We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Redwood Inn to your Saves list
Redwood Inn
1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Collie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On our arrival the Manager was so friendly. Put us in room 45 on the 4th floor away from the noise. The room is good with a nice bed and fridge and microwave. Bathroom is very small but it's clean so all good. Hotel is close to some restaurants and right across the road from a bus stop. This is great so it's not far to walk. The staff are pleasant and if you need anything will get it for you. They have free donuts in the office every morning, but be quick as they go fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    169
    68
    10
    10
See reviews for
77
148
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Finding lodging at decent price on thje 4th of July weekend is never going to be easy but we ended up staying at this motel. It was relatively expensive, but taking into account its convenient location and the date it was pretty ok. Nothing specially good, but nothing especielly bad either.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel was perfect for what we were looking for. The staff was excellent! The rooms were simple but great! The location was perfect! The donuts in the morning was a nice touch. Mae was an excellent employee! She was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We found prices high in the San Francisco area so were quite pleased to find the Redwood Inn in a prime location on Lombard Street (just a few steep blocks from the crookedest street) with parking included. We left our car there and walked to Fisherman's Wharf and took the bus/train to the ball game. The room was very basic but clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. They only offer donuts in the morning but there is a cute reasonable café just a block away so we had our breakfasts there. The neighborhood has a nice safe residential feel with pastel colored homes to admire. For the price, it was great value and we found a better price on the motel's own website than on the major travel sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is great value for San Francisco. Its located within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and has parking included in the price so were were able to park our vehicle and explore the city on foot/public transit. The rooms were clean and comfortable plus there was free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Wi Fi was good. The hotel is located within walking distance of Fishermans Wharf. The car parking is good, and the area feels safe. You can walk up a steep hill which gets you to the cable car for an easy ride into Union Place.

Room Tip: Had a room on fourth floor which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Ca
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The primary reason we selected this hotel was for its reasonable price and previously positive reviews. It had a good location and was what we expected, which was positive. The room was clean, nothing special, but nothing alarming. The location and parking were great allowing us to leave our vehicle and walk to the local restaurants and bars and see a show at the Davie's Symphony. The negative I remember was the horrible shower head which felt like I couldn't actually get anything wet that I wanted to wash. The most notable positive is that I slept the night through in peace and quiet. Of note, although there was a kitchen in the room, there were no plates, pots or pans or forks knives etc that I could find in the cabinets. Bring your own if you plan on cooking, or perhaps call ahead. Maybe they're available for loan. The staff at the counter was very helpful and pleasant. When we walked in late at night we were noticed and greeted with a wave which lent to a feeling of safety and oversight. If you just need a place to sleep, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.