We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Civic Center to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   860 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #204 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went here for one night. They don't have enough parking spots for how many rooms they have. Rooms were clean but not as pictured of course. Shower kept fluxuating water pressure and temperature. TV is small and picture smaller. Free wi-fi didnt work. But other than that got a goods nights sleep and you get what you pay for in San Francisco as always.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    36
    21
    42
See reviews for
21
30
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are just looking for a place to sleep with a lock on the door, this will do. On the surface it looks pretty clean but again, rule number one in a place that is priced comparatively very low compared to other offerings in the area is that you don't scrutinize cleanliness. I think the price draws some of the younger people to the hotel so maybe anticipate drunk men and women running back and forth laughing and screaming, slaming doors, late at night. This was our experience at least. But when you are on a budget and need a relatively close location and a place with a lock on the door at night, this place works just fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

If all you're looking for is a clean place to stay and sleep for the night, this fits the bill. It's nothing to write home about, but the space is clean and the staff is extremely friendly. We accidentally under-booked our stay one night (our fault, not theirs). The cleaning staff treated all of our belongings with respect as they emptied our room - nothing missing, nothing damaged. When we got back in the evening to discover our error, they offered us a new room (the only one they had left for the night) for the same rate we had before, even though it was a double and we paid the rate for a single.

Staff friendliness aside, the location doesn't suck. A quick hop on the 47 gets you to the piers in no time, and it's about a fifty minute walk - not a bad one! Can't beat the free parking. Building is secure - must have a key card to access the rooms. Free wifi functions effectively as free wifi - gets the job done. A little slow, but for free, I'm not complaining!

Only cons: towels. Please, RRI, get this location some new towels.

Room Tip: The privacy/lighting in the rooms facing Eddy St (or at least, the one we had - 203) leaves somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Good neighborhood. Clean. Nice tv, heater. Clean and free parking. Tub and smells good. Paid $65 on Priceline....whoever is complaining needs therapy. Guy at counter is friendly and said live music is within walking distance. We wanted a quick, affordable SF fix. Free wifi. Come on you nay-Sayers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel meets all your basic needs, is clean and well put together and offers everything you need for a comfy stay, however the location is a bit odd. It's in an area where I wouldn't recommend walking around by yourself at night. I was with friends, so we did venture out, however there are always people hanging around on the streets trying to start fights with each other.

So if you are fine with being in an odd location and being fairly central to things, this is an ideal hotel. Just keep it in mind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a clean decent place to stay while attending a conference at St Mary's. We walked to and from the cathedral and had no problems and were never uncomfortable with the people around us. The only complaint is the parking is VERY limited. We drove out to dinner on our second night and there were no parking spaces when we returned. Be sure to park on a side street if this happens to you, not Van Ness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nightmare city. The room was NASTY with dirty, stained floors and holes in the carpet. Furniture upholstery was stained and the bedspread and pillow 'throws' were stained with who knows what. Undefined hair of some kind on the sheets and the toilet had urine and toilet paper in it when I checked in. No parking available and had to park on the street. Informed that we would have to get up before 7:00AM and move our rent car to an available spot in the site parking garage to avoid a ticket, if there WAS a spot available. The motel/hotel room was like a cell at Alcatraz and if it had not been for the fact that I had to pre-pay for the room, and the late hour at which I had to check in, I would have asked for a re-fund and looked elsewhere. We slept in our clothes.

Room Tip: Avoid this one like a plaque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Address: 860 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Civic Hotel San Francisco
Rodeway Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.