We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sept Sun from only $199
Ranked #101 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can't comment on value here, as the room was paid for by the company, though I'd have happily paid $150 a night.

This hotel is in a great central location, just a few minutes walk from Union Square. The rooms are clean and well appointed.

If you want a great American diner experiance for breakfast, then Lori's diner is just round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We are happy that you got to explore San Francisco while on your business trip. We are also very glad you found your room to be comfortable and clean. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay, and we are delighted to hear it! We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    1,773
    1,041
    337
    119
See reviews for
805
1130
340
1421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The room was small- I couldn't get by the bathroom door to the room door unless both of the bath room doors were closed , it lacked a second chair to sit in and enjoy the view of the SF Bay. Electric chords were on the floors in front of an adjoining door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and happy birthday! We appreciate you choosing Hilton for such a memorable event. We are very sorry you felt the rooms did not meet up to your expectations, and for the other in-room shortcomings. We are happy you had a great view of San Francisco during your stay, but we apologize for not having a second chair in the room to enjoy it from. Next time, please let us know and we would be happy to try and accommodate! We are thrilled to hear our staff was great during your birthday, since we always strive for a great guest experience. Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our overall room product. Thank you for sharing your comments and hope to make it up to you on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I tagged along on a business trip -- I spent time sight seeing and enjoying the hotel. It was definitely a very busy place, but the staff was friendly and helpful. We felt like our room was miles from the elevator, but all in all we enjoyed the room. It was comfortable and clean and a good bit larger than we expected.
Because the hotel has so many conventions, steer clear of the Starbucks in the lobby and walk a block down for your coffee. There are several options close by. It seems to be located in the center of everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience here at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square. We are glad to hear that you were able to spend some time sight seeing while on a business trip, and got to relax in our rooms. We are happy you found the room to be clean and comfortable, and bigger than expected! We apologize that the lobby and Starbucks were crowded, as we do our best to control the lines. Thank you for pointing out that our location is central - we are close by to many dining and shopping options! Thanks again for sharing your feedback, we would love to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Union Square on a weekend night with my kids. I believe we were upgraded to a room on a higher floor due to my being a Hilton Honors member. The expansive view from 43rd floor was spectacular, stretching from Coit Tower and the Trans America building and spanning the bay. We could see Union Square and it's Christmas tree all lit up from our room.

The room itself was spacious enough with comfortable bedding and a decent size bathroom. There was a desk and coffee maker in the room but no refrigerator. Adding a refrigerator would go a long way to increasing customer satisfaction in my opinion. The coffee maker in the room, like many in-room coffee makers is a single/double cup pod type machine, which made less than acceptable coffee. The alternative is to go downstairs and stand in the very long line at Starbucks which is located in the lobby. While it is very nice to have a Starbucks inside the hotel, they were clearly understaffed and the line moved at a snail's pace. My local Starbucks at home runs circles around this one. Even in late afternoon, with only two people in line, getting a cup of coffee takes longer than it should.

Free in-room internet access is only available to Hilton Honors gold members and above. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby, but I feel it is nickel and diming of Hilton to charge for in-room internet access, especially if they want to cater to business travelers.

Parking at the hotel is prohibitively expensive at $54 per day, which I think is just price gouging. And that was the self-park rate. The valet rate was even higher. I would recommend parking at any number of public garages within a two block radius to save anywhere from $20-30 per day. I'm not sure if it was an error on the part of the parking garage staff, but I parked at the O'Ferrell -Ellis Parking Garage for almost 24 hours and was only charged $16 when I exited. Typical rates at nearby garages are in the neighborhood of $25-35 per day. There are two parking garages directly across the street from the Hilton. Both were full when we checked in. The traffic around Union Square and the vicinity of the hotel was unbelievably crowded. If you can handle being without a car and don't have too much luggage, I would highly recommend parking at an outlying BART station and taking the BART in. The hotel is about 4 blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

You do need to be a little careful when walking around the area at night. If you head west and/or southwest (towards Market Street - that is, out the front door and to the left), you start wandering into the Tenderloin and it can be a little scary walking through the area, especially at night. Better to walk an extra block or two east (out the front door and to the right) towards Union Square and go around the long way to avoid the sketchy neighborhood.

