We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant beat it for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
San Remo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
HAPPY HOUR AT THE FIOR
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You cant beat it for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The San Remo is not the type of hotel I typically stay at as I am a business traveler and typically stay at Marriott or Hyatt properties but had to look for an alternative in SF last week due to a convention sending prices into the $700/night range for these properties. So I had to look for an alternative that didn't blow the expense budget and the San Remo had good reviews. It turns out they are well earned. The hotel is as advertised with shared bathrooms and small rooms but it is clean, the bed is comfortable, the staff is pleasant and it is in a quiet area. If you are looking for basic lodging at a fair price, you can do a lot worse than the San Remo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We provide our guests with an affordable and comfortable place to stay in a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    271
    78
    27
    9
See reviews for
92
294
74
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The San Remo Hotel was a breath of fresh air. The hotel itself is like walking back in time. Don't stay here if you prefer modern decor or love watching television. The rooms do not have tv's. However, who needs a tv when you're sightseeing in San Francisco. The staff was super helpful and friendly. They have a computer up front that patrons can use to log onto the internet. Fresh water and coffee is at the entry for people coming and going from the hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are super clean. Such charming ambiance in this hotel. Will definitely go back.
The parking garage was just 2 blocks away from the San Remo at a shopping mall. Very safe parking and it only cost $18 for 24 hours. Great value in this city.
The location was perfect! There is a Trader Joe's grocery store 2 blocks away. It is just 5 walking blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance.
I highly recommend going to Pat's Cafe for breakfast. It's just around the block and the food was so delicious and good prices.
Just a block down from Pat's Cafe is where you pay and get on the trolley cars. So conveniently located. We paid $15 for the all day trolley car pass. We rode the trolley 3 times and then passed our tickets along to other tourists to use.
We had lunch across the street from Fisherman's Wharf at an Irish restaurant called "The Buena Vista." The food was excellent and the service was great. A very popular and busy restaurant in San Francisco.
So much to do and see in the fabulous city! Have fun!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
The free coffee, tea, lemon water and Internet are a few of the new things we give our guests for a more comfortable stay. We love keeping our hotel as authentic as possible.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

When I booked this place, I was a bit worried due to the shared bathroom situation and how some rooms had windows looking into the hallway. However when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised. We were given a room with a window looking out into the alleyway, it was small but it was fine. We had a sink in the room too. Although the bathrooms/toilets were shared, it wasn't a problem! Although I did worry about ghosts when going to the toilet in the middle of the night! Haha

The location is a few minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf and the cable car, it's pretty much perfect! I was unable to go to Alcatraz, Golden Gate park and all that due the government shutdown so I'm hoping I can come back to see it all one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It is always good to listen to the experiences of our guests. We are happy to hear the tales of our friendly ghosts were not an issue. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Betty & I got there early am and they allowed us to leave our bags b-4 check-in, to start our sightseeing tour in town. Very near all things considered to see in the beautiful city. Our room was small, but, what the heck, we only sleep there, the bathrooms were shared, which was just fine with us, they had a desk computer if u need one, they had comp coffee, water and plenty of directions if needed. The room snacks came in handy for our trip leaving (thanks for that comp). Clean, friendly reasonable rates and a convenient location, all one needs. would return here. Plus the restaurant where we planned to eat was located down stairs which, I will also rate.

Room Tip: ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We provide our guests with a comfortable yet affordable place to stay in a convenient location. We are glad to hear the snacks provided were handy.

We hope you come back to San Francisco soon and we hope you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, but the night I stayed was during a heat wave and it was 95 degrees outside. My room had no air conditioning, and the only window led to the main hallway. There a ceiling fan and another small fan which did nothing except push hot air around the room. There was two toilets on my floor serving 20 or so people. There is not much privacy, and some of the guests were walking around in their underwear. I probably would have had a better experience had it not been so hot. The main reason for staying at this hotel was for the short walking distance to main attractions however, after seeing how easy and cheap the public transportation system is, I would recommend finding a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad night. Heat waves in San Francisco are rare and do not last very long, usually the fog, or as we call it, our “natural air conditioning”, kicks in and brings the temperature significantly down. This is why A/C units are rarely installed in San Francisco homes and businesses, and as I write 1 week later, the temperatures are 63° not 95°. Nevertheless we are working to improve the situation for future guests during heat waves.

Furthermore, we are a different kind of hotel that attracts a lot of European travelers. Yes, we do sometimes have scantily clad people in our hallways, but to most of our guests this is normal, amusing, and a part of the overall experience.

We are sorry you did not notice that there are many bathrooms and showers on both floors.

It is with guest feedback we can improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The San Remo hotel turned out to be a wonderful stay for me. It has a quaint B&B feel to it and the staff was wonderful. The location is perfect if you want to be near the main attractions. And to top it all, the price was fair. What more could you ask for? Well done San Remo, keep up the good work because I'll be back.

Room Tip: I picked the room that had no sink. The sink, shower and toilets were 15 feet away form my room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that the San Remo Hotel was a positive experience overall in your last trip to San Francisco.

Our staff loves working here, we are glad their passion shines through.

We will be waiting for you when you return to our lovely city. Stay in touch with us through Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This unique old Victorian hotel is amazing. The no frills way of staying. No TV, small rooms, just FAB. Fresh coffee and tea every morning. Access to their computer and free wifi. The showers and toilets are VERY clean and warm towels are provided. It can get noisy on trash day, since there is an alley on one side. But overall what great experience. My new home away from home.

Room Tip: The bar side of hotel may be quieter than the restaurant side which is on the alley. There is no po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,184 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,255 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisher...
#103 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,712 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#61 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Remo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.