We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, central location, disappointing rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #49 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Busy, central location, disappointing rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

To be honest we choose to stay at this hotel as the views from the roof bar looked and are amazing. That being said you don't need to stay at the hotel to go to the roof bar.

The hotel itself is located a stones throw away from the major shopping area in Union square and the tram down to fishermans wharf runs by a block away making it easy and convenient to get around the city.

The hotel itself is very busy. The foyer is packed with activity from 6am to midnight and is a bit unusual for a classy hotel.
Our room was in the low rise tower and was a bit of a disappointment. Low ceilings, views of a rooftop, crowded bathroom and no light switches (you have to find the bed lamps in the dark).
The rooms and hotel is clean but I just felt that I have paid similar ranges of prices for much better.

Room Tip: Avoid the low rise tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Bigcat84,
Thank you very much for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent stay, and for posting about your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our location for exploring our fabulous city and The View. Thank you also for your valuable feedback and comments regarding our guest rooms which we will take into consideration when we next review our facilities. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    1,217
    405
    97
    55
See reviews for
471
517
125
1,101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a hotel catering to businessmen and people attending conventions so expect the lobby to be very busy.

Location is perfect since it is just around 100 meters away from Market street. Starbucks and Target are across the street. There is a Catholic church nearby that offers daily masses. Westfield Mall is just at the corner. The cable car station is just a 5 minute walk.

The rooms and beds are comfortable. Free wifi in the lobby only. No free wifi in the rooms. You can't also place your drinks in the fridge. You have to request for a separate fridge.

3 suggestions to the hotel management. Install free wifi in the rooms. Allow stocking of personal items in the ref and lastly, a more sensitive and caring attitude from the bellhops at the lobby. We were on our way out with all our luggage. They could have attempted to help us since even my 11 year old son was rolling a huge luggage. A simple offer would have been appreciated. There were several of them just standing there .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear RV P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to San Francisco. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. However, we sincerely apologize for the lapses in the service you and your family encountered by our bell hosts upon your departure. This is not reflective of our standards. Please know your comments will be passed on to the appropriate team members for review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the City by the Bay.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Decent rooms and very nice roof top bar are the main memories i have from this hotel. There is nothing wrong with the hotel and it is what you would expect from a big city marriott hotel. The big plus is that it is very central being located just off market street. It was quite expensive, but not too bad. It doesnt have any great character but if you are not looking for that...this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear gringottsgoblin,
Thank you for sharing your impressions and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to the City by the Bay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay especially our location and The View. We also appreciate your comments regarding our “wow” factor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel, is a large property, but you don't feel lost in the vastness! The location was perfect for wine tour pick up (Terrific Tours), and close to everything. We walked to the SF Giants ball park for a great game, and also walked all the way to the wharf another day. (It was so much nicer than waiting in line for the trolley and being stuff in with a bunch of other tourist! The views from the bar on the top are not to be missed, we enjoyed drinks and snacks up there. Perfect location.

Room Tip: I think they all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear westycruiser,
5-stars…amazing! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We were so excited to read you took advantage of our fabulous location and walked to so many of the cities sites and attractions! The View is a fantastic spot to relax after a day of sightseeing with the most fantastic views and we are so glad you were able to experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Check in was quick and the reception desk staff was quite friendly along with the bellmen. Very efficient service all around. We were given a room on the 26th floor. Great views! Even though the beds were made up too quickly and was a bit messy, I loved how comfy the bed and the soft plush pillows. Slept like a baby! The bathroom was large and clean. Location of this hotel is wonderful. Close to Union Square, Market street, BART, Westfield shopping center, Yerba Buena Center etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Curly323,
Thank you very much for your splendid review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We are so thrilled you were pleased with the hotel and it is wonderful to read our service, location and views were on the mark. Thank you once more for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Location is just awesome, you are bang on the down town of San Francisco. We stayed here for 5 nights and it was great. We parked in a car park close by, valet parking was available but $65 for a night was a bit too much. So we parked around the corner for half price and we left the car in the car park. Tram and even the famous cable car tram leaves 3 min walk away from it. Main road with shops, Restaurant and convenience stores are very very close. We booked online and requested feather free room, when we went up we noticed it hasn't been done. We notified the front desk and it was done in a jiffy. Very apologetic and friendly. Staff was helpful and the rooms were very clean and a reasonable size.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear sunshinetom,
Thank you for your recent 5 night stay and your four star review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to the City by the Bay.
Best Regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed at the Marriott for the week of March 3rd for 5 nights. Attended a conference at the hotel for the entire week.

I was in a room on the 4th floor, facing the small square in the back of the hotel. The room was very big! It had two double beds and two chairs. I could not get over the size of the room. A third double bed could have fit in.

The bed was not very comfortable. I think it had a pillow top but it was lumpy.

Overall the room was very clean. When I did check in on the first night, I did notice a hair under one drinking glass in the bathroom. I did mention it to the manager. I received a very polite apology and a $50 credit.

I did have free wifi as part of my conference. I would negotiate getting the free wifi if you are there as a regular guest.

The hotel is situated in the heart of Union Square. I was walking distance to lots of shopping and the cable car. There are numerous restaurants around the hotel. There was a Target right across the street.

Do NOT buy anything from the Starbucks in the hotel. EXTREMELY OVERPRICED. My regular iced coffee which I purchase for about $3.50 was $5.00 in the hotel! There are two Starbucks directly across the street from the hotel.

Overall, a very nice hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear disneynorth,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis while attending a conference, and for sharing your impressions about your stay! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, your guest room and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.