We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at union square go to the wharf!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay + Park + WiFi
Ranked #102 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Don't stay at union square go to the wharf!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Was like an airport lounge so many people at the hotel and it wasn't a nice area, yes close to the square but on a hill of a dodgy neighbourhood even the taxi driver told us don't go down hill. It wasn't hilton standard, expect motel rooms. We has one night here then 2 nights by the wharf which was beautiful, safe and much more to see and do. If you haven't decided stay by the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry that we fell short on your expectations. We apologize that our location was not ideal for your trip. We hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next trip to San Francisco. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    2,215
    1,350
    451
    166
See reviews for
998
1,427
391
1,843
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I attended a convention here for 4 days in June. In the course of 4 days, I was unable to figure out the reason for the crazy layout of the conference facilities. Every different room was across the length of the hotel and often on a different level. If you wanted coffee, there was a Starbucks in the lobby, but count on an hour in line. I tried the Tavern restaurant in the lobby, but walked out before being seated because of rude staff. There were constant lines to register, and while I was not staying at the convention hotel, I would have been frustrated by this level of service. The concierge seemed to always have a line, but seemed very helpful. Parking was exorbitant (not competitive with garages next door) and the neighborhood around the hotel was very seedy. This monster has seen her day. They need to spend the money to update it or give up. The food served at the convention was better than average, but there were few healthy choices. Someone needs to talk with the pastry chef and explain that you can't just cut up Ho-Ho's and Ding Dongs and put donuts on a plate and call it dessert. All in all this was a disappointment...

Room Tip: Diddn't stay at the hotel so no idea how the rooms were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry that you felt the conference facilities were confusing. We do our best to provide directions to all of our attendees and we apologize that we fell short here. We also apologize that there were long lines throughout your stay. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, we know how frustrating waiting can be. We will be sure to use your comments as we continue to make improvements at our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wonderful hotel. All services provided were excellent except the fact that I ordered car with hotel car service/bell captain and car appeared to arrive at expected time but never pulled over to pick us up so we had to take a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled that you had a positive experience at our hotel. We do apologize for the issue with the car to the airport. We have notified our Bell team and will ensure that this will not happen again for our future guests. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Hilton in Union Square was average, as far as Hiltons go. My room was nice (albeit really, really far from an elevator) and clean, but nothing special. Had I not been traveling for business, I probably would have found this significantly over-priced. I stayed a couple weeks prior at the Omni, which I much preferred.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you had a nice room and that it was clean. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your feedback and hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and maybe it's because it was 4 July weekend but we found this too long. The rooms were noisy with poorly fitting doors and walls so thin you could hear everything. The breakfast was good, the staff were lovely and it was clean but it's a long way from the best hiltons we have stayed in. We also found that we had to ask about everything, no services were volunteered e.g. Local tourist info (we found brochure with money off vouchers etc on the day we left); car to airport, discovered they could book this by accident!

Room Tip: We had rooms at the rear of the hotel and there was no traffic noise but the rooms themselves are no...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard stuff, never quite sure if I am saving them money or making actual environment savings!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent trip to San Francisco. We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay. We sincerely apologize that your room was noisy. We are glad, however, that you enjoyed your breakfast and that our staff was very nice throughout your stay. We are very sorry that you had to ask our staff about tourist information. We will be sure to use your feedback as we continue to make changes to our hotel and improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your review. We hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Out of 6 hotels we had stayed in so far on our trip this was the only hotel not to even acknowledge our honeymoon (it was stated on our booking) & when we told them they pushed to upgrade us for $70 dollars per night despite already being a very expensive stay. The room was fine but generic. The queue for Starbucks at all times was exceptionally long and my only experience with them was rude - being referred to as 'her' with a tone of inconvenience to another customer isn't great in such a hotel. Finally the parking is ridiculous. We cleared our bill with reception, paid for our parking & then on leaving the car park the attendant scribbled out the receptionist's number of days parking and increased it despite the bill being settled. Quite an unnerving experience & an insight into the lack of communication between staff and more rudeness. This has put us off Hiltons for a very long time. Location is good & we met a great security guard named Marlon but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us about your trip to San Francisco. We sincerely apologize that your honeymoon was not acknowledged while you were here. We appreciate you choosing Hilton and we know how special an occasion this was for you. We are very sorry that there were issues with your bill upon check-out. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback we hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us again. We hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Really great location, near some fantastic restaurants and things to do. Prices for the Bay Area will be shocking for people from the South, but still pretty good value considering that's just how big cities are. Clean rooms, and staff were friendly and helpful with dining/activity recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and that you were able to explore some of the nearby restaurants, shops and local attractions. We are thrilled our rooms were clean and our staff were friendly throughout your stay! Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.