We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seal Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seal Rock Inn
545 Point Lobos Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499 (The Richmond)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
WesternMass.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I wasn't looking for a motel inside the city. I wanted something in a quieter spot and that's just what we got with Seal Rock Inn. It does require a car to get into the city, but the scenery nearby was fantastic. You can walk into the coastal trail, down to the Sutro Baths and along the Pacific Ocean. The courtyard of the hotel is cute and has pingpong and badmitton. The pool didn't seem to be open. The room was spacious. It was old fashioned, but well kept up. Perfect for a family with two kids with a divider wall that allows parents to read while kids go to sleep. We never went to the Seal Rock restaurant, but Louis's restaurant nearby was excellent with spectacular views. We could see the ocean from our room. If you are looking for a chain style hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want something a little off the beaten path, this is the place. We actually came back during our visit to SF. Also, there is a parking garage under the motel although there is plenty of parking in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    60
    13
    16
    14
See reviews for
37
47
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

OK, I haven't stayed at many others, but I don't need to, because this hotel has everything I want. You can walk out the front door and you are on your way to a nature hike along the coast to the golden gate bridge, or the beach, or to explore the Sutro Baths ruins and Sutro Heights. While some people complained about the buses parked across the street, the noise never bothered me and it was convenient to take the express bus downtown. We had a car, so the free parking was a plus, and it's very convenient to drive from there to other areas of SF.

Some people complain about this hotel being run-down or the weather too foggy or cold. Hey! You're by the ocean! We enjoyed the wildness, and the slightly dated furnishings were part of the charm.

The room price was very reasonable, as was breakfast at their restaurant. Friendly staff and yummy food!

We had only planned to stay at Seal Rock for 3 days and then move to a fancier hotel in a different part of SF for the last 3 days, but loved it here so much that we decided to stay for our whole trip. Although they were pretty booked up, their wonderful manager, Rick, worked it out. We moved rooms twice, but this made it kind of fun because every room was different and had its own perks. One had a kitchenette (all of the rooms have a mini fridge) and our last room had a spectacular view.

Just about every day we would encounter someone checking out, and they often seemed to be regulars, as we'd hear: "See you next year", or "See you next month"!

This hotel isn't for everyone, so if you want your predictable chain hotel, go into town. If you want a place with character surrounded by nature, this is the place!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have fireplaces. Ocean view rooms also have the buses below but we didn't feel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingletown Ca.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It is too bad this hotel has become somewhat on the dumpy side. Location is great and they have remodeled the bathrooms in a nice stone tile but then it is downhill from there. Rooms have a musty smell. Furniture, beds, and carpets (stained) are worn and outdated. Housekeeping was poor. Behind bed nightstand were two used kleenix. Yuck!
If they relaced carpets, painted interior rooms and updated furniture I would go back and stay. For now stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, OH
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

To give this five stars would be to impugn my rater credibility. Lack of updating in the rooms ( though you can imagine this place being pretty "in" back in the Ann-Margaret/Dean Martin era) make it three star. But for my purposes, it rated five. Had an excellent stay!

Do come here if you'd like to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Stay here if you wish to appreciate the awe-striking beauty of Lands End in the GG National Park area. Have breakfast down the hill, on the rocks, of Louis'. Hike out to Eagles Point and Mile Rock, and be stunned at the view of the GG Bridge. Experience the ominous fog rolling in at night. Have a drink at the Cliff House and imagine it is 1926 again.

Do not stay here if you want the Four Seasons, quick access to downtown SF, and a fast pace. That said, my parents stayed on Union Square in the Westin St. Francis, at five bills a night, and did not have a sitting area, kitchnette, nor a fridge, as I had at my disposal at the Seal Rock for $150/night.

The 38L will get you to Union Square in about 45 minutes. Renting a car is practical here since parking is readily available. Consider staying on the North side of the building for a decent ocean view as well as to avoid the buses idling on the west side of the hotel.

Again, this is a niche hotel, not much beyond the category of a motor lodge, but I would not hesitate to stay here again, given the value and the natural beauty of the immediate area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Retro chic hotel with three floor. Our room was on the first floor and we walked up to it as the first floor is above the parking area. Plenty of free parking with in and out ease. Opened the window blinds and discovered a partial view of the ocean which was an unexpected delight. The room was very big and could have easily fit a family of four + if you are flexible. Staying at the Seal Rock was like staying in a different city than San Francisco. Quiet, less stressful and much less traffic. Even though a bus line was right outside our window we never heard a sound. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I picked the Seal Rock Inn for a stay of a couple days in SF. I had driven by it many times previously as it's just a block or two from Cliff House. The location was a big factor as it is close to Lands End, hiking, birding, plus it's an easy drive to see family from there. The room itself was adequate -- clean, relatively large, had a newly-renovated bath. Other reviews pointed out the lack of outlets -- they actually had an extension cord running under the desk that I used with my laptop. On the first night the internet router was down, but worked fine the rest of the time. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, as was the person on the phone when I called to make my reservation. The bed was comfortable though on a bit of a slant. The on-site restaurant was good for breakfast -- don't even bother with the in-room coffee pot as it's as weak as can be imagined. But all in all, not a bad place to stay if you're looking to manage your costs while enjoying this great city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose the Seal Rock Inn because of its price and its proximity to the two attractions we would be visiting that weekend; the California Academy of Sciences, and the Legion of Honor art museum.

On the plus side:
* The parking was free (a rarity in SF!)
* The room had a partial view of the ocean.
* There was a kitchenette that included a small fridge, micro, sink, and coffee maker.
* The room was spacious and included two extra little sleeping sofas, with plenty of room to roll out a couple of sleeping bags if you're traveling with friends/family.
* The shower was spacious and the water pressure was good.
* The desk was large and included an Ethernet cable for wired Internet access if you're working.
* There was free WiFi.
* There was a pool, though we didn't use it.
* There were ping-pong tables if you have kids who need something to do.
* There's a restaurant that was convenient for a quick breakfast.
* It was a quick, 10-minute drive to both of our attractions.

On the minus side:
* The rooms and common areas look like they needed some updating, like a coat of paint, new carpet, new bedspreads, etc.
* There are no dishes or silverware in the kitchen, so bring your own if you plan to eat in the room.
* The TV was quite far from the bed, though still decently visible.
* The food in the restaurant was good, but the coffee was terrible. Stop at a coffee house instead if you need some morning java.

All in all, a good choice for a lower-cost stay in an expensive city, and a good way to stay close to the main attractions you may be visiting.

Room Tip: Some rooms can see the ocean through the trees, and some rooms have kitchenettes if you'd like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seal Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Rock Inn

Address: 545 Point Lobos Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the quiet, scenic surroundings of Sutro Heights Park and Land's End, we are located away from the noisy downtown traffic and crowds, yet still in the city in a resort-like location. We are just a block up the hill from the historic Cliff House and a few steps further to miles of beach along Ocean Beach. Enjoy a wonderful breakfast or lunch at our own restaurant which serves all day and every day. Our spacious guest rooms, many of which have excellent park and ocean views, provide our guests with many amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi , cable TVs, dual-line phones with voice mail, free locals calls, in-room iron/ironing boards, and hair dryers. Other hotel amenities incude complimentary but limited covered parking, a private patio with swimming pool, ping pong and badminton. All our guest roomsrooms are non-smoking and some with fireplaces. So if you are ready to try something different in San Francisco then consider us as your home away from home along San Francisco's ocean front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seal Rock Hotel San Francisco
Seal Rock San Francisco
Seal Rock Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seal Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seal Rock Inn to your Saves list