We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HH Gold/Diamonds - Lower Your Expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #109 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“HH Gold/Diamonds - Lower Your Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed at the property for two nights while attending a conference across the street. This review is based on my experience as a HH Diamond and the amenities I received. 24 hours prior to my arrival, I checked in on-line. To my surprise, the hotel had pre-selected my room to a King Executive with Mini Bar. Great, now I don’t have to ask about an upgrade when I check in.

Location – Pro’s and Con’s. The hotel is centrally located to all the major shopping areas, and somewhat accessible to the highway. If you’re a single traveler, be careful walking outside on your own. I encountered several aggressive homeless people. Avoid Turk street.

Check in – This hotel has over 2000 rooms, as you can imagine, the queues can be long. There is a dedicated HH line and I had no wait in line. I was given coupons to use in the restaurant for continental breakfast and the usual complimentary Wi-Fi. The lobby looks like there is a tech conference going on. There is a large sitting/common area in the center of the lobby and everyone is on their ipad/iphone etc. It’s very busy and noisy. There is a Starbucks, and be prepared to wait. If you go out the front door, turn to your right and the end of the block, there is another Starbucks with no wait.

There are several different wings and elevators. Do make sure you take the correct one. I was in the tower where the HH members are located (so I was told) 32nd floor. As for the Executive room – well, I was not in an Executive room. I’ve stayed at Hilton’s as a Gold or Diamond for 8 years, and I know what an executive room is like. No water, slippers, robe, welcome amenity. In fact, not much of anything. The mini bar had blue painters tape on it in the shape of a big “X” – In other words – out of use. I would not have been irritated had I not been told I was upgraded to an executive room, but I was and my therefore my expectations were higher. Later on I spoke to the front desk and inquired about my room. I mentioned all the things that were missing in my executive room. The agent acknowledged that I was not in an executive room, those are located on the 42nd floor. I let her know that they falsely marketed the room to me. When I returned from dinner, I had bottle water and bath robes. Apparently several of the rooms have been updated, mine was not and it was quite dated. The bed was comfortable, the view was nice, and the shower pressure was good. Not much else.

HH Continental breakfast in the restaurant was wonderful. You could upgrade for $10 more for hot eggs –not worth it in my opinion as there was so much other food available as part of the continental. Also includes juice and coffee. You can also redeem your coupon at Starbucks, but not the better value here.

NO EXECUTIVE LOUNGE at this property.

I did valet park my car at $50 per day. Steep, but comparable to other properties. The valet attendants were extremely helpful and polite. They provided clear directions to get back on the highway.

Hilton Management – Please correct and properly market the room type on the website. Don’t falsely market the room as an upgrade when clearly it’s not. Given the choice, I would not return to this property again. I would look for a smaller property with staff that can provide more personal service. It’s kind of hard to do that here with the amount of rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    1,975
    1,184
    391
    140
See reviews for
869
1,278
358
1,612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the high level of customer service at this hotel and the features it offered. The have a massive lobby that is always buzzing with activity and makes you feel energetic and ready to get going at whatever you are in San Francisco for. They offer safe and secure on-site parking along with a Starbucks, restaurant and always lively bar right at the lobby. The staff was extra helpful and vert detailed in explaining how get to your room, around town or with any room adjustments or changes.

You could tell that they are used to receiving lots of guests and are about getting your repeat business. I was worried as to how I would be received since we booked through Hotwire, but the staff made me feel like I was an elite frequent traveller with them from the start. I am also a very loyal Marriott user so I was worried about Hilton delivering. I really appreciated their proximity to many of the major attractions and sights in San Francisco. I am used to walking a lot when I visit there but didn't have to do that so much this time. All in all, this visit really made me more enthusiastic about using Hilton hotels in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you want two queen beds if you are 3 or more people, because they default to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good location in the heart of San Francisco! Walking distance to union square. The room was acceptable, however I was surprised that there wasn't a bar fridge in the room. This is a conference hotel, so there is always chaos in reception plus the fact that their was a Starbuck.. not sure if this is a good or bad thing! I read reviews regarding delays in check-ins prior to booking here, I didn't have any problems and found the concierge team to be very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed three nights in a junior suite in Tower 1 at the Hilton Union Square hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is convenient to shopping and a number of very good restaurants. The staff was friendly and went out of their to ensure that our questions were answered and our stay was pleasant. Our room was spacious with a fantastic bay view. The bed was very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was also exceptional. The hotel was packed because of a convention, but we never waited long for an elevator or heard anyone in the halls or in the rooms next to us. There was also a safe in the room which came in quite handy. Security was always visible (a must for me at any hotel). Finally, kudos to the doormen and to Maria at the front desk. They are exceptional! I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My bag was stolen when I had a breakfast on October4,2012 but in dining room it had no camera, it had cameras at Lobby. When I called hotel's security staffs to inform this incident, the hotel's security staffs are not helpful and ignored to see the camera at Lobby. I waited for so long time and explained to him after that he re-played the video but he didn't intend to see the camera. Moreover, he didn't call the police. He let me wait at my room again and I waited for so long time, it passed 1 hour and the hotel's security staffs didn't do anything. After that I had to call the police by myself. When the San Francisco police came, I told information and the police created a case & record. For 4 stars hotel as Hilton, but it has no security control enough and the hotel's security staffs are not helpful and no any action. Very disappointed in this hotel services and security control.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience during your recent stay. We appreciate how quickly you brought this issue to our attention allowing us to follow up with our security department ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. Our guest security and safety is of utmost importance to all of us. We will review all of the detail that you have shared so that we can be sure we are taking every precaution to ensure the safety of all our guests. If I can assist you further, please let me know. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKHAM
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am a Hilton Diamond Member and usually love most Hiltons. This one did not measure up! The lobby is utlitarian and has many obviously non-hotel guests sitting around. The service was attentive and pleasant, but cannot overcome the negatives. One A Tower elevator was out of commission for more than a day, and a foul odor was present around it. There is no lounge (we were told that this was for our convenience!!!!). The breakfast lineup at Starbucks was 20 minutes, the sit down restaurant longer. Rooms - blah. By the way, location is NOT on Union Square - it is several blocks, and many homeless panhandlers, away.

Room Tip: Choose the other Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Director of Sales at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience from your recent stay. We apologize we did not live up to your expectations. While we are glad to hear about the pleasant level of service, we regret the property did not meet your needs. Your feedback will assist us in working to improve our hotel facility, service, and overall guest experience. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a conference. It seemed overpriced to me at $218 per night but I know San Francisco is pricey. It was OK but nothing special in any way. It literally takes up an entire city block. The room was small but adequate. The staff was friendly though they could have warned us to be careful when exiting through the Taylor Street door. One morning, I stepped out onto Taylor Street and went left toward Market Street which was two blocks away. As I was approaching Market Street, a woman flew out of nowhere and shoved me, screaming at me to stop following her. I was stunned and she clearly was getting ready to hit me again when a guy saw her and quickly pulled her off of me. Even though I got away, she followed me to Market Street and was still yelling at me, so I ducked into a high end store and got away from her. I mentioned the incident later, in passing, to a hotel security guard and he immediately said, "Oh yeah, you always want to use the O'Farrell Street exit and turn left. That way, you'll stay in the safe tourist area." Well, it would have been nice to be told that while we were checking in, not after I'd been assaulted only 1.5 blocks from the hotel.

By the way, because of the size of the hotel, housekeeping starts cleaning rooms early so hang the "Do Not Disturb" sign out the night before if you're not an early riser.

One good thing about the hotel was the Starbucks located inside the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.