We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the fence” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #52 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On the fence”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here as it was in close proximity to a recent conference I attended. Points for its location-Moscone center, art museums, Union Square...really a great location. Points off for Marriott rewards check in and concierge-check in was not the most courteous, and the concierge was perpetually sllllooooooowwww to the point of me walking away after 10 minutes of waiting-I realize they are busy but if you are busy, have more representatives staffing that service!

This hotel clearly gets a lot of convention traffic, yet still seems to be able to maintain a great upkeep. I found the gym to be good, great weight selection and lots of cardio machines. There is a starbucks onsite. I also had an incident where someone had charged a HUGE bar tab to my room, and while I didn't appreciate the error (the room # and name was not mine when the receipt was found) it was promptly resolved. Sleep was not the greatest due to fire engines and street noise-garbage trucks, screaming people below, loading/unloading trucks, etc.

I like the hotel, but the people you are most likely to interact with just aren't as patient or as courteous as I would expect, and while I understand the high volume must be stressful, I would encourage management to consider adding more front staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear KLintheSEH,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate the valuable feedback. We understand that no one likes to wait in lines and we try our very best to ensure proper staffing based on our occupancy. We are sorry to say that we missed the mark during your stay and apologize for your inconvenience.

We invite you to send us a direct message should you wish to discuss your stay further and hope that you will again consider the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your next trip to the City.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    1,113
    380
    91
    51
See reviews for
425
490
120
996
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed 4 nights during a recent conference at the Moscone Center. Great location, just a block away from the conference, lots of restaurants in the area.

Hotel was clean and modern, nicely appointed. Service was professional and pleasant. Fixtures were all modern and worked well, nice view of the city from my room. The room was dead quiet, and I got good sleep. WiFi was above average for a hotel.

There was a free breakfast buffet for Gold and Platinum Elite members - it was very good, if a bit crowded. Nothing special, but fine.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that there are a lot of boutique hotels in the area with a lot more San Francisco personality. This Marriott is a bit generic. For a convention visit, though, you cannot go wrong with this hotel - it is solid Marriott quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I came to this hotel for my work, but stayed for a mini vacation, as well. The location of this hotel is fantastic... close to good shopping, good restaurants and lots of public transportation. Staff was professional and nice. Concierge desk staff were top notch.

The lobby is spacious and always busy, so we had a lot of good people watching at that time. There is also staff present at the entrances, however I believe that is to help protect the guests. One thing about this area that surprised us were the number of people who lived on the streets. We saw many, many people going through the trash outside and several of them approached us for money. But there is good security in this area and we did not feel unsafe.

The hotel is on par with other Marriotts. However, this venue is going through some renovations, and we heard lots of sawing and construction noise during the day. There was also a huge wall of boxes in the hallway that we walked by every day, so our floor (the 10th) felt more like a dorm or an apartment building than a luxury hotel.

If you come here, be sure to go up to the 39th floor lounge... amazing windows and views. However, note that the tables are first come first serve and good luck finding a place to sit. One thing to mention... the elevators at this hotel are probably the fastest and smoothest elevators I've been in.

All in all, it was a good experience at the hotel. There is a Hertz car rental in the lobby, which is very convenient. But note that it costs $60 each night to valet park a vehicle here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just had a great experience at the Marriott Marquis, but I was upgraded to a palatial suite, so that might be biasing me....

This is a great hotel right by the Moscone Center and Market Street, perfect for any downtown business as well as tourist and conference needs. Clean, functional - everything you'd want and expect from a high-end Marriott. It's busy and noisy in the foyer - lots of coming and going - but that's to be expected given its location. Would definitely stay here again, upgrade or no upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear wiltshs,

It is such a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay during your recent trip to San Francisco. We can't thank you enough for your review and welcome the opportunity to host you the next time you visit the City.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be improved. We purchased the Muni Visitor Passports at the hardware store across the street as suggested by the concierge. We moved around the city using the streetcars, cable cars and buses and it could not have been easier since the stops were within a couple of blocks from the hotel. The Bart Powell station is also about two very short blocks from the hotel. Even though the hotel appeared to be in need of a face-lift and the concierge lounge food seemed a bit below what I expected from a Marriott, I would stay here again due to its amazing location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear LRM1992,

We cannot thank you enough for your review and for your excellent travel tips! However, we are extremely disappointed that we were not able to offer you one of our recently renovated rooms and turn your three star rating into four.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon so that you can experience our completely rejuvenated hotel scheduled to be completed early this summer.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We just spent an awesome week in San Francisco at the Marriott Marquis. The location was GREAT--in the center of everything. The staff at the hotel made our stay outstanding. The view from the hotel was great and it was especially great from "The View" at the top of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was somewhat unimpressed with this hotel, I thought it would feel more upscale. It's in a great location in the heart of downtown, close to all transportation. The room, while comfortable, felt sparse by comparison to other Marriotts we've stayed at. The towels in particular were thin and plain - the front desk on checking in asked us if we wanted extra towels, now I know why! The TV was smallish too and there was nothing to prop your feet up on if you were sitting on the furniture. However, it was quiet and the bed was very nice, so it was still a good stay.

Surprisingly, there is no full dinner restaurant - the 4th Street Grille is a sports bar-ish place and there is a nice lounge - with good food - at the top of the hotel. There's a Starbucks inside as well, but a short walk will bring you a myriad of coffee and breakfast choices that are more interesting.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, valet service - though at confiscatory prices - was fast and friendly.

The windows were the dirtiest (outside) that we have ever experienced. They very much detracted from the overall experience.

We've stayed at the nearby JW Marriott and have found it to be a lot more enjoyable than the Marquis, but the Marquis has a better location. If you're considering the Marriott on Union Square, consider one of these two instead - the access and parking is much better.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very nice. The view towards the Bay Bridge is mostly obstructed with many building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.