We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Definitely Stay Here Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Redwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redwood Inn
1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I visit San Francisco on a regular basis for pleasure & always have a car. This is the first time staying at this motel & will definitely stay here again. The free parking is a definite plus in a city that is not that car friendly & parking is at a premium & pricey. Convenient & great location close to the Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, & easy access to the Golden Gate Bridge. The rooms are basic & clean. The rooms also have a mini-fridge. The price is fantastic especially considering the free parking. They do have free WiFi, but it's extremely slow and sometimes takes a while to connect. The bed is very comfortable and the room I had in the back of the motel away from busy Lombard St. was quiet - all made for a good night's sleep after a day on the town. The only minor issue I had was that the water never really got that hot. I was there for a week & on a few occasions the shower water went from lukewarm to cool back to lukewarm. I did bring it to the attention of the front desk. Speaking of the employees - very friendly and accomodating. The hotel will give a discount for AAA & is AAA approved. Flat screen TV & cable round out a very pleasant & reasonably priced hotel to stay in a great city.

Room Tip: Suggest you take a room towards the back away from Lombard St. if available - Lombard is a busy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    151
    55
    10
    8
See reviews for
71
127
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Can't beat the rates. It's, neat clean and is close (15 minutes) to many restaurants. May (the owner?) is helpful and you'll need to ask specific questions. Free parking and Internet. TV has great music stations too.

We blew into SFO and needed a quick place to crash. I can sleep ANYWHERE, but my significant other likes VERY clean. This fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great hotel! We were looking for a place to stay in San Francisco that would not send us to the poorhouse and we chose Redwood Inn based on this site's reviews. I couldn't be more pleased. The room was spacious, super clean (not even the usual "hotel smell") and the staff was wonderful. As an added bonus, the location was convenient to many of the places we planned to go. If I ever go back to San Francisco I'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I heard that the hotel has quiet rooms away from the street. We didn't care and did not ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Redwood Inn is a small hotel located on Lombard Street which is a very convenient location for public transportation in the city. It has a small parking lot, but any parking in San Francisco is a major advantage. Just don't try to park a large SUV because it will take quite a bit of maneuvering! The rooms were simple and clean, as were the bathrooms. There is only 1 pillow per person and 1 blanket per queen bed. When we asked for some extra we were grudgingly brought an extra pillow and a blanket. We wanted to sleep in on Saturday but were awakened by a call from the front desk wanting to clean the room. You must notify the front desk if you don't want to be disturbed. The usual Do Not Disturb signs are only available upon request in the office. The price is pretty good for San Francisco so not a terrible deal.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger so ask for the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was one of the best places we stayed in on our honeymoon tour of America. What sets it apart are the people that run it - Yan and May. They made us feel very welcome and gave us the best advice on where to go in San Fran. The rooms are standard but very clean and spacious.
I also loved the donuts for breakfast (if I could get them without the wife looking!)

An ideal place to stay if you want a good base to explore San Fran at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This Hotel is the best deal you can have in SF.
Cheap and In a central position.
The rooms are huge and clean and the people there very gentle, they make you feel like at home.
May, the woman working here, can tell you a lot of interesting thing about the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this place! Although this is an older property, the friendly staff and convenient location make this a good choice. The rooms were clean and quiet even though Lombard is a busy street. The wharf is within walking distance and the bus connections are great! We parked our car for 6 days and walked or bussed everywhere, including Golden Gate Park. There is on site laundry facilities available as well. There are tons of restaurants located within walking distance and we were able to try a different type of cuisine every night - all were good! Parking is free, as is the Wi Fi. We would definitely stay here again! Good value in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor to avoid the parking area. You can't book online but the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1530 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.