We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and convenient option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco

Save Saved
You added City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Ramada Limited Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Qiryat Ono
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good and convenient option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

reasonable loaction (15 min. walk from city center) though might seems bit of unfreindly (in particular along Market St. between 6th & 8th street)

check in time is at 15:00. inconvenient after long flight.
reasonable maintainance and room cleaning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    24
    31
    91
See reviews for
17
30
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Toilet had flapper valve torn off; unusable. We were changed to different room that had shower with constant leak. Room clean, but tiny & dowdy; bed was comfy. Coffe maker had broken lid. Hotel is several stories tall, but NO elevators! Most rooms are across street from office located in mid--block, no crosswalk. Room was quiet with good bed and cleanliness, but nothing else in this hotel is aceptable, I most often stay at Motel 6's, but this hotel is FAR below M 6 standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

For me a hotel room is just a place to sleep and shower, and I don't pay much attention to the details so this is my first hotel review. My room was inconveniently across the street from the office. The first thing I noticed was the bed offset from the base. I had to lift up my friend's bed so he could push in a metal bar in that was sticking out. All the lamps in the room were connected to the same wall switch. Wireless internet strength varied for me. My friend logged onto another open network. There was no remote for the TV. The radio/clock was broken and unable to be set. The bathroom light was on a timer with no fan. Even after crossing the street and speaking to the front desk, the phone had no dial tone. Hotel info said the place had been refurbished in 2008, since then dust bunnies had been multiplying behind the bathroom door under the peeling wallpaper.

Room Tip: Hotels in San Francisco are expensive and the city adds on its own tax. I suggest booking a room out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is so poorly run and managed I can't believe the Wyndham group would want to be associated with this establishment. I arrived for my confirmed reservation. I had booked directly with the hotel. Only to be told, my reservations were transferred to another city - a 30 minute drive. I told them it was not acceptable but they did not care. I told the reception I was not going to stay at the other place and cancelled the reservation. She assured me I would not be charged. Not only was I left scrambling to find another hotel room in the city, once I got credit card I was charged by the other hotel. The hotel was non-responsive with assisting to refund the money. They had I had to a call the other hotel - what a joke. I had to contact Wyndham customer service to resolve. Never again would I stay or book a room at this place.

Room Tip: Don't make a reservation unless you want to be scrambling to find a room upon check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Reception - rude. Management - tight - there is an amazing list of charges in the room - $500 for an IKEA lamp. Location good and parking good. Otherwise desperation would be the only reason you would stay here (it was for me - turned up not reaslising that this weekend was Gay Pride and the whole town was booked out). You have to laugh thought - at reception there is a note that says "The free breakfast consists of a coffee, an orange drink and a single pastry - if you want any more here is a list of local resturants". Sort of "we know we are rubbish, so go here if you are still hungry" or "we know our rooms are dirty, here is a name of a damm good disinfectant". SF hotels are not cheap - this one isnt cheap but it doesnt need to be so nasty - odd thing, the physical hotel isnt so bad and it wouldnt be that bad a place to stay if the manager stopped hating the customers. Definitely one for the third world

Room Tip: Go to the BEst Western
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Decent location, terrible rooms, noisy due to street, TV did not function, curtains dirty and with holes, overall: would never go again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Perhaps we were spoiled by the great, cheap, room we had in Vegas but, man, this place (three times the price of the Vegas motel) was Not Good. It takes a lot to make me want to write a bad review but I feel compelled to warn you all off.
Booked online - no option for twin room so booked a double and sent an email requesting a twin. Never heard anything back and when we arrived they had booked us into a double room. No offer to move us or even apologise. The staff member behind the desk actually said "and it's quite a small double bed too". They did give us the option of a rollaway bed we could use.....for $20 a night.
When we got into the room there wouldn't have been room to put a rollaway bed anyway! The bed that was in there had a chunk of metal sticking out of it that gashed my friend's foot. Rat-trap on the floor also didn't exactly fill us with confidence either. Walls so thin I could hear a guy in the next room cleaning his teeth.

Charged a $125 "security deposit" to my credit card at check-in, which I've never encountered before and don't yet know if I've got back.
They certainly are mercenary in this place. In your room is a long list of what they'll charge you for every item should they become damaged/lost. From $1300 for the curtains down to $2 for each battery in the remote control.
You can't even dial a toll-free (75cents) or local call (75cents + 77cents per min) for free. In most other places I've stayed everything bar long-distance is gratis.
On our last day I asked at the desk about booking a cab as we had to leave at 2.30am to get to the airport. Was told, no problem just call from your room half an hour beforehand. Which is what I did. Was told by the chap on the end of the phone that they don't do that before 4am(?!?!) and to "just go out on the street and hail one".
Which is what we had to do since the cab company (which my local friend had given me a number for) could only accept calls made from the lobby not a room (which I found out during an abovementioned Expensive Phonecall) and the phone in the lobby was apparently "not working" when I went over to ask.
So me and my - female - friend were out on the streets of downtown SF looking for a cab, which SF is not the best place for, at 2.30am on a Saturday night with all our luggage. We may as well have been wearing a sign saying "Hi we're desperate tourists please mug us". The cabbie that picked us up got a gratefully large tip I can tell you.

I picked this motel as it wasn't in the "Tenderloin" area (a bit of a no-go zone apparently) and it was close to town and my friend's apartment. I made a mistake. Choose another place.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Even the best room in the place wouldn't make it worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco

Address: 240 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Ramada Limited Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Center Inn & Suites San Francisco where we are located in the urban quiet Downtown/South of Market, or SOMA, district which is much compared to New York City's Soho district known for eclectic fine dining, popular dance/night clubs, lounges and outlet shopping. Walk to the main Cable Cars station ride them to Union Square - famous shopping area, Westfield/Bloomingdales Mall within walking distance, Chinatown - one of the best in the United States, & Fisherman's Wharf- enjoy renowned dungress crab cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn - Downtown San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Knights Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Inn & Suites - San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.