We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #108 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Big Rock, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference. Rooms were VERY small, but clean and comfortable. The hotel was very crowded with conference attendees, making lines for elevators. Staff was friendly and did their best to deal with the large crowds. The location is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay. We are always happy to hear guest feedback. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, but we apologize that you felt that they were small. We are also sorry that the hotel was crowded and that there was a longer wait time for elevators. We are thrilled that you felt our staff was friendly and that they did their best to accommodate for the large amount of people in our hotel. We are also excited that you enjoyed our location. We hope you were able to take advantage of some of the nearby shops, restaurants and attractions. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    1,963
    1,178
    390
    139
See reviews for
866
1,271
358
1,600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Always full of conventions it has quiet floors and some well appointed efficient new rooms. Hotel parking is very expensive but close by there are other in and out overnight affordable rates parking lots. Nothing is far in S.F.and the hotel is in a good spot.

Room Tip: We are Hilton Honors and got an honors room- did not see other rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: Hilton has many programs in place on their web site
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to have some quiet floors with well-appointed, efficient new rooms. We are also glad that you thought our hotel was in a good location. We hope you were able to explore some of the best nearby attractions, shops and restaurants that San Francisco has to offer. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent 6 days in San Francisco last week for a very large annual meeting and this hotel was amazing. It is an older property but well kept. The maid service was excellent and the food very good at both the conference events and the restaurant downstairs. The hotel is convenient to shopping and many downtown area sites by walking or a short taxi ride. Powell Street cable cars and the best shopping were just blocks away. I walked to China Town from the hotel.

The hotel was full, yet I still had the best of service. The room was cleaned very well and the staff responded quickly to all request. The staff was also very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Most people have said get into Tower 3. I had a very refurbished room in Tower 2 and did not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our hotel. We are very excited to hear that you had an overall great stay with us, and that you felt our property was well kept. We are glad the housekeeping staff did an excellent job in maintaining your room while you were here, too. It sounds like you had a great experience with the hotel staff, the event and the food in our hotel, and we are thrilled to hear it. We are also happy that you enjoyed our location and you were able to explore San Francisco's shopping, sites and restaurants nearby. We love that you had such a great experience with us, and that you received wonderful service. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon, for business or leisure! Thanks again for sharing your comments and tips with your fellow travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our experience was mostly very good. The hotel room was lovely--as was the lobby. There was a Starbucks in the lobby, which prevented us from having to take the time and money to eat in the hotel restaurant. The staff was very friendly with a couple of exceptions. The Consiglierge (there are several) I talked to was unfriendly and not very helpful. Also, there are no vending machines; so you must buy water and drinks in the gift shop at an escalated price. But overall, we were pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad you had an overall positive experience. We are happy you found the hotel room and the lobby to be lovely. We are glad you were able to enjoy some of the amenities including the Starbucks in the lobby. We are very happy that you found our staff to be friendly, but we apologize that you did not find the concierge to be just as helpful. We will bring it up with our concierge staff and ensure that we are providing the best service as possible to our guests. We also apologize that we did not have vending machines in our hotel when you were here. In fact, we are adding them to our hotel lobby, and they should be up and running in the near future. Thank you again for your feedback, it will only help us to improve our overall guest experience. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is fabulous. The location is right downtown San Francisco and the hotel itself is first class. We always like to explore a city in our own car, but the cable cars are just outside so leave your car at the hotel and go on an adventure. We hopped on a cable car, rode for awhile, and then got off wherever and explored.

Room service was prompt and the food was great. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: It only cost a few dollars to upgrade to one of the top floors when you check in. If there are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your past visit. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and that you were able to explore San Francisco by cable car! We are also thrilled that room service was prompt and the food was great. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay overall, and we cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Thank you again for sharing your comments, we always appreciate hearing guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Hilton on 333 O'Farrell St. The hotel was packed when I was there and seems to do good business. It is close to the tram stop and numerous fashion outlets with a large mall (Noordstrom) just a 5min walk away. The hotel breakfast buffet proved popular as there was a good 20min queue outside, but ended up being well worth the wait as there was a decent spread on offer with good service to boot.

TIP: Always turn right when exiting the hotel doors as a turn to the left gets you into downtown SanFran which does not seem to be the safest area after dark judging by the number of bums loitering in the streets.

Well done Hilton on a great hotel offering

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! It sounds like you enjoyed our location with the nearby shopping and restaurants! We are also glad you had a pleasant experience at the breakfast buffet at Urban Tavern, and that you found an array of breakfast food items. We are very happy that you had a positive stay with us, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon! Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there in March for a conference. Staff was great and rooms were clean and quiet. We asked for extra hangers and they brought them immediately. The breakfast buffet is AMAZING! There is enough food to satisfy everyone.

There is a very small work out area and two of the machines were broken.

It was a very short walk from the Train Station and Union Square.

Check in area is huge so the wait is not long even if the line is.

I am a Hiltons Honors member -- reminder to those of you that are - you can use your vouchers in the restaurant OR at Starbucks. If you choose Starbucks, you get ANY beverage you want - even the bottled ones - and a piece of fruit and a pastry of some kind.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any upgrades available that day - often there are but you need to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you thought our staff was great and your room was clean and quiet. We are thrilled that after requesting for extra hangers, they were brought up to your room immediately. It sounds like you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Urban Tavern, and it was a satisfying way start to your day! We sincerely apologize that there were two broken machines in the fitness center during your stay. We try to maintain the machines as best as we can so that we do not inconvenience our guests. We are glad the check-in process was quick, and well-staffed. Thank you for pointing out that our Hilton Honors members can use breakfast vouchers at Starbucks or for the Urban Tavern buffet for only $10 more. Thank you for sharing your great tips with your fellow travelers. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.