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2003

We love the Seal Rock Inn...With the Cliff House..Sutro Bath ruins ...
the beach and walking trails nearby we always have something to do when we're not hitting the other areas of the city. The buses are the only negative...but the cool ocean breezes and excellent restaurant more then make up for the noise from the buses...We really like the family size room so our daughter and her friend can screen themselves off at night and we all have our own space...We've stayed there at least 7 vacations and keep saying we are going to try other places but it's so comfortable we keep coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seal Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Rock Inn

Address: 545 Point Lobos Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the quiet, scenic surroundings of Sutro Heights Park and Land's End, we are located away from the noisy downtown traffic and crowds, yet still in the city in a resort-like location. We are just a block up the hill from the historic Cliff House and a few steps further to miles of beach along Ocean Beach. Enjoy a wonderful breakfast or lunch at our own restaurant which serves all day and every day. Our spacious guest rooms, many of which have excellent park and ocean views, provide our guests with many amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi , cable TVs, dual-line phones with voice mail, free locals calls, in-room iron/ironing boards, and hair dryers. Other hotel amenities incude complimentary but limited covered parking, a private patio with swimming pool, ping pong and badminton. All our guest roomsrooms are non-smoking and some with fireplaces. So if you are ready to try something different in San Francisco then consider us as your home away from home along San Francisco's ocean front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seal Rock Hotel San Francisco
Seal Rock San Francisco
Seal Rock Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seal Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.