We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
San Remo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historical Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very interesting place to stay. Historical building with loads of character. Shame about lack of air conditioning though. We found the nights hot but the ceiling fans helped. Comfortable beds, helpful office staff, high standard of cleaning. Very handy to the Piers. Great bar below the rooms. Parking building nearby for the rental required a payment of $15 but worth it. Rooms small, shared showers and toilets but we'd visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take great pride in maintaining the wonderful old world charm of this 1906 Hotel to create an authentic historic experience.

We are fairly close to the Bay and we do get a very refreshing ocean breeze, that helps cool down the rooms.

Hope to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    239
    73
    24
    8
See reviews for
79
256
73
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is cozy and well decorated, with shared but extremly clean restrooms. Excellent value for money. My best suggestion for simple accomodation in the overpriced SF hotels.
The location is perfect to use public transportation and you are close to most of the city main attractions. On top of that, you can find street parking around the hotel, free after 8 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just to reiterate the positive comments of others.

We had 5 nights at the San Remo and enjoyed our stay very much.
It’s ideally situated just 10 minutes walk from Fisherman’s Wharf and all the front desk staff are helpful and friendly.
Yes, the rooms aren’t huge but this adds to the bijou feel of an interesting old building which would be spoilt by trying to enlarge and modernise the layout.
I’d also recommend trying the happy hour menu in the nice Italian restaurant below.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our San Remo Hotel. We are considered a walkers paradise according to some guests and travel writers that have stayed with us.
We have kept intact the original layout to preserve its historical beauty and we are glad that many of our guests appreciate it.
Fior d’Italia, oldest American Italian Restaurant, is a great place to have authentic Northern Italian food.
We hope to see you when you come back to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Picked this place based on location and price. It's homey and the guests staying here are the quiet and polite type. Overheard plenty of European languages, mostly Scandinavian, UK, German and Dutch. As for the rooms they are truly tiny, but I've had worse in Amsterdam. I'm not sure about this nonsense of calling rooms with shared bathrooms "European styled", which I've read other reviewers calling it. Being European I assure you that's not our norm. My only real complaint is that the Wifi didn't work in our room. This Hotel belonged to the two hotels out of 10 that had this issue during our US trip, that's gonna put a dent in the overall experience. Anyway, room was clean and lacked funky odors. Warm water in the showers and plenty of towels meant that the shared bathroom situation wasn't a big deal. The staff were all smiling young people who were friendly and informative. Would have been nice with a common TV area or something like that, but I'm guessing the people who stay here are book types, I am too, but I still like TV when I'm holiday. Restaurant on the first floor is supposed to be the oldest running Italian restaurant in the united states. Not bad! Area is quiet and feels very safe. Saw a skateboarder though, cool beans.

Room Tip: Get a room with a street view, that's what we got. Saw some rooms with windows towards the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we stay at a hotel in any city we keep it simple and funky and the San Remo delivers on both. Full of culture and history (I think Allen Ginsberg stayed there) this is a no frills stay that more than makes up for basic amenities with loads of charm. Enjoyed the dinner at Fior D'Italia and the tips from Tim were priceless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love it when a favorite place keeps getting better. San Remo has always been a bargain with friendly staff and clean (tho small) rooms. Last year they added free wi-fi; this year they added a free refreshment center in the lobby. The rooms are basic but bargain-priced. The hotel is European-style, meaning shared bathrooms down the hall, but don't let that be a deal-breaker. The private shower stalls are kept immaculate, and they are plentiful enough that there's seldom a wait. The location is great--the Remo is a few blocks from the Wharf and close to public transportation, including the Powell-Mason cable car. Be forewarned:no elevators. Still, I have been coming here once a year or so for nearly ten years. It is like the proverbial home away from home.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at Pat's Cafe around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are from Alaska, and we don't make it "outside" very often...but when we do, we need it to be special! We have been to San Francisco three times, and each time we have stayed at the San Remo. It is SUCH a special place! The location is perfect-just blocks away from amazing places to eat, cable cars, Little Italy, Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf...and a sweet run to the Golden Gate! The hotel itself is like going home. It is warm, the people are friendly, the staff is helpful, the rooms are always clean. It is truly a wonderful place! Needless to say, when we make it through another long winter, and we are looking for a good place to shake off the Alaska darkness, the San Remo will be on our list once again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Remo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco’s oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.