We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #49 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property for a week dec 8-14. We really loved the location of the hotel. In the ❤ of Union Square with easy access to the bus, trolley cars and Bart. Also, every store imaginable is within walking distance from high-end (Prada) to Target, literally at your footsteps. The room was adequate size and clean. I do agree with many other posters that the rooms could use a face lift especially given what they are charging for them. I didn't like that Wi-fi was not included (14.95 a day-ugh) but I found this to be the case with many of the larger chain hotels in the city (also there is free wi-fi in the lobby if u absolutely need it- we didn't, we just used our phones). One other thing that was very convenient is the Hertz rental desk at the hotel ( you can pick-up and return your rental with the valet-offsets the exhorbitant parking fees). All in all, a good stay. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and I would definitely consider staying here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    1,217
    405
    96
    55
See reviews for
471
517
125
1,099
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Be ware the front desk staff are very poorly trained. They also suffer from rasism and sexism. The management does not care. Terrible experience would never return. The entire management staff and front desk staff need training and to care about their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear McUtahScott,

Thank you kindly for submitting your review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis on TripAdvisor. I was extremely disappointed to learn that you had a poor service experience while staying at our hotel. We can assure you that your comments are being taken very seriously and we appreciate your honest and valuable feedback.

I can not begin to express how sorry I am in regards to your experience at the hotel. I can assure you that we do care about all of our guests and are committed to providing each and every person exemplary service.

Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss your stay further and again I offer our sincerest apologies.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I love the location, I walked to most places I wanted :). The Hotel is nice, good size rooms and the staff was friendly and professional. Comfortable bed good size and nice comfortable pillows. I would stay in this hotel if I am in the area. Staying in the lower floors the elevators arrive quickly !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I recently spent a week for my first time visit of SFO.
Hotel is ver well located, close to public transportation, shops and restaurants.
The lobby is cozy and elegant.
Staff is generally very friendly and smiling.
Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
Negative: glass windows in the room/corridor should be cleaned as you can hardly see outside the nice view; no complimentary water to drink and no free wifi (it is not usually like this in the other hotels).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Marquis was quiet, extremely well located near, but not on, Union Square, close to all transportation, including BART. All the staff we encountered was friendly. Nice to have Starbucks in the lobby. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed 6 nights here and my first time to visit this city. Location was excellent and near Market Street and Union Square Shopping was within walking distance for all brand names including the designer. Immediately upon checkin I asked for an upgrade. I was using a rewards stay, so I wasn't very positive about the upgrade request. However, a few minutes later the Hotel agent, forgot her name, said she had a couple of choices and wanted to give us the smaller but better view room, which I later found out to be the King City View Room on the 36th floor! (Hotel only has 39). Amazing views from this room (3641) and recommend it. The hotel stay was flawless and I would absolutely stay here again. Everything from location, Concierge, Valet Parking, Room Service, Turn Down Service, The View, Hotel Staff all executed superbly. Thus a category 6 hotel? ;) Nothing bad to say about this hotel, some rooms are being renovated. Below are some of the personal experiences I had. I will be writing reviews for the attractions separately. My travel tips for tourists; use the F-Line $2 one way with 90 minutes to turn around and come back for free. Use the Bart from the airport, leave the rental behind. And always have single dollars for the public transportation. Thanks for reading and videos on my YouTube Channel.

Experiences:
Room Service- ordered room service one night around 11PM for a pizza. Showed up 30 minutes later hot and a perfect order. No mistakes. A+
Valet Parking $60 a day with tax - Expensive and not needed. I ditched the rental after 2 days, bill was correct and public transportation is easy to use and inexpensive for all sight seeing from this location. Also, had a family member visit for about an hour and they parked it for him out front, cost = Tip. Applause. A+
Concierge - Alcatraz Tours filled up quick (DO BOOK AHEAD) so the lady manning the deck called a POC and asked if there were any cancellations for us. Extra step… Applause. But they were full of great information from cable cars, public transportation and even helping those without plans. A+
Concierge Level - Continental breakfast 0700-1000, Hors d'oeuvres 1730-1930, desserts 1930-2200, Wine and Beer Honor Bar 1130 - 2200 Daily. 18th Floor. A+

RetiredArmyRANGER

Room Tip: Always ask for upgrades and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 5 nights for combined business/pleasure trip. For a first time visitor to San Francisco the location was great, walking distance to lots of great restaurants, shopping, and Union Square, and public transportion. The hotel staff were all very pleasant, and our room was very large and CLEAN, and he bed very comfy! The hotel restaurant, the Mission Grille, was never open for lunch or dinner during our stay ... not sure why, and we found the drinks to be quite over priced in the lobby bar and the View lounge compared to other restaurants and bars in the same vicinity. The concierge lounge offer a very nice continental breakfast, along with snacks in the late afternoon/early evening, and all the bottle water one could consume ... a really nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.