We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #49 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights as part of Cosmos Tours. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with towels, hair dryer, iron etc. The hotel is within easy walking distance to Union Square, cable cars, china town and shopping. We were able to walk to Fishermans Wharf from the hotel. The lobby was very busy at all times with conference people but there was always a place to sit to use the free wifi. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, instead we went to Mel's Diner around the corner which was very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    1,217
    407
    97
    55
See reviews for
472
517
125
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Marriott is very close to the Mosconi Center which is why we chose the hotel. The room was small and facing the interior of the hotel which was claustrophobic. There is a $15/day charge for internet. (At the Courtyard it was free) There is no business center, just a Fed Ex place that charged for everything including internet minutes. I felt like I was staying at a hotel in the 1970s. Some of the staff were friendly (front desk), some short (door man) Next time I attend a conference in San Fransico I will walk a couple of blocks further.

Room Tip: Ask if you are getting an interior room. They did not tell us that was what we were getting. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mary L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your valuable feedback as this will only help improve our service. Our staff tries very hard to honor each and every guest request and I would like to sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide you with your preferred room.

Thanks again for your review and we hope that you will consider our hotel again.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very clean hotel and in a great location. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. I had a corner room on the 17th floor (mid tower) and it was very large with all the typical amenities. I also had access to the concierge floor...the breakfast offered was wonderful! Made the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Tracy F,

Thank you so much for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and our helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location on 4th and Market, easy walk to Union Square and Mosconi Center. Rooms are small, even for a platinum member. Good daily service, no turn-down service. Everything in the hotel works, so the maintenance is good - unfortunately, everything in the hotel is dated - from the carpets to furniture to decor. Not on par with the usual Marquis or JW quality, but good location. Finally, great Concierge Lounge. Did I mention this hotel is in a good location? :-)

Room Tip: The corner rooms are quieter, and have 2 walls of windows with great views. The ice makers are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Etherdoc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry to read that you felt our decor was dated as we have just completed a complete rooms renovation. I hope our excellent location and quality service will convince you to stay with us again.

Best Wishes,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and readily available. The rooms were clean and comfortable. On the ground floor there was a cocktail lounge and a business lounge that had free Wi-Fi, along with big tables and chairs that accommodated my computer, my work papers, and me. There were three entrances: one for drop-off, another for taxi's/limos, and a rear entrance, that could only be accessed through a hotel card, and led outside to a few restaurants, a church, and access to two main streets. The big conference center, which was used for our conference, was about a 5-minute walk from the hotel and I felt pretty safe walking alone. The hotel was also within walking distance to Chinatown, the cable cars, shopping, restaurants, and more. Although we walked to Lombard Street to see the crookedest street in America, I might suggest a taxi or a cable car. The reason I gave the hotel a very good was because of the lack of taxis in the evening hours. This led to long lines and long waiting times. On one evening, there were more limo cars than taxis (limos charging $70.00). I would suggest conference organizers address this before arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Interesting service at this hotel. I was ignored for about 20 minutes after sitting at a table in the lobby restaurant/ bar, when I finally went to bar to order and ask for table to be cleaned. After my "self service" glass of wine I watched an middle aged man get dragged down a stairway by three security guards. Hmmm. Room itself was clean, but there is some road noise and bed not very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear lc123BC,

Thank you kindly for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and for your review. Without a doubt the service you received in our lobby bar is unacceptable and I offer my sincerest apology. I will be sure to notify our restaurant team.

Guest safety is one of our number one priorities and I would also like to apologize that you witnessed our security team in action.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a bed factory (busy place!)
Was pretty good with a couple of exceptions. Exec lounge was CRAZY at breakfast and management was missing. Was trashed. :(
Lounge at rooftop was nice but service uneven there too.
Room and other service was real good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.