We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #103 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hilton near Union Square is in a really great location and close to public transportation. We took the BART train from the airport and didn't have a rental car for several days until we checked out.

This is a very large hotel in a very busy part of the most central place in San Francisco. Like a lot of big city hotels, the rooms are very small. The lobby was always bustling with lots of people and there were lines for Starbucks and the breakfast restaurant that were in the hotel. The beds were good, but the bathroom was teeny tiny.

One great feature is that the Concierge's were always available, super helpful and we found their advice accurate.

After we checked out and drove to spend a couple nights in the redwoods, we stayed at the Hampton Inn in Daly City. The Hampton is our go-to hotel in most cities. We were more comfortable there, but definitely needed the rental car which can be a pain in San Francisco.

There is a good chance I would stay there again, although I might shop around to see what else is available. It was great to be so close to everything and it worked out great for my family of four.

Room Tip: See if you can get a nice city view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seemed better than average for the rest of the US, but typical for what we noticed in San Francisco.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear that you felt the hotel was in a great location for your stay. The close proximity to BART definitely makes travel easier. We are very sorry that the room size was smaller than what you anticipated. We have many different room sizes and shapes. If you happen to visit our property again, please do not hesitate to ask the front desk about different room types and availability. We are also delighted to hear that the Concierge team was very attentive and we are glad that they were able to assist you during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    1,886
    1,106
    365
    129
See reviews for
843
1,225
347
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family stayed here for three nights at the start of a road trip through California. The enormous lobby and the rooms can get noisy and the facilities have seen better days but location-wise it is great, we could not fault the staff and really enjoyed the breakfast menu.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your honest feedback with us. We apologize that you felt our hotel was outdated. We will be sure to use your comments as we continue to renovate and change our hotel. We are glad however that you enjoyed the location and our breakfast buffet. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ok I know it's in the center of San Francisco but should be as nice as a Hampton inn. Mini bar is empty they could put a fridge in but that's extra, the beds they say are queen are smaller than the headboard & definetly don't feel as big. Is it to much to ask for when you have the headboard there and cabinet for the fridge. Just paying for the location & they know it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area but we apologize that we fell short on your expectations. We appreciate your comments regarding the fridge and the beds. We will be sure to use your feedback as we continue to make changes at our hotel. Thank you again for your review, we hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and son for 2 nights. We have stayed here before and even though it is quite expensive it is very good value for money compared to other similar hotels in area. I can't really understand the bad reviews, it is a large hotel with a lot of guests but all staff I spoke to were lovely, helpful and polite. Our room was great for the 3 of us. Hotel ideal for Union Square and I understand people's reviews of area, but we didn't go to dodgy area and I suspect most people don't so don't let that put you off hotel. We had breakfast in restaurant, not Starbucks, and it was great. Loads of choice and cooked to order items too. Staff were very helpful and polite in here too. I agree foyer is chaotic but that is because of large number of guests. Our check in was really quick with helpful receptionist. I cant really fault this hotel at all. Good hotel for good price and friendly staff, stay here if you want to be convenient for Union Square and for trams. I will stay here again

Room Tip: I didn't hear any noise at all, I stayed in Tower 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words! We are thrilled that you had a good experience at our hotel and that you received good service throughout your stay. We are also happy to hear that your room was great and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Urban Tavern. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our property in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the Hilton Union Square late June/early July. We wanted a few nights to see San Francisco, and the travel agent suggested this place.

Arrived and checked in with no problems - just a short wait in line, as the lobby was pretty busy. Room was fine, facilities worked ok, and location was just a short walk from Union Square itself.

Our breakfast was paid for by vouchers redeemable at Starbucks - not a huge choice, but that was ok. You can upgrade to the hot buffet at the on site restaurant for a reasonable charge.

Otherwise, no complaints at all - a reasonable place (although busy with Conferences) in a good location for tourism in San Francisco.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you had an overall nice stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you had a quick check-in. We do apologize that you did not feel there were a lot of options with the breakfast at Starbucks. If you upgrade to our hot buffet for $10 in the future, we offer a diverse array of breakfast items including eggs, bacon, dim sum, smoothies and more. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was like an airport lounge so many people at the hotel and it wasn't a nice area, yes close to the square but on a hill of a dodgy neighbourhood even the taxi driver told us don't go down hill. It wasn't hilton standard, expect motel rooms. We has one night here then 2 nights by the wharf which was beautiful, safe and much more to see and do. If you haven't decided stay by the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry that we fell short on your expectations. We apologize that our location was not ideal for your trip. We hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next trip to San Francisco. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I attended a convention here for 4 days in June. In the course of 4 days, I was unable to figure out the reason for the crazy layout of the conference facilities. Every different room was across the length of the hotel and often on a different level. If you wanted coffee, there was a Starbucks in the lobby, but count on an hour in line. I tried the Tavern restaurant in the lobby, but walked out before being seated because of rude staff. There were constant lines to register, and while I was not staying at the convention hotel, I would have been frustrated by this level of service. The concierge seemed to always have a line, but seemed very helpful. Parking was exorbitant (not competitive with garages next door) and the neighborhood around the hotel was very seedy. This monster has seen her day. They need to spend the money to update it or give up. The food served at the convention was better than average, but there were few healthy choices. Someone needs to talk with the pastry chef and explain that you can't just cut up Ho-Ho's and Ding Dongs and put donuts on a plate and call it dessert. All in all this was a disappointment...

Room Tip: Diddn't stay at the hotel so no idea how the rooms were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry that you felt the conference facilities were confusing. We do our best to provide directions to all of our attendees and we apologize that we fell short here. We also apologize that there were long lines throughout your stay. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, we know how frustrating waiting can be. We will be sure to use your comments as we continue to make improvements at our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.