We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #51 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Room was a bit small but adequate. We had to request an upgrade. The view in first room was just ok and the upgrade was a bit better. This hotel was a bit too crowded for us, a lot of conferences there. Had to wait in line whenever there was a problem or inquiry. Although it was ok we would probably try another if we went back to Frisco.

Room Tip: Go high and avoid conference times. Hotel was sold out, too many people
See more room tips
Green Features: Maybe it was just a bad time, there were so many people there. I think it was coincidental that our reservation coincided with conferences.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    1,085
    374
    89
    49
See reviews for
415
481
118
967
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and we chose this hotel for its location. Walking distance to the BART Powell Station and at the heart of the shopping district. Ross, Macy's, Nordstorm, Bloomingdales are all walking distance from the hotel. The hotel lobby is always full and very busy and it takes some time to be able to talk to the concierge to ask for directions. There is a hop on hop off stop around 2 blocks from the hotel, which is a good starting point for learning about San Francisco. Room is big and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is very old hotel , very things looks dated here. The service is very good and does maintain marriott standard. The options for dinning is limited but you have many good restaurants around the hotel. The rooms are standard, wifi is chargeable unless you are gold or platinum member. The restricted executive lounge is nice and available of members. The restaurant on the top floor is hotel is very nice and city view in evenings is great. I am rating this hotel average if I compare Marriott Marquis in Dubai and South Asia .

Room Tip: go for higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear rajesh_the_traveller,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent San Francisco visit. We appreciate your valuable feedback; as we are always looking for ways to further improve our facilities and services. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a memorable experience. We hope the next time you’re in the area you will consider staying with us once again.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This may have been our sixth or seventh stay at the Marriott Marquis. The Moscone Center has hosted many large scientific conferences over the years. The Marriott was literally the first decent hotel south of Market when the convention center first opened in 1981. Both the center and hotel have grown exponentially over the years. We were on a higher floor, 33, and were in a corner room per our request. Furnishings were newer and we had windows on two walls. Housekeeping was courteously and efficient. The Club Lounge was slammed in the morning during breakfast. Fortunately, there is additional overflow seating just outside the club. A full breakfast buffet is available with many choices of items. I must add that the fresh fruit, California strawberries, pineapple and melon pieces were outstanding; freshly sliced fruit rather than sliced days ago and placed in preservatives. We visited the club during the day for the beverage service, coffee, tea, fruit juices, bottled water and sodas, as well as fresh fruits and bags of popcorn, chips, etc. We did not try the evening food offerings due to our outings to restaurants, but we did survey the offerings. The honor bar is very limited in selections of wines and beers. The food choices were ample; several hot appetizer choices, cheeses, crackers, salamis, etc. Clearly, some folks were having their dinner in the Club. I was impressed at the cleanliness of the Club given the high morning traffic. The staff was professional and well organized. When we next return for another conference, we will stay on the Concierge level. I should give a "shout out" to the bartenders at Bin 55 in the hotel. They are exceedingly professional and recognize their repeat customers.

Room Tip: High level corner suites are quieter. Room 3338 has a lovely view of the gardens across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, and we paid extra for the "City View". Our room was on the 12th floor and not worth the price - I agree with an earlier reviewer that you would have to be 20 floors or more up to have a view that included the bay and worth the extra cost.

Otherwise: clean and very basic. The lobby was a zoo, but the location was good and central. We also chose it because we needed a rental car at check out for the remainder of our trip and Hertz is there.

Can't say enough about the staff: unfailingly polite and helpful, particularly the concierge.

Advice: skip the hotel breakfast and go across the street. Ask for free wifi, and visit the top floor lounge for dessert and incredible views.

A frequent business or convention traveler would likely find this hotel acceptable, but speaking strictly as a tourist, it did not enhance our first visit to the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear S&L_from_MA,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your interaction with our hosts, the cleanliness and central location of our hotel as well as our View Lounge on the 39th floor to take in the amazing sights of this incredible city. However, it was disappointing to learn we did not exceed your expectations and for that we apologize. We appreciate your valuable feedback and please know your comments will be shared with the appropriate department managers for review. We do hope you will choose to stay with us on your next trip, so we may provide you with an excellent experience.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The lobby is extremely busy. There is a feeling of rushed business men and women everywhere. There is three different elevators that only go to certain floors and there is no explanation ( you are sure to go on the wrong one at least once). The place itself is luxurious and nice but boring. The room is a good size, you get complementary internet (if you ask) and the beds are comfy. It meets the requirements but isn't anything special.

Room Tip: Getting a higher floor for a better view. If you get at least 20 your view will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Lharris4,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis during your time in San Francisco. We are happy to hear enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our lobby can be a bit active during certain times of the day with arrivals, departures, people gathering prior to a meeting or going off to explore the city. We strive to provide each guest with a brilliant experience and we do apologize for not meeting all of your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our team, so we may continue to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We enjoyed the two night stay because of the convenience to Market Street and the famous Streetcar in Union Square. We were with a group touring and when we had some down time we walked around the area to the shops and restaurants in the area for a little local flair. The view at the top floor of the Hotel gave great views of San Francisco while we ate and shared a drink with our tour group Friends. Rooms were clean and well stocked with the necessities we needed to feel comfortable and welcome. The lobby was one of the busiest places I have been through, with people coming and going during the day and night but the service from all the staff and the breakfast buffet was very good. I won't forget our stay there.

Room Tip: we stayed in the low rise portion of the hotel and elevators were quick to get to and from the floor...
See more room tips
Green Features: they did have a environmental concern for the water usage.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear aarthur67,
Thank you for fabulous review! We are so pleased you and your tour group enjoyed your two-night stay with us. It was so pleasing to read you were able to do a bit of exploring on your own to get a real feel for this amazing city. We do hope you’ll be able to come back soon for another SF adventure.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.