We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generic, conference auto pilot Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #108 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
british rover
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Generic, conference auto pilot Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, but so are many others nearby, the refurbished rooms are fine, but the sinks are tiny and wouldnt be comfortable for a longer stay as a couple. Everything is fine, its just another American beige themed hotel. Lobby gets crazy busy when there is an event on - like totally taken over - bad luck for other guests. Its like being on hotel auto-pilot staying there.

Room Tip: refurbished not old ones - floors 16-19 (tower 3) have pool views if you are looking for a top floor...
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling bags in each room for paper and cans is a very sweet idea
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and your recent stay. We are glad you found the location of our hotel to be good, but we apologize that you felt the sinks were too small and the room were uncomfortable for an extended stay. We will utilize your comments for our future renovations and increase the comfort level of our rooms. We appreciate your recent review and are very sorry we were not able to provide the level of comfort and service you have come to expect from our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback we hope that if you are ever in San Francisco in the future, you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    1,966
    1,180
    390
    139
See reviews for
867
1,272
358
1,604
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Good access from Bart station as well as SFO. Nice service for HHonors guest include check in, room upgrade, and breakfast upgrade option. I will recommend this hotel to those who visit San Francisco union square area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a nice review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you thought our location was great for taking BART and close to SFO. We are also thrilled that you found our service was nice for HHonors guests. We appreciate you choosing Hilton and choosing to participate in the HHonors program! It sounds like you enjoyed the room upgrade and the breakfast options, including the complimentary Starbucks breakfast, or a $10 upgrade for the breakfast buffet at Urban Tavern. We are glad you had an overall positive experience with us and cannot wait to welcome you back to San Francisco again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is my sixth year staying at this hotel for a conference. Had a wonderful time as usual. I very much like the location because when not at the conference, I had easy access to any form of transit within two blocks. As usual, the conference for me was a great success. Service at the hotel was great. The room was great and very clean.

Room Tip: If you are in need of having your Starbucks in the morning, I find the Starbucks in the lobby overpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience. We are very happy to hear you are a loyal traveler for your conference at our hotel. We are excited that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our location. We are thrilled your conference was a success and you felt the staff did a great job. We are also glad that you found your room to be very clean and great for your stay. It sounds like you had an overall positive experience and we cannot wait to welcome you again next time! Thanks again for providing your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little pricey, but it was really nice, comfortable, in a good location for the conference I attended and just a cable car's rude away from Fisherman's Wharf. I would stay here again and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate your recent review of our hotel. We are extremely happy that you found our hotel to be nice, comfortable and a great location for your conference. We hope you were able to experience some of San Francisco's great attractions including Fisherman's Wharf and China Town. Thank you again for your comments. We cannot wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great location to experience the heart of San Francisco. It is located close to shops and the convention center. It is easily accessible to the trolley and other forms of public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write such kind words about our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our location, with nearby, easy access to Moscone Center and other shops and restaurants. We hope you were able to enjoy the area while on your business trip! Thank you again for your feedback, we cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at Hilton from coast to coast. This is the worst property in the brand. Dilapidated rooms. Odd shaped double doors to the bathroom, old windows showing signs of oxidation, homeless people from San Francisco's Tenderloin wandering in the lobby without the Hilton security staff stopping them. Worst Hilton Honors breakfast in my experience. Staff who appeared unhappy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We always appreciate hearing guest feedback, especially ways in which we can improve our overall guest experience. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings on your stay. Your business is extremely important to us and I can assure you that your comments have been taken into consideration. In fact, we are looking at different options to expand the selection of our breakfast menu and for future hotel renovations options. We are also sorry that you felt the staff appeared unhappy and that you felt the security team was not doing their best. We will notify our staff and ensure that all of our guests feel safe and happy while at the hotel to truly create the best experience. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, we hope to get the opportunity to wow you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here with my two teenage boys in April 2013. The hotel lobby is huge and was filled with business folk giving it the impression more of a train station concource than a 4 star hotel. The room was clean and fairly spacious. Our view was of the multi-storey car park opposite - well I suppose they cant help that. The location is just off Union Square which was fine. All in all it was ok; pretty soulless. I don't think I'd stay there again unless I had to - not because there was anything bad, just because it was so uninspiring a hotel in what is a fantastic city. Shame

Room Tip: Ask for one with a decent view of Union Square if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your previous stay with us. We apologize that you felt as though the lobby was filled and did not feel very welcoming. We are very happy you thought the room was clean and spacious, but we are sorry you did not have an amazing view. We invite you to come back and stay in one of our City View rooms to enjoy the great views of San Francisco. We also apologize that we did not exceed your expectations throughout your stay, but we hope to get the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience about your stay, it will only help us to improve our overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.