We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Fran Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer from just $179
Ranked #101 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, United States
1 review
“San Fran Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hilton Union Square lives up to the Hilton brand. Rooms are clean and attractive. It is in a great location, just 3 blocks to Powell Street and Union Square. Where there is plenty of shopping and eating establishments and access to the cable cars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments and thoughts with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive stay. We are happy to hear your room was clean and attractive and that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled you were able to explore the surrounding area, including the nearby shopping, restaurants and local attractions. Thank you again for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    2,123
    1,283
    433
    154
See reviews for
954
1,359
380
1,761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I'll keep this short we used our Hilton Honor Points to stay here for a long weekend getaway during the holiday a week ago. We stayed in tower 1 room 3179. The hotel is in a great location for tourism, rental car facility right across the street from the hotel very helpful. The concierge service is great and their suggestions were dead on, the restaurant urban tavern was good we ate there for breakfast only, it was good the same every day but good. The entire staff was great and very helpful. The rooms are in desperate, desperate, desperate need of renovation, very old and small barely 3 diamonds. Would I stay here again, yes but NOT if I had to pay for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our location. Right in the heart of Union Square, our location is ideal for exploring the surrounding areas. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Urban Tavern and that our staff was consistently helpful and great. We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. We will be sure to use your feedback as we make more renovations to our Tower 1 rooms next year. We hope that our guests will enjoy them in the near future. Thank you again for your review, we hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was here only for one night, but the room was big and clean. And the location is awesome: downtown! You can find all kinds of delight within walking distance. Right across the street there is an indian restaurant, pretty convenient. And there are a lot of good asian restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, and that it was clean and big. We are also thrilled that our location was ideal for your business trip. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel teaches you about the difference between a business and pleasure trips: it offers most of what a traveler to a business conference needs; and it offers very little to a traveler eager to create some nice memories.
I stayed here in two occasions, both time for a week for a conference taking place in the same hotel. The hotel has a charm of a Chinese factory dorm: faceless facade, courtyard with nothing of green color, three "towers" full of hundreds of rooms and endless tiny corridors. During check-in you feel like waiting at a ticket counter in a train station, countless Hilton Honors members zooming by you to the head of the line. Between 7 and 8 in the morning the elevators are like buses: stopping at every floor and often so full they cannot take any passengers. The rooms are clean and small; the bathrooms took inspiration from their airplane siblings: so tiny you cannot bow down to the sink to wash your face: your head will hit the mirror in front of you. I had an interior room and the view was on hundreds of identical windows in the opposing tower. It was equally dark in the room at any time during the day. The gym is nice and large but it's crowded with people in the morning: you need to wait for a cardio machine. I didn't understand the wisdom of having an outdoor swimming pool in San Francisco.
The hotel is at a near-perfect location with countless food and entertainment options within steps. This makes up for sub-par food offering in the hotel itself.
Conference facilities are excellent: four stories of large and comfortable conference rooms made our huge conference look friendly. I could find colleagues in all other conference groups with ease and I had a productive work week with no glitches.
Overall, this is not a hotel to make memories: it is a place you come to if someone else pays for it. If so, you will have a productive time. If you are looking for a touch of character and something to remember you need to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view on the street. Interior rooms are a bit depressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We apologize that we fell short on your expectations. We appreciate your detailed feedback, and we will be sure to use your comments as we make more renovations to our guest rooms and bathrooms next year. We are glad you enjoyed our location and you were able to explore the surrounding areas. We are also happy to hear that our conference facilities were excellent. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback we hope that if you are ever in San Francisco, you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

When you check in Staff at desk is very distance and not friendly. Don't expect a hell'o or welcome to Hilton how may I help you. I stay here on bussiness and it's always the same they just want to check you in and get rid of you. Rooms are nothing fancy. Basic somewhat clean. Beds are comfy. But the location is great. You can walk to Union Square, China Town, Fisherman Warf and all the shopping you could ever want. There is a startbucks and the staff is very nice there, To bad the front desk staff makes leaves such a bad impression. I work with the public and I would be addressing the problem. They make you feel bad to be a guest at the Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We apologize that you did not receive a warmer welcome upon arrival. Please accept our sincere apologies for the level of guest service you received from our staff. While we were experiencing a higher traffic period, every guest should experience the service they've come to expect from us. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our location while you were here. We hope you will give us another chance to offer authentic Hilton hospitality when you return to San Francisco. Thank you again for your comments. We will be sure to use them to improve upon our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived early, about mid-day. We had a reservation for a room with 2 queen beds. The room we reserved was not ready so the front desk clerk offered us a room on "a new floor that is very nice". The room had only 1 queen bed. I asked if there was a room with a king bed. He said it would cost an additional $20. I said if we give up a 2 queen bed room for a 1 queen bed room we should pay less. He said NO.
The room we got with 1 queen bed was so TINY- 10'3" X 15'6" ,so small!! (I always carry a tape measure)
The bathroom was sooo tiny too, the small apartment size sink had no counter around it (stand alone) and the toilet tank top had the tissue box on it. And while using the toilet it was hard to reach the toilet paper because it was hung so far back because of the double glass bathroom doors. There was no place to put my toothbrush or toothpaste or anything else.
I was so disappointed. :-((
I just could not believe how small the room was.

Room Tip: Swimmimg pool is in tower 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while staying at our hotel. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected and at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. We apologize for the inconvenience of having a different room than requested. We appreciate your feedback regarding our guest rooms and will be sure to use your comments as we make more renovations to our hotel next year. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a one week business meeting on mobile telecommunications in this hotel. At my arrival in my room, the toilet was recently used. Also few used glasses, placed by a customer close to his/her door, remained in the corridor for at least three days and nobody came to remove them. I called the front desk for this inconvenience and nothing has been done.

The group of people, here for the meeting, booked the restaurant for an apetizer to celebrate our 10th meeting. We paid each $30 for this. I arrived 10 minutes after the beginning, and there was no food anymore (there were a few canapés and cheese). We just had 3 small glasses of wine for that price.

Very disappointed indeed...

Room Tip: Small bathrooms. Need to put your toiletry on the WC cover...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environmental practices: bags for recycling, etc
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered in our hotel. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know that our guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our hallways and guest rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We are also very sorry for the negative experience you had with Urban Tavern. We hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you in the future. Thank you again for your comments, we hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.