We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
San Remo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My daughter recommended this hotel, having stayed here herself.
On arrival, we struggled up the stairs with our heavy cases to the reception. (no lift)
The staff were friendly and showed us to the room- very quaint and oldy-worldy with no room to swing a cat! But hey it was a stones throw from fishermans wharf and for the price, we felt it a bargain! The toilets and showers were shared and along the corridor, but that was not an issue.
We were there 3 nights and enjoyed our time there. It was close to the cable car for down town etc.
Parking could be an issue as they do not have a car park, but for the one night we had the car, we parked in the local supermarket for $16.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows to outside. So if that might be a problem, ask for a room with an outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    210
    58
    18
    6
See reviews for
66
212
65
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel i was greeted with a pleasant looking building that was quite charming!
Inside the hotel was extremely rustic and had a funny scent to it.
My room was pretty small in size and only had a sink and the showers/toilets were communal.
The bed wasn't the most comfortable either.
This is all forgiveable given the location and price of the hotel!
It was less than a 5 minute walk to fisherman's Wharf which was fantastic, full of restaurants and sights! The Altatraz ferry was only about a 20 minute walk from here also.
All the local bars offered interesting characters from all over the world and were no more than a 10-15 minute walk away. Columbus avenue offered many beautiful restaurants with a social dine on the street feel and also had a little 'red light district' further from town if that is your scene.
Parking in San Fransisco was a nightmare with 2 hour parking slots free of charge that soon filled up around the hotel, fortunately the hotel offers all night parking for a mere £16 which is by far the cheapest you will find in San Fran and is visible from the hotel!
I doubt that you will find anywhere to stay in San Fransisco that offers better value for money and location than the San Remo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for an entire week (7th night free) and loved everything about this place. The rooms are small, the beds are great and the people that work here are helpful in every way. We did not mind having the bathroom/showers down the hall (they were kept very clean). It did help that we had a sink in our room (some rooms do not). This hotel is in the North Beach section of town so we ate our way through "Little Italy" all week. Many, many good restaurants within walking distance. The transportation is within a block, inexpensive and easy to use. You do need to be able to climb stairs to get to the rooms. We plan to stay here again and will tell all of our family and friends to give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We agree with positive reviews of this lovely quaint hotel and can add that management was more than happy for us to store our luggage and let us shower and freshen up prior to our midnight flight back home to OZ, which was super! Can only recommend the place!

Room Tip: Try and get one to the back, the front street can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Public Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We always welcome our "late day" departing guests to freshen up with a shower before continuing their journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked for 1 night on October 11th, the hotel doesn't have an elevator, just stairs.... fortunately my mother [who has a knee problem] was able to climb the stairs without difficulty and our room was on the same floor where the front desk is located. The common bathrooms & showers are nicely located on the same floor, close to a vending machine & laundry room. Staff were excellent & helpful, great price, place very neat & clean and is walking distance to Fisherman's wharf/Columbus Avenue [where you take #30 Muni Bus to China town, passing by the Italian North Beach area]/Powell-Mason Cable Car station/North Point [close to Ghiradelli] and Lombard St..........my sister & I walked from the hotel to the bottom of the crooked Street approx 20 mins....imagine walking uphill....we were glad that we did chose San Remo, it is really "a piece" of San Francisco. We wouldn't mind coming back.

Room Tip: Call the hotel if there's more than 2 in your party, so you can get the right size of the room/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Public Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hope to see you soon and for your special occasion, spend a romantic night in our Penthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in San Remo hotel, SF, for two nights during early October 2012.
Did not expect too much from this hotel, because of the star rating and reviews.
But in the end, we were very happy that we choose this hotel and would not mind coming back.

Pro:
1. Very clean. Cleaner than some of the hotels I've stayed in LA.
2. Staff were very helpful and kind.
3. Close to Fisherman's Wharf (5-10 mins of slow stroll).
4. Plenty of places to eat / coffee near by, since it is right in the middle of Little Italy.
5. We had evening flight out. They kept our lugguages in their storage room with no charge.

Cons:
1. Noisy bedding. Maybe it is not the case for all rooms.
2. Room is very small. Barely fit two people with two lugguages.
3. Hair dryer is only available upon request from the front desk, but not a biggy.
4. No communal microwave, water jug. But available through front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Public Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We now have cool water available for our guest by our registration desk. Vending machines and laundry facilities are available on our first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked several weeks before arrival for 5 nights, We have stayed in small hotels various Europen cities and must say this hotel was not much different. Most had very little rooms and shared bathrooms. San Remo is in a great location near Fisherman's wharf yet far enough away in a very quiet area, even the hotel itself is very quiet at night as most people are aware that you can hear everything in the hallways and surrounding rooms so most people whisper after they realise that. Bathrooms like in Europe have a seperate toilet, on our floor (3th) we had 3 toilet rooms and 3 seperate showers and a tub, always spotless and lots of warm towels. Our room was a bit awkward, I had asked for a window room (there are also windowless rooms) but our window faced 2 other windows less than 3 ft away so we always had to have our blinds down otherwise it is like sharing a room with strangers. This was not an outside window but facing an atrium. The beds where smaller than the usual European hotel rooms, ours was a double very low to the floor. On the day we arrived (Sept 28) the desk clerk had a bad morning I guess, not to friendly. I went down to ask if we could change rooms as we preferred an outside window and change to 2 single beds as we are not used to a small double bed, but he said there where none available and not for the next 5 nights either, which I found strange as for the next 5 nights there where the same empty rooms late at night and in the morning, the hotel leaves all unoccupied rooms open. We stayed and survived even on some very warm nights. must say that all the other staff, clerks and maids where very friendly as where the other guest.
Great breakfast, lunch places close by

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Public Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We take great pride in making our customers happy and fulfilling their request at all times if possible.

We do keep all rooms open for arriving guests, it may seem that these rooms would be available; these rooms can have late arrivals due to travel delays. Other times, the guests may not show up at all, but we have to keep their reservations available.

Our policy is to accommodate room change requests whenever possible. We are sorry we were not able to do so this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Remo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco’s oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.