We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer from $169
Ranked #104 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
michael30309
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was more of a 2 than 3. The gym was fantastic and so were the views from my room (good location). The elevator was quick for being on the 31st floor. However, I was unimpressed with almost every other aspect of the hotel.

Check in moved at a glacial pace. With only 2 people working the front desk, check in took 25 minutes. In spite of requesting a newly renovated room, I was placed on the "executive floor"--tower 1 floor 31. There was nothing executive about it. My room was tiny with a nice view. Everything seemed dated except for the TV. The mattress was semi comfortable but the pillows smelled really, really bad. The bathroom was small with a tiny tub. The shower curtain was a straight rod which caused the bodily fluid-stained curtain to constantly blow and stick to my body--absolutely disguisting! I could clearly hear loud teenagers in the room across the hall from me and the hallway smelled like weed the whole time. The only way to sleep was by wearing my noise canceling headphones.

The front desk ran out of Hhonors Diamond food coupons so I waited for 25 minutes to get a complimentary coffee and pastry. Not worth the wait considering there is another Starbucks a block away.

I was very unimpressed with the staff, especially the front desk. Other than the person who checked me in, the other front desk employees I encountered were not helpful.

There was too much wrong with this hotel to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. It seems like we fell short on your expectations and we apologize for that. We are happy however that you enjoyed the views from your room on the 31st floor and you were able to utilize our fitness center! We try our best to ensure that lines move quickly in check-in, but we are sorry this was not the case during your check-in. We invite you to stay in our newly renovated Tower 3 rooms to showcase the change and direction we wish to go in. We also apologize for the shortcomings in the room and bathroom, and the noisy neighbors that you had. In the future, please let our front desk know, and we are happy to try and help calm things down. We apologize that the line for Starbucks was long; for just $10 more per person, you can eat at the breakfast buffet in Urban Tavern. We strive for great customer service and apologize that we fell short in this department during your check-in. We will bring this up with the front desk office and let them know immediately. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to San Francisco in the future. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it will help us improve on our service and overall guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    894
    1,721
    1,004
    331
    114
See reviews for
739
1089
336
1380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location, right in the heart of Union Square. It was a very large hotel with a huge lobby. It had a Starbucks inside and a restaurant named Urban Tavern. Great view from our room. It was 2 blocks from Macy's and H&M. Also 2 blocks from BART. I visited a room in Tower 1 which was old and in desperate need of a renovation. However, my room in Tower 3 was newly renovated with modern décor. It was a decent size for a room in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square with family for 3 nights over XMAS in 2012. We had 2 rooms and were asked if we would like them close to each other. We were put on the same floor but not near each other. My sister had an interconnecting room next to 5 teenagers and had to ask to be moved as the noise was too much. It would make sense to give people an interconnecting room next to the people they are travelling with, not someone else's kids. The rooms are tired and the restaurant facilities are poor for a hotel this size. My mother is a Hilton Honors Gold member so we got breakfast included. Breakfast consisted of 2 vouchers for Starbucks. The line each morning was was very long and we forced to go back to the room to eat. I have stayed at many Hiltons and this one certainly isn't up to the Hilton standard. It was more like one of their budget chains. On the positive side the location was good as it was an easy walk to Union Square and the Westfield.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are always looking to improve, and your feedback will help us ensure that we provide the best guest experience. We apologize, it seems like we fell short on your expectations during your stay. We are sorry we could not accommodate for adjoining rooms, and that one of your neighbors was noisy. Please let us know and we will do our best to keep things in order. We also apologize for the long Starbucks line, we do our best to ensure the lines are as quick as possible, but we will bring this up with our staff. We would like to note that for $10 more per person you are able to eat at the breakfast buffet in Urban Tavern restaurant, in place of the Starbucks breakfast. We invite you back to stay in our newly renovated Tower 3 room so you can experience the change and direction we wish to head towards. Thank you for all of your comments, we will definitely use them to improve our services. We are glad you enjoyed our location, and we hope to get the chance to wow you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was tough to find a decent hotel at a good price. All hotels seemed expensive, but the Hilton was pretty good value in its price range.

The lineup for Starbucks every morning was insane!

We enjoyed the location for shopping and restaurants. To get to the wharf, we hopped in a cab which was pretty cheap.

I would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hilton and sharing feedback about your stay. We do our best to ensure that the lines for Starbucks are as quick as possible, and we are sorry that the lines were so long. We are excited that you felt our location was ideal - within walking distance to shops, dining and attractions. It sounds like you had a lovely trip to Fisherman's Wharf, and enjoyed San Francisco while you were here. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you and your friends back to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. Wide open and active lobby area with a bar and a Starbucks. The hotel is a series of towers. I stayed in the "recently renovated" Tower 3. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was very small to the point of being annoying. There was a shower stall (no room for a tub) and the sink is in a odd position with very little counter space. I'd rather stay at the St. Francis or the Marriott for the same rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are happy you were able to stay in our newly renovated room, and we appreciate your feedback. For future stays, we do have many different shapes and sizes of rooms in our hotel, including rooms with bathtubs. Please feel free to request one when you check-in and we would be happy to accommodate. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of our amenities, which we are glad to hear. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We hope to make it up to you on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place to stay. Have been here twice now, both times the property came through on HotWire. If you are willing to risk it, try Hotwire and select the Union Square location, you wil lmost likely get this at a discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, and for sharing your comments about your recent stay! We are thrilled to hear that both stays have been satisfactory! We hope you were able to enjoy the nearby shopping, dining and attractions. Thank you again for writing a review. We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy, Livorno
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is greatly located in the heart of san francisco, just a few minutes walking from the cable car which will take you to the seafront, to fisherman's wharf, to Lambard road. Our room was spacious and clean. The hall is huge. There is a small starbuck's in the hall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. Congratulations on getting married, and we wish you all the best. Thank you for choosing Hilton as your first stop on your honeymoon! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and got to experience the cable cars and Fisherman's Wharf. It also sounds like you were able to enjoy your room and the Starbucks in our lobby! Thank you again for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We hope you had the best honeymoon and we would love to welcome you back to San Francisco again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.