We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #52 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great downtown location, clean and comfortable rooms.

Close to Union Square shops, Powell street Cable car turnaround and MUNI/BART

Only one minor drawback: The lobby area is very busy as there are several entrances to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    1,113
    380
    91
    51
See reviews for
425
490
120
996
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fresh off a trip staying at the Marquis, and I have to say, I enjoyed it. Service was consistent with Marriott quality, and rooms were nice. Be aware, this hotel is currently under renovation...I never heard anything, but there was a note on my desk about it.

Overall staff was excellent, including the maid. Rooms are average size, and the bathroom was spacious. My only real complaint is that the floor plan of the hotel is maze like, finding your room on the floor can be a little tricky the first time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear nmiler84,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of The San Francisco Marriott Marquis on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to see that our current room’s renovation project did not affect your stay. We try very hard to make sure all of our guests feel at home during our renovations and would like to invite you to experience our newly renovated room the next time you are in San Francisco.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013 for conference at the Moscone Center. Perfectly located across from Yuerba Buena gardens (3min walk to convention center) with lots of eating options around. Shops on market street within 5min walk, Chinatown within 10min walk. Didnt have many dealings with the staff but when I did, they were very pleasant. The concierge nailed it on his sushi recommendation (Hana sushi?...cant remember). Hotel was clean & upscale. My room (1121) faced the interior of the hotel so not much view but very clean, quiet, and I slept like a rock!

One negative is the way you have to navigate the maze on each floor to find your room. Finally figured it out after 4 nights of reading the signs.

Dont bother with the breakfast buffet at the 2nd floor restaurant. You can get better food down the street for 1/3 the price.

Definitely pricey (~$280/night) but you cant do much better for business travel. I'll be back next year.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view. And the elevators are SUPER fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear All23Ways,

Thank you so much for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your excellent travel tips and would be very happy to welcome you back to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a two night stay at the Marriott Marquis for a business trip. I requested a quiet room location and was placed on the 23rd floor, which is considered a 'high-rise' location. The room was free from most road/room noise and was one of the recently refurbished rooms. Given the recent furnishing update, the room was clean and in great shape.

The registration desk was very helpful, taking effort to find a room without doors to an adjoining unit. This helped to reduce room-to-room noise.

The hotel location is very close to the Moscone Center but also within a short ten minute walk to Union Square. I didn't use a Marriott restaurant but did visit the lobby Starbucks.

Room Tip: Request a room that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear VisitorBob,

Thank you kindly for your review and for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis, we especially appreciate the pictures you posted of our newly renovated guest room.

Thanks Again,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My spouse was attending a conference at the Marriott Marquis SF so our rate was very reasonable for hotel in SF. The Marriott Marquis is conveniently located with the BART just a short walk away. The Powell/Market Cable Car terminal is also just about 2 blocks away. Best of all, the Apple Store is right across Market from the hotel. You can walk to the Financial District in about 15 minutes. There are numerous restaurants in the area. The desk clerks were very pleasant and helpful as were the personnel at the concierge desk. Our room was located on a high floor with a great view of the city. The room was quiet and clean. In-room wi-fi costs about $14/day but is very fast and reliable. There is valet parking available but it is pricey. SF is a city that you really can't have a car. We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here three times in recent months, once in November and twice over the holiday period. It's become our hotel of choice if we are heading to the city for a night! Lovely, spacious rooms in a great central location. Have stayed on the concierge level twice, meaning that we have been able to avail of the coffee / continental breakfast / snacks - well worth it. We've stayed here both with and wthout our kids, and it's been perfect for all trips, great family friendly hotel. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear hotelrate,

Thank you so much for continuing to choose the San Francisco Marriott Marquis as your hotel of choice in San Francisco. We simply can't wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first time at this Marriott. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. Took BArt from the airport for $8.30 one way fare each and got off at Powell...only ONE block away from the hotel front door. Cant be more convenient than this.
We were is an upgraded renovated room on the 23rd floor. It was a little small but still very nice. As a Gold Reward member, we had access to the concierge lounge, an excellent place for breakfast, snacks and dinner with hors douvres and desserts.
The location of this hotel is perfect to Bart, Union Square, shopping, Westfield center, Moscone Convention Center, China Town, etc.
But what makes Marriott so special is the staff. We are elite with Hilton, Starwood too. The staff at Marriott is always friendly, smilling and helpful. I do not know how they find such nice people.
We will return here the next time in SF, for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on a high floor. If you want t quieter room ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.