We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but not ideal location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #108 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient but not ideal location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The Hilton is definitely convenient to Times Square and the BART, but first-time visitors need to be aware it's very close to the Tenderloin. Once you're oriented, you'll find it's a short stroll to the Square or to Moscone or even down Market to the Ferry Building. The hotel itself is a pretty standard convention hotel. Some of the rooms with the nicest views are very tiny, but it is wonderful to wake up to a view of the Golden Gate or the Bay Bridge.

Because of its size and the number of conventions at either the hotel or at Moscone, the hotel undergoes frequent renovations. It appears the hotel is finally redoing the section that used to hold a variety of shops and restaurants. Be sure to ask where the noise of renovations will be lowest when you select a room.

Room Tip: Building one is very quiet, but many of the rooms are tiny. Be sure to prioritize space versus peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited about the renovations, and hope you will be back in the spring to see it. Our location is very convenient to all of the cities attractions, whether walking to Union Square, the Ferry Building, or attending a conference at Moscone Center. We are also very close to all the public transportation, so it is easy to get to other site seeing destinations. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Bridge each morning! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    1,975
    1,182
    391
    140
See reviews for
869
1,277
358
1,611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have stayed at the Hilton at Union Square for 6 years in a row at the holiday season. The whole staff from the front desk to housekeeping are superb,thoughtful and genuinely friendly. The lobby atmosphere is classy and reflects a sense of exciting activity. The hotel from top to bottom is immaculate.The room has always been very clean and the beds are quite excellent.I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is great just 3 blocks from Union Square, Macy's, the Cheesecake Factory and all of the other wonderful stores.I would like to mention Peter Hart the front desk manager, Brian Carlisle also a supervisor, and Blanca, a very dear housekeeper that always goes the extra mile!!! Thank you all for making our stays there SO SPECIAL!!! It means so much to our family to know each time we go there it will be great!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Of course these are the stories we love to hear! Thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience. The reason that we are all in this business is to provide our guests with these types of memories. We sincerely thank you for your continued loyalty and hope to be a part of your holiday season for years to come. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

Its a functional / large hotel. Old in places but the rooms are clean and it's good value for money.

Located on the edge of the dodgy part of town but as long as you stay on the time square side you are all good.

Lobby busy with people but the staff are efficient and friendly who are always happy to help.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for writing this review. We are so happy that you felt our staff to be cheerful and helpful! Our location is ideal for shopping and site seeing, but as is the case in many cities, you do have to be aware of your surroundings. Thank you for pointing out the value of your stay, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Being a Diamond Hilton member I wanted this hotel to be nice. The employees are exceptional. The property, however is dated. They are doing renovations on one of the three towers- which should be completed in late spring. In the meantime the rooms look like they are worn and very dated. We had a scale in the bathroom that was so well-worn it looked like it belonged in a youth hostel.

The area of the hotel is excellent. Yes the Tenderloin backs up to it- but the hotel is situated so that you may never venture to that side of the building.

Would I stay here again? Only if the renovations were complete. Otherwise there are cooler, modern hotels in San Francisco that I would stay at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty as a Hilton Honors Diamond member. We appreciate the feedback from our guests, and use it to improve our product & service. We are very happy to hear that you felt the service to be exceptional; our staff are seasoned professionals with great personality! We are putting about 51 million into the renovations and hope that you will return to see the results. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel and it was perfect. The room wasn't huge, but we basically just needed it to sleep and shower. But it was very clean! We stayed on the 23rd floor in tower 1, which had a lovely view of the city. The staff were very nice and helpful. I read a lot of the reviews here about the neighborhood- as long as you go to the right out of the hotel, you are perfectly fine. It's your typical big city. It was a perfect location for us because we had family who lives in the city about 5 blocks from the hotel, so we were able to walk/cable car everywhere we needed to go. If we go back, I would certainly stay here again.
The only real problem we had was on Saturday night of our stay, someone on our floor was having a party in their room and every time their room door opened, we could hear them!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
We are so sorry to hear about the noise on your floor. I hope that you reported it to the front desk; we also prefer that people do not party in the rooms and disturb our other guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from you room, as well as the convenience of our location. Thank you for acknowledging our helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next family visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We booked three weeks in an executive room - were on 43rd floor. wonderful view, wonderful room and worth every extra dollar. we tried to make most of the early evening cocktail canapes and drinks and the staff were amazing with our young daughter age 6 - they mixed her special cocktails etc.
overall a lovely experience and one we plan to repeat

Room Tip: Pay extra for the higher floors!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you very much for the review of our hotel & staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel is very nice and is right in the heart of the city. Walking distance or just a short drive to everything. The only downside is that it is in need of renovation on upper floors but they are in the middle of renovating which I am very glad for. So if you stay at this hotel you need to sacrifice a little to get a view, but even the unrenovated rooms are still nice so your not losing a whole lot. Room service is very expensive so just go out and save some money. Sears is also a good place to eat in Union Square. So I would say this is normal for a large hotel chain.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly_hilton, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. As you noted, we are undergoing a renovation which will update our hotel and have a more modern look. Our hotel is in a very good location for site seeing and using public transportation. Sear Fine Foods has been open in Union Square since 1938, and is famous for its Swedish pancakes. Definitely a great place to eat while you are here! Thank you again for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Union Square

Address: 333 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is within walking distance to all the excitement of the Bay Area. Whether you're on business or vacation, there's something for everyone in the heart of the city! Among downtown San Francisco hotels, no other destination matches our blend of style, service, and setting. Find yourself within walking distance to famous neighborhoods like Chinatown and Nob Hill, the iconic Cable Cars, fabulous shopping, and dining all located in the heart of the theater district. Our dynamic Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel features splendid resort-style touches – a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool perched atop the lush 16th floor deck, and delicious dining at the stylish Urban Tavern Restaurant. For corporate guests, we offer over 134,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting facilities, where the Bay views are stunning and the service flawless. With its history and grandeur, the Hilton San Francisco Union Square hotel offers everything you need for extraordinary business trips or vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.