We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Redwood Inn to your Saves list
Redwood Inn
1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel was perfect for what we were looking for. The staff was excellent! The rooms were simple but great! The location was perfect! The donuts in the morning was a nice touch. Mae was an excellent employee! She was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    163
    60
    10
    9
See reviews for
73
141
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We found prices high in the San Francisco area so were quite pleased to find the Redwood Inn in a prime location on Lombard Street (just a few steep blocks from the crookedest street) with parking included. We left our car there and walked to Fisherman's Wharf and took the bus/train to the ball game. The room was very basic but clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. They only offer donuts in the morning but there is a cute reasonable café just a block away so we had our breakfasts there. The neighborhood has a nice safe residential feel with pastel colored homes to admire. For the price, it was great value and we found a better price on the motel's own website than on the major travel sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is great value for San Francisco. Its located within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and has parking included in the price so were were able to park our vehicle and explore the city on foot/public transit. The rooms were clean and comfortable plus there was free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of space. Wi Fi was good. The hotel is located within walking distance of Fishermans Wharf. The car parking is good, and the area feels safe. You can walk up a steep hill which gets you to the cable car for an easy ride into Union Place.

Room Tip: Had a room on fourth floor which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Ca
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The primary reason we selected this hotel was for its reasonable price and previously positive reviews. It had a good location and was what we expected, which was positive. The room was clean, nothing special, but nothing alarming. The location and parking were great allowing us to leave our vehicle and walk to the local restaurants and bars and see a show at the Davie's Symphony. The negative I remember was the horrible shower head which felt like I couldn't actually get anything wet that I wanted to wash. The most notable positive is that I slept the night through in peace and quiet. Of note, although there was a kitchen in the room, there were no plates, pots or pans or forks knives etc that I could find in the cabinets. Bring your own if you plan on cooking, or perhaps call ahead. Maybe they're available for loan. The staff at the counter was very helpful and pleasant. When we walked in late at night we were noticed and greeted with a wave which lent to a feeling of safety and oversight. If you just need a place to sleep, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stumbled across the Redwood as we drove into San Francisco, we've been travelling across the States for some weeks and this was one of the most friendly,helpful hotels we've come across
The owners were so helpful and there knowledge of how best to see the City was great, nothing was too much trouble
Thank you for making our stay memorable
John & Nikki

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A decent hotel which is close enough to the waterfront to walk. Heavy traffic goes right by day and night, and the windows (USA quality!) don't keep out noise or heat. The staff were friendly (we received a few boxes from Amazon), but we would not stay here again, or visit SF anytime soon. So overrated, and full of cheesy attractions. I guess if you're from Akron or the Mid-West, this might be a cool city, but we live in Switzerland which abounds in great coffee (ok, Peet's was a happy find), mountains, very, very old towns & sites, bike paths & routes everywhere and aside from top-notch ice-cream (USA is great for that), and well-priced sea-food (Switzerland sucks), SF was pretty disappointing, as was this hotel. It was poor value for money, as are many on this busy through route (be sure to check location carefully).

Room Tip: If you want a good, quiet room, go to another hotel. In any other less prententious city a motel lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.