We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer from just $179
Ranked #101 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Rartian, NJ
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very large hotel near Union Square and Market St shopping, cable cars and the Powell St transportation station. It's easy to navigate from here to almost anywhere you want to go and if you are taking a side trip to Napa as we did, all the rental car companies are right across the street. We were in a renovated room on the 18th floor of tower 3 and found it to be quite nice. True, the room was on the small side, but it is stylishly decorated and very efficiently laid out. Some folks have complained that the bathroom is too small, but I thought it was fine - there is less counter space than most hotels but all my stuff fit. My only complaint was it had this funny oblong sink to acommodate the narrow counter and the design was impractical. The room was very clean, well mantained and comfy. The staff was friendly and there is a Starbucks conveniently located in the lobby. We had a good stay and I think this is an excellent option for San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your review with us. We are glad you found our location to be easy to navigate from and that you felt our newer Tower 3 rooms were nice. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the bathroom sink in the room. We will use your comments as we move towards more renovations in the near future. We are glad our housekeeping staff maintained a clean room and you were comfortable throughout your stay. We are also thrilled that our staff was friendly and you found the Starbucks in the lobby to be convenient. Thank you again for your honest opinions, they are very important to us as we are always trying to improve our overall guest experience. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    2,123
    1,283
    433
    154
See reviews for
954
1,359
380
1,761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before reading this please know that I am a stickler when it comes to hotel rooms.

I stayed at on what the hotel calls the 'Hilton Honors Floor', which was newly renovated. The rooms although small are functional and try to utilize all the space provided. I had no issues with the quality of the rooms itself. I had a room on the 17 floor, which was one level above the pool and could open the sliding glass doors out to the pool.

The room was mostly clean but there were a few areas where housekeeping missed. When I arrived into the hotel, my bathroom still had some open shampoo bottles in the shower, which was not pleasant to see. On the second day when I arrived back into my room, they forgot to clean out the coffee machine, which left an old filter there all day. I did notice in the bathroom the shower mat hanging, which was not there the night before (example of hit/miss). .

Overall service was good and prompt. It is a massive hotel and the lobby feels that it is a bit like a train station. I am not sure I would stay there again for the price paid, since there were many other better rated hotels with lower rates. I would probably choose to stay at the Hilton in the financial district, which has larger rooms and had amazing views over SF Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your honest opinion about our hotel and your stay. We sincerely apologize for the level of service you received by our housekeeping staff. We are very sorry that there were a few areas that were overlooked. We have notified our housekeeping team and we will make sure that this does not happen in the future. We are glad that overall the service was prompt, but we apologize you felt our lobby was too busy. We invite you back to stay in one of our Skyline Bay View rooms to witness the views of San Francisco from our higher floors. We apologize for letting you down, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back with true Hilton hospitality. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Only thing to complain about was the overpriced Starbucks inside the hotel. Friendly staff made things great, hotel was clean, and the location is very accessible. Stayed for a conference and it was definitely a good pick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant experience, and the friendly staff helped make your stay more positive! We are excited that our hotel was clean and the location was convenient for your stay. We do apologize, however, that you felt the Starbucks was overpriced. We will look into our pricing and ensure that we are providing the most fair prices for all of our guests. Thank you very much for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KILDARE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very pleased with our stay at this Hotel in May 2013. We requested a room in a quiet location on a high floor and the Hotel facilitated our request. This Hotel is the largest we have ever stayed at I believe It has 2000 rooms . The only negative thing that we could be said about this Hotel is that it does have an anonymous feel to it given the number of people staying there . However all the Staff that we had contact with were very helpful and friendly. We had a room in Tower 3 and found it to be very comfortable and clean. We did not have a problem with the homeless people in the area near the Hotel we found that if we politely said no to their request for cash day they simply went away (some even saying thanks anyway). The homeless seem to be more prominent in San Francisco as compared to other US cities but should they Be confined to a Ghetto so as not to upset the sensibilities of tourists ? All in all ,we would be happy to stay at this particular Hilton Hotel again.Lastly there is a great little Breakfast Cafe directly across from the Taylor Street entrance to the hotel (don't let its appearance turn you off the food is GOOD).

Room Tip: Ask for 14th floor Tower 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your kind words about our hotel! We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us in May, and we are happy that we were able to accommodate for your request! We do apologize that you did not feel a personal touch during your stay as we do our best to provide the utmost friendly and warm service for all of our guests. We are excited that you had a comfortable, clean room in Tower 3. You have some great tips for your fellow travelers - thanks for sharing them with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Part of my bill was paid for due to work and we got a group discount for the other days that were vacation but I hear it is very expensive.
Anyway, like most fancy hotels that charge an arm and a leg, you DO NOT get free wifi, a refrigerator, or a microwave. You DO get a clean room and security inside the building. As you come to the hotel from the airport, you pass through scary town. Just watch and you will see what I mean.
Literally, when you decide to leave the sweet, secure Hilton, for an outing, you had better turn to the right and walk. Do not turn left and walk that way because you will witness drug deals and other nefarious things. By going to the right, you still see some characters, but there are more police, lots of tourists and plenty of fun things to do. We felt safe going right so don't let the left scare you- just don't go that way. Our conference was nice and they met our needs as far as staffing, food, room setup.
If I had it to do over again, we probably would have stayed in Sausalito during the vacation part of the trip and at the Hilton during the business part. But you can always do the ferry or rent a car for your excursions to Muir Woods (awesome) and Sausalito.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent trip. We are very happy that you had a clean room and you felt our security team was great. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the microwave and refrigerator. We do offer our guests these amenities for a small fee if you need them throughout your stay. We also offer complimentary WiFi in our lobby and the Urban Tavern restaurant, and in-room WiFi for a small daily fee. We are thrilled that our service teams were able to meet your needs in regards to staffing, food and room setup for your conference. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back again very soon! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Although union square is one of the most happening location, you might want to avoid the neighborhood due to a large number of homeless and street mongers wandering at all times making it unsafe to walk out. The hotel by itself is an excellent business hotel. The lobby is clad with free wifi users at all times. Amenities like swimming pool, hot tubs, fitness centre were state of the art.the breakfast had enough options for vegetarians complemented by excellent service. As a Hilton honor member we were given rooms in the new renovated tower 3

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments and feedback with us. We appreciate you choosing Hilton and being a loyal HHonors member. We are thrilled you found our hotel to be an excellent business hotel. We hope you had time to enjoy some of the amenities including the swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center and breakfast at Urban Tavern that you mentioned! We are very excited that you had such a positive experience with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My 10-year-old daughter and I stayed here on a Mom/Daughter special trip. The doormen were friendly, security made us feel safe and the concierge had a great recommendation for dinner. The check-in experience was fast and friendly as well. Only complaint was the discourteous neighbors down the hall lighting up copious amounts of weed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinions about your recent stay with your daughter! We are thrilled that our doormen, security and concierge teams were able to make your experience a positive one! We are glad the check-in as quick and efficient, too. We sincerely apologize for the discourteous neighbors down the hall. Next time, please let our security staff know and we will be sure to take care of that for you. We hope to welcome you and your daughter back to our hotel in the near future. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.