We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offers
Ranked #105 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here 4 nights with my family while vacationing in San Francisco. It is a nice hotel and is in the center of the city. You can access public transportation easily from this location. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, which is nice for breakfast. The hotel restaurant is also nice, but a little pricey. It is a large convention style hotel and is very crowded. If you don't get up early, you will wait in a long line for breakfast. The concierge is helpful for help but the desk stays busy so be prepared to wait. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are glad that our hotel was in a great location for your trip. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the Starbucks in our lobby. We are thrilled our Concierge team was very helpful, but we apologize that you had to wait in line. Even at times of high traffic, our team does their best to provide great service in a timely manner. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    2,370
    1,469
    484
    183
See reviews for
1,143
1,507
403
1,945
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,045)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a big city convention hotel. It's large, efficient and business like but lacks any charm and intimacy. Staff is helpful, rooms are typical Hilton (clean but a bit worn), food is OK and location is excellent. There are plenty of better choices in the immediate area if you are looking for a nice hotel with character. But if you want to use or earn HHonors points this is a perfectly acceptable choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. We sincerely apologize that you did not feel a personal touch while you were here. We are glad, however, that our staff was helpful and that your room was clean. We appreciate your comments regarding your room. We will be sure to use your feedback as we continue to renovate our hotel. We invite you to come back and stay in our newly renovated Skyline Bay View rooms to experience the modern look and feel we are moving towards. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've stayed at this Hilton many times over the years and the last few, and in particular my stay this weekend, has seen the service drop off. Granted this is a very large property so I don't expect the service which may be afforded a smaller property. The first issue arose upon arrival. I used my Hilton Hhoners points for my stay. We wanted to be on the bay view side of tower 1 so I called the property ahead of time and asked how they defined the premium room of "SKYLINE-BAY VIEW" I was told that it could be either a skyline view or bay view -- makes sense. I told the rep at the hotel that unless I could be guaranteed a bay view that we would pass on the property for this weekend. She told me that there would not be a problem making sure I got the bay view, to book the reservation then call back with the reservation number to confirm a bay view room. I followed her instructions and as you can now guess, even after two calls telling me we had a bay view room, we had a skyline view which from this property is nothing special. Okay, we're here, time to make the best of it. When checking in I ask about the continental breakfast which is to be included with the room. We were provided two vouchers to use in their lobby Starbucks for this. Ok, unusual but workable. Until morning arrived. After waiting in the line 40 minutes we tossed the Starbucks vouchers and headed on our way. The organization of this included continental breakfast was just terrible. On the way out to the valet I stopped at the front desk to see if I could offer my comments to a manager. The front desk staff was friendly and understanding but after another 15 minute wait without the manager appearing it was time to drop my blood pressure and leave.

The rooms are clean and typical convention quality hotel rooms. No issues with the rooms. But, as for the rest, I know we will avoid this particular property in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate you being such a loyal Hilton traveler. We sincerely apologize, however, that you felt our service did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry that you did not receive a room with a bay view. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected and at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. We are very sorry that you also had to wait for breakfast at Starbucks. We do offer an upgrade to our breakfast buffet for $10 more which includes a variety of breakfast items. We truly appreciate you bringing your comments to our attention, as it helps us improve upon our overall service. We are very sorry that we let you down and we hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 wk. Traveled with a group. Requested king bed & refrig. Was told we could have king bed but would need to request refrig upon arrival.on arrival had queen bed, no refrig. We were added to list for refrig. Another couple in our group had no special request & got king bed & refrig. After pointing this out to staff we were given another room. Concierge service awesome.Rooms small but clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you did not receive the refrigerator upon arrival, but we are glad that we could accommodate you with a new room. We are thrilled that our Concierge team was helpful and that your room was clean. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hilton near Union Square is in a really great location and close to public transportation. We took the BART train from the airport and didn't have a rental car for several days until we checked out.

This is a very large hotel in a very busy part of the most central place in San Francisco. Like a lot of big city hotels, the rooms are very small. The lobby was always bustling with lots of people and there were lines for Starbucks and the breakfast restaurant that were in the hotel. The beds were good, but the bathroom was teeny tiny.

One great feature is that the Concierge's were always available, super helpful and we found their advice accurate.

After we checked out and drove to spend a couple nights in the redwoods, we stayed at the Hampton Inn in Daly City. The Hampton is our go-to hotel in most cities. We were more comfortable there, but definitely needed the rental car which can be a pain in San Francisco.

There is a good chance I would stay there again, although I might shop around to see what else is available. It was great to be so close to everything and it worked out great for my family of four.

Room Tip: See if you can get a nice city view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seemed better than average for the rest of the US, but typical for what we noticed in San Francisco.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear that you felt the hotel was in a great location for your stay. The close proximity to BART definitely makes travel easier. We are very sorry that the room size was smaller than what you anticipated. We have many different room sizes and shapes. If you happen to visit our property again, please do not hesitate to ask the front desk about different room types and availability. We are also delighted to hear that the Concierge team was very attentive and we are glad that they were able to assist you during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family stayed here for three nights at the start of a road trip through California. The enormous lobby and the rooms can get noisy and the facilities have seen better days but location-wise it is great, we could not fault the staff and really enjoyed the breakfast menu.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your honest feedback with us. We apologize that you felt our hotel was outdated. We will be sure to use your comments as we continue to renovate and change our hotel. We are glad however that you enjoyed the location and our breakfast buffet. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ok I know it's in the center of San Francisco but should be as nice as a Hampton inn. Mini bar is empty they could put a fridge in but that's extra, the beds they say are queen are smaller than the headboard & definetly don't feel as big. Is it to much to ask for when you have the headboard there and cabinet for the fridge. Just paying for the location & they know it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area but we apologize that we fell short on your expectations. We appreciate your comments regarding the fridge and the beds. We will be sure to use your feedback as we continue to make changes at our hotel. Thank you again for your review, we hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Parc 55 San Francisco - a Hilton Hotel
Parc 55 San Francisco - a Hilton...
#100 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,727 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#27 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,971 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#66 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.