We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, great breakfast, very busy lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer from just $179
Ranked #101 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, great breakfast, very busy lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was my third stay at the Hilton Union Square in San Francisco but the first in the Honors Floor in Tower 3 and I must stay that made the difference. T I stayed and entire week .The floor and the room have been recently remodeled and faced a very pleasant internal patio with a pool. Big sliding doors opened to the pool.
The breakfast buffet was great and had a very wide selection of goodies to choose from.
The biggest cons was that the lounge are was always quite full not was because so many people were registering at one time but also because the free internet was only available at the lobby.
Location is great but when the night falls there a many homeless wandering around the area.

Room Tip: Book a high floor or hilton honors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We are thrilled that you are such a loyal Hilton traveler. We are glad that you enjoyed your Tower 3 room and that you liked the breakfast buffet at Urban Tavern. We apologize that the lobby was crowded during your stay - we also offer complimentary WiFi at the Urban Tavern restaurant for more room for our guests. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    2,123
    1,283
    433
    154
See reviews for
954
1,359
380
1,761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I spent at week at the Hilton. The plus side was the staff. They were over the top nice and helpful. The location was good. The suite was okay but could have been better. It is a huge hotel with three towers and a very busy lobby. On the staff... ever person we passed would say hello and when we called for service it was provided promptly. The lady who took care of our room was fabulous. On the suite... it was just not up to other Hilton's we have stayed at. There was a large space in the living room where it looked like a table should be and nothing was there. A table would have been nice since we were there for a week. The light on the my side of the bed had a broken swtich and there was a cover for an outlet that was missing. Both these items were fixed quickly. One of chairs in the living room had a stain. In the hall by the elevator a glass of what might have been ice tea sat there for at least 3 days (ugh). I would stay there again only if it was a short stay but probably not for a week again.

Room Tip: You do not want a room by the garage. Especially on the 7th floor Tower 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent trip to San Francisco. We are happy to hear that our staff was very nice and helpful throughout your stay and that you enjoyed our location. We sincerely apologize that we fell short on your expectations about the room. We are also very sorry for the inconveniences in your room of the broken switch and missing cover outlet but we are glad our staff was there to fix it quickly. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve upon our overall guest service. We hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived on 23.12.2013 and were greeted by really nice guy at reception.
We were told where to go, where not to go and given with a map. He also offered with a “$50 package” per person/day including free wifi and breakfast in Starbucks located in lobby.
From my point of view as I’m European that is rather too expensive especially as we looked forward to “real American breakfasts” with free coffee and soda refills , eggs, pancakes and atmosphere.
By the way, there is a lot of places to serve breakfast just around the corner…

Hotel is well located, you get to Union Square, Market Str. and Powell BART station in max 5 minutes’ walk.
Service – everyone really nice and friendly at check in as well as at check out
Value – you get what you pay for, I wouldn’t mind free wifi though
Sleep quality – little noisy corridors and time to time street noise like firefighters or police sirens.. but nothing exceptional from other big cities and big hotels
Location – really convenient
Rooms – our one was big enough, equipped with everything we needed and expected

I can recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had a warm welcome here! We apologize if you felt our $50 package was not worth it to you - but we are happy you were able to explore the nearby restaurants, shops and local attractions. We are very sorry that there was street noise that you could hear from your room. We will be sure to use your comments as we make more changes to our hotel this year. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and that your room was big enough and well-appointed for your stay. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The rooms may be nothing special (especially compared to the prices) but these are very good facilities for a large group. The ballrooms and associated amenities - even bathrooms! - are spacious and well appointed. High quality catering and professional service. Good signage and supporting technology such as presentation screens. Nice to have all this right in center city.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us. We are thrilled that you and your group enjoyed our facilities and that the bathrooms were spacious and well-appointed for your visit. We are happy to hear our staff did a great job and that our location was ideal for your conference. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's just so so big. Multiple towers! The line for the Starbucks in the lobby was round the corner. Just too many people in the hotel. The room was fine, location fine. The bellhop ripped us off on the way to the airport with a private driver instead of a taxi. He said it was cheaper. It wasn't in the end. No personal attention whatsoever. I'm not exactly a boutique hotel type person but this place was just too big.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us about your stay. We apologize that you felt our hotel was too large and that the lines for Starbucks were long. Our team does their best to ensure that the lines are moving quickly and efficiently and we apologize that this was not the case during your stay. We sincerely apologize that you received a private driver instead of a taxi. Next time, feel free to take BART to the airport for a cheaper way of traveling. We appreciate you sharing your comments with us, and we will use your feedback to improve upon our overall guest services. We hope to get the opportunity to offer you a more personalized experience the next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Awesome views! Bar was very comfortable and friendly. Good beer choices. Buffet was amazing! Lots of food choice. Service was perfect. Great way to start the day. Everything was very nice. Great service all around. We will stay there again next time for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that you had great views from your room. We are thrilled that you had a good experience at the bar and you were able to relax with a few beers. We are also glad that you liked our breakfast buffet. It sounds like you had a positive stay overall and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

very UNHAPPY with this hotel. they run so many people through here it is insane. I had reserved a bayview room with a balcony and even called to verify a few days before we arrived. When we checked in, the person behind the desk said he was giving us a really nice room, and instead were given a cityscape room next to the service elevators and overlooking the poor homeless people on the street below. When complaining to the front desk, they said "too bad", nothing else available. Even though across the hallway were the bayview rooms which had been vacated and were being cleaned for the next guest(s). I don't think I will ever stay at a HIlton again, this being my first experience with one. It was like they were running a stampede of cattle into their corrals.
The other thing was supposedly a breakfast came with the room. Breakfast consisted of waiting in a long, long line to a Starbucks inside the hotel. That was breakfast. We chose to pay instead an extra $10 for the buffet breakfast, thinking the $10 extra was for the 5 days we were there. NOT! It was $10 per day. The buffet breakfast was okay but I think I would have preferred to go elsewhere for breakfast.

Room Tip: I don't know what to tell you except make your reservations directly with the hotel and take a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are sorry that you had a disappointing service experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us to better deliver this brand promise moving forward. We apologize that we were unable to accommodate your reserved room type. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected and at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again so we may better demonstrate the complete quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.