We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
San Remo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Defiance, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband & I spent 5 nights here. So close to Fisherman's Wharf yet is in such a quiet neighborhood. We did a lot of walking in the city and felt completely safe in this neighborhood. Yes, you may have to wait for a shower or toilet to become available (maybe a few minutes at most), but worth the wait for the price. San Remo has a great staff-friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable. When we come back to San Francisco, we will be staying at the San Remo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    218
    66
    21
    7
See reviews for
72
223
69
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We had three nights Sept 2013 and liked it. It's simple, small, quirky with shared loos and showers, but if you are not fussy it's relatively good vale and close to Trader Jo and Safeway if you need supplies, as well as to Fisherman's Wharf . The Restaraunt below; the oldest Italian restaraunt in the US is expensive, but the pumpkin ravioli was to die for. Iced water and coffee in the front hall greatly appreciated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during a recent trip to San Francisco. The location is excellent - minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf and the other areas of SF are accessible via the MUNI system. The rooms are small and there are no TVs, but this wasn't a problem for us. We had a room with a sink, which was nice. The shared bathrooms were right down the hall and were always clean and accessible. Staff are helpful and friendly. It can be noisy from the street but earplugs are provided. This hotel is an excellent choice for budget conscious travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in this nice family and couple friendly hotel this past week. Hotel had its charm and personality. Rooms might have been small but after a long day of traveling and sightseeing this place was perfect for unwinding. Worthwhile experience that everyone should have at least once in their lives.

BTW If you don't like dorm setting and communal bathrooms then this ain't a place for you. Other than that Our stay was wonderful and we will visit this place again when we are back in Good Ol SFO.

Room Tip: On Mason Street So Near to many good attractions, Safe Neighborhood, Nice Italian Restaurant, No Ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic location and prices for San Francisco. A quirky place! Rooms are on floors 2 and 3 of a building in North Beach and just 3 blocks to the bay and 6 mins walk to Pier 39 and Fishermans Wharf. The rooms are small (as are the beds) but sparkling clean. Shared showers/baths/toilets - all maintained and cleaned to high standards regularly. Plenty of clean towels on the towel warmer and shower gel provided by dispenser in shower. One thing missing in the shower/ bath area is a hairdryer- you need to bring your own ( I didn't :( ) its a bit of a fiddle plugging in phone chargers etc as the only socket is behind the bedside cabinet. It means squeezing between the bed and the wall, getting down on the floor and leaning in.As theres only the one socket a short extension lead making it accesible would be good.
Laundry and ironing room, vending machines and free tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate at reception.
No phones, no tv's
Would I stay again? Yes!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

when it was $59 dollar a night, however, at $99 its still a good deal. the hotel is clean, in a great location, and quiet. used by a lot of Europeans and oceanic folks. it has free wifi which is a good deal. there are no private baths so you get to share. was only a problem once. if you don't like stairs this place can be problematic. would have rated as 3 and a half stars, alas trip advisor only likes whole numbers. no tv but if you need that's why you have a pc. comparatively safe neighborhood, but late at night you might want to be a little careful

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 2nd floor. you still have to walk up stairs but better than having to walk up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Remo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco’s oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.