We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #51 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Belo Horizonte
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

During Christmas and New Years I traveled with my family to Las Vegas, LA and San Francisco. The Marriott Marquis was my favorite hotel. Really good and clean rooms. The bed is huge and comfortable. The bathroom is big with an excellent shower. Nice staff and concierge services.
The only thing that I do not recommend is to have breakfast in the hotel. The food is great but very expensive. I do not think is worth it.
Overall, an amazing experience. You should stay at the hotel without any worries.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for all of your positive comments. We're pleased to share with you in mid 2011 we plan to have wireless installed into our guest rooms. In the meantime, complimentary wireless access is available in both our lobby and chill zone work areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    1,111
    380
    91
    51
See reviews for
423
490
120
995
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We spent two nights and were upgraded to a 19th floor suite. Staff were so helpful and always available--what I like about Marriotts. Superb location fro enjoying the city sights without having to drive

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Greetings,
It was a pleasure to receive your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Please visit us again in the near future, at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis "lovely City by the Bay"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hotel was pretty much what you would expect from Marriott - clean rooms and convenient location. This is a very large convention hotel with good services. The prices are high but probably not out of line for San Francisco. My main gripe with Marriott is the $15/day fee they charge for internet access. Almost all other chains provide Wifi for free. Come on Marriott, get with the rest of the world.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are excited to inform you that we are working on getting WIFI in the guestrooms and we anticipate this happening this year. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The rooms were very nice, beds very comfortable, and the bathroom updated and spacious. It is in a great location for walking to shopping, cable cars and the bus stops. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

There are two things lacking in this hotel; a coffeepot in the guest room - extremely inconvenient to have to get dressed and wait in a long line to purchase a cup of coffee every morning in the lobby. Another is lack of free wireless internet in the rooms, considering this hotel is a conference center. Also had trouble accessing the internet in the public areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you so much for all of your positive comments. Our lobby area should be internet accessible, sorry that you experienced some difficulties. Over all we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Nice hotel. Great location, easy access to all parts of downtown and mass transit. Easy to walk to the ball field where the Giants play, it took about 10-15 mins to walk.

The sports pub attached to the bottom of the hotel had great beer and quick eats. It was priced good too (as good as prices can get in San Francisco).

Room was very roomy & comfortable. The bed and bedding were superb. Had a decent view from the room as well.

Lots of restaurants and shopping very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Greetings and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays here with us during stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Have a great day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We arrived on Christmas eve 2010 - the bell hop was very friendly and informative about the area. After having the breakfast buffet the first morning - it was so good that it would have been difficult to top the breakfast choices and service. So that's where we had breakfast every day of our stay.
We were given the choice to have a room on a higer floor (so we could enjoy the view) and what a spectacular view!. We've stayed in very nice hotels and this hotel was all that and more - excellent housekeeping, exceptional service and the most comfortable bed which only made us want to return early every day. Everything we wanted to visit was within a short walking distance or only a short taxi ride. We were absolutely staying in the heart of the city!
We lived in San Francisco in 1969 and were on a limited budget but have such wonderful memories of our time spent there. We always dreamed of the day when we could return to this fine city and stay in one of its nicest places. I think we chose well. Now we've added Christmas memories and we know exactly where we will stay on the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
What a great pleasure to receive your wonderful compliments, knowing you received excellent care during your stay here at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis, while celebrating your Christmas holidays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Check-in was quick and easy. All my requests were seen to. Staff was very friendly. Starbucks onsite was great to have. Lots of places to sit and review notes before start of your day. The very nice lobby ramps up your expectation for an equally nice room...but that's just not the case. With the exception of the TV and beds (most important I know) the rooms need to be gutted and updated. Room was not the cleanest either. The high speed internet is not high speed and a rip off at $14.95 a day. Rooms were very quiet which important to me. I heard no one. All in all I won't stay here again...there are many more nicer hotels in downtown for the same or better price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Greetings,

We take all feedback very seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to share with you that in early 2011 we plan to have wireless installed into our guest rooms. In the meantime, complimentary wireless access is available in both our lobby and chill zone work areas.

Thank you ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.