We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth to consider” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco to your Saves list
City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Ramada Limited Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Worth to consider”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Being a travel agent from Germany, I stayed in the main building and not in the annex across the street.
Staff upon arrival has been very helpful and well the hotel policy says check in time is 3 pm! So no necessity to discuss that.
Room and bathroom were clean, what I would rate as most important. The room looked as have been recently renovated.
You will find all the amenities you expect in a motel such as hair dryer, iron and ironing board, TV (with 6 channels, but do I come to San Francisco to watch TV), no coffee maker, but free coffee in the lobby througout the day. And if they offer a light continental breakfast I cannot expect an american buffet breakfast.
The area is South of Market and yes there are some "strange suspects" on the street as other commentators mentioned, but you have them in this neighborhood and not only around this hotel. Nevertheless there are restaurants and bars just around the corner which can be recommended.
So if you are looking for a reasonable priced accommodation in the heart of SFO it is well worth to consider to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    25
    26
    97
See reviews for
20
34
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

When we chose this hotel, tempted by the low price, we didn't wanted to trust the other opinions... We were positive and thought it were only exceptions. As we arrived, we realised, how truth they unfortunately were! I can confirm all the other opinions. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS "HOTEL"! Please take a look at the picture we uploaded! This hotel is dangerous!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I'm writing this to keep everyone up to date that this "hotel" is still bad. I stayed in the other half which was across the street. It was terrible. They advertise that the place is newly renovated but there were still many things in the room that still had "Knights Inn" written on it. Our room literally had a hole in the wall..HA! The TV only had four channels and knowing this they only put a TV guide for HBO which was the only cable channel available. The bathroom had a very strange odor and the light did not work. We were also missing an iron. Called to have it replaced but it never was until we went to speak with a manager.

And what about the nice complimentary breakfast? 1 small coffee. 1 small juice. 1 small "danish". There are prisons out there that feed you better than this.

Honestly, I've stayed in worse places but it's not worth the nonsense unless you plan to stay for a very short period. If not, I'm sure there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We are from the east coast and were traveling to San Fran to attend a wedding. We booked at another hotel and it was a nightmare! Filthy and just awful. Luckily we found City Center!! It isn't the Hyatt, mind you, but it's neat and clean and quaint. With rooms opening into a courtyard, it was very nice. The manager, Ms. Ashford couldn't have been more gracious. She showed us several rooms before we decided and we convinced the other travelers for this wedding to move over to City Center. They were so much happier. Wilma is in charge of the cleaning crew and she was very happy to accomodate all of us with extra towels. I forgot my cell phone charger and they looked in their lost and found and gave me one to use while I was there. It was a lifesaver in so many ways. The hotel is a short walk to several coffee shops and sandwich or pizza places. Only a few blocks to the main street where you can catch a bus to everywhere! We started our trip feeling stressed and worrying about where we were staying and ended up having a wonderful time. Thank you City Center Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in San Francisco. Its conveniently located. The staff is friendly and always helpful. I stay here for work several times a month. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The only downside for me us the very limited amount of TV stations available.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wurzburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Front desk staff was very helpful. Clean accomadations. Nice restful night and most importantly a great location in SF. It was in the center of SF, near the mall, and union square. Sheets were comfortable and heater worked fine on a cool night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco

Address: 240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Ramada Limited Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco 1.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Center Inn & Suites San Francisco where we are located in the urban quiet Downtown/South of Market, or SOMA, district which is much compared to New York City's Soho district known for eclectic fine dining, popular dance/night clubs, lounges and outlet shopping. Walk to the main Cable Cars station ride them to Union Square - famous shopping area, Westfield/Bloomingdales Mall within walking distance, Chinatown - one of the best in the United States, & Fisherman's Wharf- enjoy renowned dungress crab cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn - Downtown San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Knights Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.