We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Best Western!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off per Night!
Ranked #74 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Cottonwood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Best Western!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had to find a place to stay, for a birthday dinner we were going to, wanted a reasonable price for a room, since it is mainly just for sleeping. I was pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel is, it was still pricey, beings San Francisco, and I did not know it was Fleet Week. This hotel is older style, which I thought was kind of cool, had a nice restaurant and bar. Convenient location for anything. I enjoyed this hotel, wish I was staying in city longer, would have enjoyed it a lot more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    386
    159
    47
    42
See reviews for
134
395
53
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Comfortable enough hotel adjacent to a good restaurant. Employees wear tacky Best Western polo shirts, whereas their competitors usually dress more professionally. Rooms are small (which is typical of these era hotels), but comfortable enough. Television has only 15 channels of so. Housekeeping does a good job keeping them clean. In-room safe was inoperable, but there are safety boxes at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September of this year. The staff are second to none, two male members of staff were on duty when I checked in & they were both first class, I was made to feel so welcome by both of them.

The rooms were a little on the small side, but they were very clean & had everything in them that I needed during my stay. The bed was very comfortable & the sheets were always fresh & clean.

If I were to go back to San Francisco, I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It's a really old chunk of a hotel, and some rooms are rather small and/or face a loud street (there must be a fire brigade station further up on Jones Street), and there's also an outdoor bar next door in the downtown direction which is sometimes crowded by hundreds of people who can be incredibly loud. And the elevator has a rather rickety feeling----but it never let us down.

Those are the downsides, few and far in between. The hotel itself is a wonderful place: nice rooms in general (I looked into a few ones), great breakfast buffet, nice idea to offer wine and snacks in the early evening, helpful staff on the whole (we also had a major billing problem to sort out after returning to Europe, and the management did stay on to clear things up, refunding us several hundred dollars in the end).

I'd go back to this Hotel California because I just love the many small references to music and poetry. (We were there in August 2011 but the software doesn't let me enter travel dates as remote as that.)

Room Tip: Try and keep away from both Jones Street. In fact, Geary Street is the (relatively) quietest side, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral springs florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location, you can walk to shopping, restaurants, easy access to public transportation, the staff was fantastic! Lobby area was good, restaurant is inventive, small bar area, convenient continental breakfast. As far as the rooms go, this place is old, and you can feel it in the rooms.
Small area, very small bath, enough room but not an updated feel. Kinda like staying at your grandmothers. Can not beat the price and location. Everywhere we went there were homeless people and beggars, kind of sad but I guess you get that with big city.

Room Tip: You do get more street noise if you are on a lower floor and facing Geary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

On a dark desert highway, cool wind in my hair
Warm smell of colitas, rising up through the air
Up ahead in the distance, I saw a shimmering light
My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim
I had to stop for the night
There she stood in the doorway;
I heard the mission bell
And I was thinking to myself,
"This could be Heaven or this could be Hell"
Then she lit up a candle and she showed me the way
There were voices down the corridor,
I thought I heard them say...

Welcome to the Hotel California
Such a lovely place (Such a lovely place)
Such a lovely face
Plenty of room at the Hotel California
Any time of year (Any time of year)
You can find it here

Her mind is Tiffany-twisted, she got the Mercedes bends
She got a lot of pretty, pretty boys she calls friends
How they dance in the courtyard, sweet summer sweat.
Some dance to remember, some dance to forget

So I called up the Captain,
"Please bring me my wine"
He said, "We haven't had that spirit here since nineteen sixty nine"
And still those voices are calling from far away,
Wake you up in the middle of the night
Just to hear them say...

Welcome to the Hotel California
Such a lovely place (Such a lovely place)
Such a lovely face
They livin' it up at the Hotel California
What a nice surprise (what a nice surprise)
Bring your alibis

Mirrors on the ceiling,
The pink champagne on ice
And she said "We are all just prisoners here, of our own device"
And in the master's chambers,
They gathered for the feast
They stab it with their steely knives,
But they just can't kill the beast

Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
"Relax, " said the night man,
"We are programmed to receive.
You can check-out any time you like,
But you can never leave! "

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Convenient location in walking distance to downtown. Great eateries close by, with early/late hours. Car rentals close by for trips outside of the city. Quiet locale, intriguing locals but not overrun with the street people of SF. Not the hotel that the Eagles sang about, but you will be humming the song anyway (hard to resist).

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the street for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 580 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel California, a stylish, boutique hotel with a 100-year history and enough personality to fill it. Known for our iconic name and exceptional customer service, The Hotel California puts you at the center of all of San Francisco’s eclectic neighborhoods. Whether you’re interested in exploring the city’s culinary delights, acclaimed arts, breathtaking sights, renowned culture or all of the above, The Hotel California is your ideal home base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel California
Hotel California San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.