We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of history with a great feeling of being home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Remo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
1.5 of 5 Lodge   |   2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We reached our 500 Review
Massillon, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of history with a great feeling of being home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air! With the unknown nature of supposedly 'inexpensive' hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the Remo.

The staff was excellent! From the moment we walked up to the front desk to the sweet cleaning lady who offered me dryer sheets for my load of laundry, It felt like I belonged here.

In looking for accommodations, I always try to procure the places that are different from the cookie-cutter hotels. I want a place with charm, history and sincere service. This place was exactly what I wanted!

Yes, the rooms are small and there are shared bathrooms, but the antiques and carefully chosen collectibles made my stay feel like I was part of San Francisco history.

After each long day out and about exploring this beautiful city, I was welcomed by the massage chair, fresh warm towels and a soothing bath in the superb claw foot bathtub just down the hall.

If you are new to this city, the knowledgeable staff and plenty of brochures and bulletins were there to satisfy your curiosity.

Interested in the supernatural? It's haunted, too. Personal experience showed us that ghosts do exist within this hotel. Even ghosts enjoy the massage chair!

With an excellent, quiet and safe location, the Remo is the cat's meow. I consider it now our 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    203
    57
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
206
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel for 3 nights and overall we thought it was very good value for money. The location is excellent,5 mins walk from fisherman's wharf, north beach italian restaurants and the cable car stop. We defenitely liked this area best if you are staying in sfo. The hotel has a very nice atmosphere and is nicely decorated. The bathrooms and restrooms are reasonably clean (cleaning ladies are working there throughout the day), although a bit few. For us, we are not too critical, it more than sufficed.

Staff is friendly and tries to provide assistance as much as they can. Note that the rooms can be a bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the best place for you. Otherwise, enjoy your stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great location & amazingly helpful desk staff (in particular 1 girl). Shared bathrooms on floor, always clean. Ony negative was the rooms are quite small and the beds are really hard. But if you're looking for somewhere clean, affordable and in a great spot, then this is great! No parking available. Trader joes & safeway supermarkets 2 minutes away & great cafe for coffee down the road

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the San Remo Hotel for 5 nights, and had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was not large, for three people, but the hotel's atmosphere and location more than made up for it. However the standard rooms had very pleasant views out the window and the convenience of a small sink. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and the bathrooms and hallways were clean and attractive. The neighbourhood is also quiet, safe, and conveniently located between Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very quaint, basic, anachronistic, and charming little hotel near Fisherman's wharf. The price is definitely reasonable for the location but there are narrow stairs, small hallways, tiny rooms, and baths down the hall. This all sounds like a real turn off but actually it is cute and fun for a day or two. It is so retro that you don't notice the lack of conveniences. It would not be a comfortable lodging for more than a weekend because there is no common area and no cafe in the hotel. You definitely are not going to hang out in the 10 X 10 rooms for more than a sleep and an afternoon rest.

Room Tip: It is best to look at your room first. There are differences in things like: sinks, nearness to toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a first for me. Stayed in this old hotel in a stellar location (just off Fisherman's Wharf, 10 min walk to North Beach/Telegraph Hill), but really old. No TV, no shower or toilet in room; just two beds, a sink, and an old wardrobe. But, it was very clean, quiet, absolutely safe and secure, and each floor of the hotel had an electric massage chair in its foyer! The bathrooms and shower area were wonderfully restored, absolutely top-notch clean, private and plentiful. The beds were comfortable, with great linens.
The internet connection is a bit slow, but that isn't too great a concern for us. To get to the rooms/hotel part of the building, you do need to walk up a long flight of steps, so I imagine this place might be a bit rough for someone who isn't comfortable with that. Amazing value, great staff (very helpful with pointing us in the right direction, answering questions, etc.) Next time we visit the city, we'll probably be staying at the San Remo again!

Room Tip: If you want to spend more money, there is a rooftop cottage that looks like it would be a real kick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Public Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are a historic Hotel that was built in 1906. Your travels may take you to many hotels throughout your life, but the San Remo Hotel will be remembered.

Our guest enjoy the convenience of our location, which is truly a walkers paradise.

For families traveling with children, we do offer Family Suites.

Looking forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

One cannot go wrong staying here. Incredibly reasonable. Lovely quaint rooms. Catherine at the front desk very helpful, as were all the personnel. Close to the Wharf(ugh) and North beach(Aplus).No restaurant adjacent to the hotel at the moment, but many others so very close.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Public Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We do appreciated you staying with us, and all your positive comments. Keeping our guests happy is our true goal at all times. The Fior d'Italia restaurant will be reopening soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Remo Hotel 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco’s oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Remo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.