We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for large families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Opal San Francisco to your Saves list
The Opal San Francisco
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great base for large families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have 6 of us and could fit in there suite! It was tight but worked well as you spend little time in the room in SF. We found the hotel in a good location near bus stop out front which takes you to all the sights. THe breakfast is very basic but gives you some thing to start the day with kids. Parking is cheaper around the crn at the cinema lot so if you are parking try that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Spot on! Thank you for the response.

Please keep in mind that 6 is the maximum we can fit on our largest rooms. Our rooms vary quite greatly in size and shape so I want to stress that only a few of our rooms can fit such large parties. That being said, we are very glad to provide a launching point for your vacation. We definitely support spending as little time as possible in the hotel room. Not because we don't want you there of course! But there is just so much to do in this city that you need to be out there as much as you can.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    391
    206
    57
    54
See reviews for
168
250
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at this property during our recent trip down the west coast of the USA and found it to be pleasant while not outstanding.
The rooms are a little cramped and the area set aside for breakfast is totally inadequate to cater for the number of guests who are forced to overflow into the Lobby area. During the evenings it pays to keep to the main roads as there are numerous homeless persons loitering in the side streets and a cashed up tourist might be a little tempting.
The up side is that the rooms are clean and functional and the staff are very friendly and helpful. If you are watching your budget then this place ticks all the boxes.
Also, straight, across the street,.is a restaurant called Tommy's Joynt which offers some of the best and cheapest food and drinks in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the response!

We are glad that you enjoyed our charming little property. I completely understand your issue with our breakfast, as one of the only properties in the city that provides free breakfast; and possibly the only one that does in our price range, we definitely have a lot of demand for breakfast. It really is just supposed to be a quick stop and go option and people who want something more substantial can stop by Mel's which is right next to our lobby!

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with my wife during our visit to San Francisco. The room was decently sized with a king-sized bed. Room was a bit musty smelling, but I guess that's what you get when the building is old.

Breakfast that's included isn't anything amazing, simply some bagels, a small muffin and some fruit. But in a pinch it'll do and can tide you over until you get brunch elsewhere.

Neighborhood isn't the greatest, but it isn't terrible either and for the price I'm not sure if it can be beat. Staff was very pleasant and if you want a decent cheap hotel in downtown SF then pick The Opal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the response!

I try not to pretend to be anything we are not in these responses and you really accurately described our hotel. We are an older property, but we provide a clean room and excellent service for a price that you will rarely find in the city.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

While this hotel is not in the greatest part of town, edge of the Tenderloin, it is quite charming. We had a room with two queen beds that also included a sitting area with chair and couch. Bathroom was large with a lovely skylight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay! We will see you again soon, I hope.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You'll not that despite my less positive second-half of my title, i STILL gave The Opal four stars. That is because DESPITE their surroundings, its a really nice, comfortable, clean place to stay. When we walked in to our room I got a little nervous...the windows were open and it was hot and LOUD. Thankfully though, they have already spotted this during some renovation (which much have been fairly recent due to how modern all the fixtures and windows, etc. were). The windows were double-paned glass and they quite successfully shut out the noises down below. Our room had a comfy flat bed, albeit with sort of flat, crappy pillows, and nice flat screen. Shower and sink, etc were all nice and clean, plenty of space, yada yada. I saw of lot of reviews talking about the breakfast...let me tell you, it was not that great. We passed the whole time we were there (and made the MISTAKE of eating at Mel's one morning...dont fall for it) and opted for fresh, hot local breakfast instead. I would stay here, but the neighborhood sucks. Its central, but there are streets covered with piss and bums EVERWHERE. For the steep price ($160 a night) I will most likely try to find something comparable in a nicer area next time I visit SF.

Room Tip: Ask to be high up...its on a busy street and I would not want to hear that street traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review!

I love to see reviews where we optimize everything that we can control. Our neighborhood is definitely not the best, but it is getting better. We have a new hospital going in right next door which is going to really revitalize the area, we are very excited. Our breakfast, as I typically mention, is just meant for a quick grab and go out the door. I am sorry that you didn't like Mel's all that much, I actually eat there all the time and haven't gotten sick of it yet, but I understand different tastes. Luckily, we have TONS of other food options in the area. Tommy's Joint is across the street and Brenda's cajun comfort food is just a few blocks away, plus we have tons of Thai, Vietnamese, and even Turkish nearby!

Best,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is a bit old and rustic, but it's location and customer service more than make up for it. The hotel is comfortable and provides a continental breakfast (perfect to grab a quick bite and head out). It's centrally located to most major tourist attractions and it's comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review!

Great to hear good things about the hotel. I am very glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My daughter and I visited on Labor Day weekend and were able to walk to all the major attractions and avoid all sorts of transportation logjams including the trolley. Parking was nearby and only $25 since I was wiling to leave it parked until ready to leave. Hotel desk staff were wonderfully helpful with advice. Room was 'old hotel' but clean and comfortable, and our requested 'quiet location' actually was.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIerk D, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the response!

Great review, for clarity's sake I will explain our parking a little bit again. We have parking on site for $30 plus tax. This actually may change soon as we might be going to seasonal pricing, but currently we are at this price point. There is a parking garage next door that is slightly cheaper, but does not allow you to take your car in and out (our garage DOES have in and out privileges). We do not always have enough parking for all of our guests and provide it on a first come first serve basis. After we sell out, we direct people to the parking garage.

I know we get lots of questions on this so I always like to mention it.

Best Regards,

Dierk Demers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include a computer station, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request), and self parking (subject to charges) is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opal San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.