We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Opal San Francisco to your Saves list
The Opal San Francisco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I returned from staying at the Opal about two - three weeks ago. While we enjoyed the cost, location and staff, we developed small bites (only a few) and attributed it to Mosquitos or dry skin. Unfortunately since returning it is now clear (with a mattress that's only a few months old) that we have a full blown bed bugs invasion since our stay there. It will cost several thousand to fix which far outweighs any cost savings obtained by staying there. Never written a review before, but I feel this is an important piece of information to share.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    364
    190
    55
    49
See reviews for
158
228
66
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location of the hotel is best and public transportation is easily available. Hotel is clean but no very spacious. There is no free parking, it cost $70 for 2 days parking. Breakfast is free and perfect. There was no coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a few nights in October, and it was a perfect central location for exploring the city, and we would probably stay there again. It was pretty reasonably priced through Orbitz.

Pros

Location: Although we could've easily accessed the public bus system from there, we ended up walking everywhere. We walked to the wharf a couple of times, Chinatown, Little Italy, the Palace of Fine Arts, Union Square, and more. I couldn't have done it in sandals or heels, but the distances were manageable in tennis shoes. We were advised to avoid the nearby Tenderloin area at night. My advice would be to be on alert everywhere at night just because of the number of homeless people and crazies. On our last night there, we had a group of people asking us for change for a dollar, and we said we had no cash. I just had a feeling as soon as we pulled out our wallets, things would turn ugly. I didn't even carry a wallet or cash.... I just had my ID, credit card, and cell phone in a small cross-body purse, which I could also hold on to if need be. I was probably being overly-cautious, but I don't want to be an easy target.

Restaurants: There were TONS of places to eat within walking distance of the hotel if you're willing to walk about a mile each way.... which is the perfect justification for pigging out anyway, right? We often walked to one place for dinner and walked somewhere else for dessert just to have more places to try.

Safety: We felt pretty safe there. You have to have a key card just to get in the front door unless they buzz you in. You also have to have a remote for the garage parking.

Amenities: There was free wi-fi in the rooms, but it was on the slow side. Room service from the restaurant next door was pretty good (think dessert!) if you're into that. We made use of the washer and dryer before leaving town as well.

Other: It was a pretty unique hotel compared to the big chains that are everywhere now. Check out the tiny spiral carpeted staircases adjacent to the elevators and you will understand what I mean. Just watch your head though.

Cons

Expensive Parking: This is really just a 'given' anywhere in San Francisco, but don't forget to account for the outrageous parking charges when planning where to stay if you have a car. It can really add up.

Breakfast: The staff made it sound like it was going to be a real breakfast buffet, but in reality it was basically just a continental breakfast. If you are on any type of diet, you probably will be disappointed. Everything was either loaded with sugar and wheat or highly processed. (mainly waffles, muffins, bagels, and sugary cereal) I didn't see any fresh fruit options at all, but maybe they have them sometimes. The eating space is inadequate. It was the size of a break room, so people were sitting all over the lobby or taking plates back to there rooms. Some people were even napping in the chairs after eating and reading the newspaper lol

Other: There are some things that could be renovated... the nasty old carpet in the hallways for one. There is sort of a musty smell throughout the place. The rooms were clean, but a few updates would definitely help. Also, if you stay near the elevators, the noise might be annoying.

Overall, for the price and the (minimal) amount of time we actually spent in our room, it was the right choice for our stay. I recommend it to others as long as you don't expect luxury!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decent hotel, conveniently located in the center of San Francisco. Room is clean and spacious, wifi works well and breakfast is more then adequate. The restaurant inside the hotel serves good food and is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyF-OpalGM, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Daan M,

Thank you for your honest feedback and positive rating of our hotel. We do our best to continuously offer high quality and comfortable accommodations, a friendly staff to serve you, and all at a highly competitive, very reasonable rates.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Tony Fernandez
Opal Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was good cause we could walk to the city center, it was not that far away if you are used to walking. But the hotel was old, and cause it was old furnished it did not seem clean. The bed was big, the TV working, the bathroom with a bathtub but very cold. The view to an abondoned building. There are a lot of homeless people in SF so it was not a new issue for the hotel area. The breakfast includes bread, egg, croissant, jam and orange juice so very .
And don't rent car from the hotel, there are rental car offices in walking distance and they asked us to pay additional 200 USD for leaving the car in Los Angeles but at the rental office we did find a car without having this additional charge.
The hotel was dissappointing for me. I would not choose it, pay a little bit more and find another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was traveling on business to SF and my company wasn't reimbursing me for the trip so I was looking for a low cost hotel option. The Opal fit the bill! This was my first time to SF so I relied heavily on the comments from this site and the comments were favorable. I had a room with a king sized bed on the 5th floor. The room was big enough and the bed was comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The floor was quiet. He front desk staff was incredibly accommodating. My only negative comment would be the location. The hotel borders the Tenderloin district which leaves much to be desired but it was not a factor because across the street there was a wonderful neighborhood. I never felt unsafe though. Thanks for a great stay. For the price, this place is a steal!

Room Tip: Get a room off of Van Ness because the car traffic can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we checked in the staff member was frosty faced and we were obviously a bore and a chore, but on other occasions the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet, had a queen bed and space for suitcases. The bathroom was clean with nice towels, soaps etc. There was no fridge, but ice in a machine in the hallway, no coffee or tea making in room, but plenty available in the foyer. Free Wifi was good. Good location and Mel's Diner on the premises was great. Easy walking to town. OK, some of the street people looked a little dodgy, but didn't worry us. If you want chocs on the pillows, a doorman etc don't go to this hotel. But if you want a reasonably priced clean hotel, this is good. Free breakfast also. - Not a huge buffet on china plates, but juice, yogurt, fruit, boiled eggs, pastries, waffles, toast, bagels, tea coffee.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyF-OpalGM, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear HebH

Thank you for choosing The Opal during your recent trip to San Francisco. We are grateful for your feedback and positive rating.However I was disappointed to learn that you were greeted with such frosty faces upon check in. Definitely not our best side ever to present, especially when you're first getting here. We'll work on a more genuine welcoming demeanor with our Guest Service Team to improve on expressing our sincere welcome and delight of having you stay with us.

Please do come visit us again. We're happy to have you.

Best regards,

Tony Fernandez
Opal General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include a computer station, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request), and self parking (subject to charges) is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opal San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.