We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome antique hotel with excellent location to fisherman a wharf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
San Remo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights get 10% Off
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome antique hotel with excellent location to fisherman a wharf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter to San Francisco for her birthday. I found this hotel on booking.com. It was very affordable compared to what they charge on the wharf. It's only a 5 minute walk to to the wharf. Great location. If you are into history like I am, this is the place to stay. Very old building built just after the earthquake in 1906. The rooms are very small, and each floor shares bathrooms and showers. It wasn't a big deal-kind of like staying at a B&B. they say its haunted-I didn't hear or see anything darn it. But, I was only there one night. There is also a fabulous Italian restaurant attached-said to be the oldest in America. Very nice. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    180
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
174
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are visiting San Fran, you couldn't ask for a better located hotel. 5 mins walk from Fishermans Wharf, the smae distnace to the Cable Car. you are ideally situated to explore all of this city.

The hotel itself is of a vintage style, with shared showers and toilets but you never have a queue. When they share its with very few otheres as there are plenty. They are spotless too and cleaners are on hand 24/7 pretty much ensuring the entire hotel has a very homely feel. The rooms are quite small but really when in San Fran you wont be in your room that much!

Staff are friendly and helpful, ensuring we could check in early. We were there for Independence Day so were a short walk from all the activities. A cab will get you to Chestnut and Fillmore in 10 mins where there are plenty of restaurants and bars if you wish to avoid the Pier 39 Tourist Traps. However, most of these have happy hours and deals anyway.

Love the hotel and would stop there again if we return!

Room Tip: Room 35 at the back is quiet and away from thoroughfare of main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked a room for my son for the night between his two day sailing lesson in SF Bay- great time, highly recommend this. I had a problem with my reservation but the staff and management resolved it with great professionalism and personal care. Thank you! I recommend this hotel for anyone seeking a great hotel close to the Wharf and the Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very interesting place to stay. Historical building with loads of character. Shame about lack of air conditioning though. We found the nights hot but the ceiling fans helped. Comfortable beds, helpful office staff, high standard of cleaning. Very handy to the Piers. Great bar below the rooms. Parking building nearby for the rental required a payment of $15 but worth it. Rooms small, shared showers and toilets but we'd visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take great pride in maintaining the wonderful old world charm of this 1906 Hotel to create an authentic historic experience.

We are fairly close to the Bay and we do get a very refreshing ocean breeze, that helps cool down the rooms.

Hope to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is cozy and well decorated, with shared but extremly clean restrooms. Excellent value for money. My best suggestion for simple accomodation in the overpriced SF hotels.
The location is perfect to use public transportation and you are close to most of the city main attractions. On top of that, you can find street parking around the hotel, free after 8 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just to reiterate the positive comments of others.

We had 5 nights at the San Remo and enjoyed our stay very much.
It’s ideally situated just 10 minutes walk from Fisherman’s Wharf and all the front desk staff are helpful and friendly.
Yes, the rooms aren’t huge but this adds to the bijou feel of an interesting old building which would be spoilt by trying to enlarge and modernise the layout.
I’d also recommend trying the happy hour menu in the nice Italian restaurant below.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Picked this place based on location and price. It's homey and the guests staying here are the quiet and polite type. Overheard plenty of European languages, mostly Scandinavian, UK, German and Dutch. As for the rooms they are truly tiny, but I've had worse in Amsterdam. I'm not sure about this nonsense of calling rooms with shared bathrooms "European styled", which I've read other reviewers calling it. Being European I assure you that's not our norm. My only real complaint is that the Wifi didn't work in our room. This Hotel belonged to the two hotels out of 10 that had this issue during our US trip, that's gonna put a dent in the overall experience. Anyway, room was clean and lacked funky odors. Warm water in the showers and plenty of towels meant that the shared bathroom situation wasn't a big deal. The staff were all smiling young people who were friendly and informative. Would have been nice with a common TV area or something like that, but I'm guessing the people who stay here are book types, I am too, but I still like TV when I'm holiday. Restaurant on the first floor is supposed to be the oldest running Italian restaurant in the united states. Not bad! Area is quiet and feels very safe. Saw a skateboarder though, cool beans.

Room Tip: Get a room with a street view, that's what we got. Saw some rooms with windows towards the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Remo Hotel 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco’s oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.