The hotel is very conveniently located to Union Square, shops, restaurants, the cable car lines, and the Curran and Orpheum Theaters.

As previous reviewers mentioned, the lobby is often very busy, even late at night. Probably due in part to the lack of internet service in the rooms.

The room was clean. The bathroom fixtures looked like they will be due for replacing in the near future, but were just fine. I would consider this a good hotel, geared more for business travelers. There's evidence of aging, so I wouldn't say it's a luxury hotel and without a refrigerator, not the top of my list for family-friendly hotels.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review about your stay. You have some great tips to share with your fellow travelers. We are thrilled to hear you were able to the enjoy the lovely views form our 43rd floor! We do our best to ensure that the lines at Starbucks are running smoothly, but apologize that this was not the case during your stay. We are also sorry that there were no refrigerators, you can call our front desk and they would be happy to bring one up for a small nightly fee. We are glad you found the room to be clean, good sized and comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your comments, it will help us work to improve our guest experience and overall product. We hope to welcome you and your family back to San Francisco soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton Union Square is well located with nice rooms, but it comes at the price. While we were staying there were a couple of conferences going on and the 'break out' area is in the main lobby which makes it very busy for casual travellers like us, at times it was standing room only but hey it's a city hotel. Well looked after by staff who allowed us to have a late check out to work with our flight time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel, we really appreciate it! We apologize that you were here during a busy conference month, but we are delighted to hear that our staff was still very friendly and accommodating during your stay with us. We are excited that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time here in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon, and thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip back in November. Was a nice hotel that is close to Market St and can jump on the Trolley's to go to the Fisherman's Wharf. Service was great for how busy the hotel was. Only downside was the rooms are on the smaller side. But I would stay here again when I'm back in San Francisco as the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and were able to take the Trolley and explore Fisherman's Wharf! We are so glad our staff and service met your expectations, as we are always striving for a great guest experience. We apologize that the rooms felt small, but we do have many rooms in our hotel with different shapes and sizes. Thank you for choosing Hilton, we cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Firstly, the trend of Hilton's without executive lounges continues here. Continental Breakfast was provided but the server spilled coffee on my spouses phone and then orange juice on my iPad.

The shower or faucet seems like its running all the time... but wait that's your neighbors room. The shower ran either scolding hot or warm and I had to adjust it four times in one shower. Also, it has the old school shower curtain that does not bow, so be sure to wet the curtain down so you're not wearing it.

The extra blanket in the closet, when unfolded, had SEVERAL long hairs nested inside. Needless to say it hadn't been laundered. The room was small and an upgrade consists of simply a view.

At 2:30 in the morning several people in the hall woke us up with yelling, screaming and general drunkenness. Not sure how that group got through the lobby, but the hall smelled like pot when we left at 3:30 AM for a flight. The telltale joint end in the hall confirmed our suspicion.

I forgot to mention one last thing. Not two blocks from the hotel our cab driver told us that that particular area, a couple blocks from the hotel, was too dangerous to walk through.

The one positive was a decent patio with quite a view.

Room Tip: Pick a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_Hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to Hilton. The opinions of our guests mean so much to us, and we thank you for writing this review. We are truly sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry for the server who spilled coffee and orange juice, that should never happen! As for the other in-room shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. In regards to the blanket, next time please let our staff know and we would be happy to get you a new blanket. We take all feedback very seriously, and receiving this information will assist us in our continued effort to improve. However, we are extremely sorry that you experienced so much noise, and inconsistency with the in-room amenities. Our newly remodeled rooms in Tower 3 have improved noise reduction, but we are terribly sorry for the loud guests during your stay. Again, we are very apologetic for your shortcomings during your stay, but we are glad you enjoyed your room with a view. Thank you again for sharing your comments, we hope to have the opportunity to wow you on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.