We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel convenient to public transportation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Whitcomb to your Saves list
Hotel Whitcomb
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming hotel convenient to public transportation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I booked this hotel with no prior knowledge except reviews found online, some which were good and some not so good. We found it very convenient and fairly quiet but extremely convenient to public transportation which was a consideration. We rode the BART from the airport right to the front door and back again. We used the subway once and the muni buses many times. The buses are clean and efficient and on schedule. When you go to a bus stop you can dial 511 and enter the ID number of the stop and it will give you the schedules and numbers of each bus that stops there. How convenient is that. We had one that stopped right outside the door that we could catch right by Ghirradeli Square and ride safely back each evening when we were done sight seeing.
The drivers were helpful and courteous . As seniors we rode cheaply and it is way better than renting a car and paying $40-$60 per day to park at your hotel and trying to negotiate the hills and lack of parking at other venues.
The Whitcomb staff was courteous and helpful, especially the concierge'. They have free wifi and you can use the business center computers by the concierge' desk to print your boarding passes for free.
The area around has some homeless people that show up every evening but they never bothered us.
Overall, we found it a good place to stay with clean rooms, quick elevators and helpful staff.
The halls were rather dark but they were not long.
There is a restaurant but we never ate there so I cannot give an opinion. There is also a Starbucks right in the corner of the lobby and we did take advantage of that a few times. There are some nice small local restaurants across the street that serve more than adequate breakfasts. My husband and I ended up splitting them most of the time as they were so large.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for posting your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you were met with our courteous staff and that the location was ideal for your trip. We do hope that you keep us in mind if you should return to SF.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    489
    439
    260
    166
See reviews for
277
507
173
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First of all what they charge a night is insane for what it is. The ONLY up side is there is a trolly and Bart train within steps of the hotel.
I feel like with the steep prices they are charging more maintenance could be done to the rooms. The rooms are quite small and the bathroom is even smaller. The shower was just gross . They tout their bedding in their write up. The sheets are thin, pillows uncomfortable, and beds are no where near luxury as they state.
The last straw my daughter woke up with red welps on her legs/ arms..bed bugs. We could not get out of the there fast enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to personally speak to you about the the comments in the posting as we take those very seriously. I will investigate to ensure that these reports are addressed.

Thank you in advance.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The service was good, however I wouldn't stay there again. I didn't feel safe outside of the hotel due to the large numbers of homeless people outside. The room was average and not the cleanest.

Apparently my travel agent had stayed there before so we stayed based on her recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting and for your your time to let us know your thoughts. We appreciate all the comments our guests provide as it allows us to better server our customers in the future. We want all our guests to feel safe and comfortable so we take steps for everyone at the hotel to feel that way.

Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Woke up at six am and found bed bugs in my sheets.... Needless to say I was appalled. The manager refunded my night and I went to another hotel that was much better. The room could have been charming with its high ceilings and cosy feel but the air conditioner being obscenely loud ruined it. It was not very clean and IT HAD BED BUGS!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. However I am disappointed to hear your claims. We want you to know that we take these very seriously and we have taken several actions to prevent such activity. I would like to reach out to you and get more information so that we can address this claim as soon as possible. Please contact me if you can.

Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am all about staying at a landmark hotel but there are minimum standards that should be met for your guests. The hotel was rather dirty and looked like it had not been tended to. The location was decent, not close to anything but walkable to anywhere we needed to go. I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear these comments. We will look into your details and work at making improvements as we always try and do with guest feedback. Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were directed around to the laneway behind the hotel to valet parking. The laneway was jammed with cars parked haphazardly while a bewildered looking valet searched in a bucket for keys to a customer's car. Having to carefully maneuver our vehicle so the other customer could exit, we were left jammed up behind another car while yet another car pulled in immediately behind us. The valet could not speak English, so was unable to tell us what we were to do or how they were going to park us. Consequently, we spent an hour in the alley, waiting for the valet to take care of the vehicles and get a luggage cart to remove our things from the car. We did not feel safe in leaving the vehicle in the neighbourhood unattended and without being able to communicate with the valet, were not confident in his abilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We have listened to these comments and make changes already to our valet procedures. We have Our goal is to have the best possible experience from the time you arrive to departure in all areas when you stay with us. We appreciate these comments as it allows us to better address our guests needs.

Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is not modern and it's classic architecture is lost in a layer of dust. I imagine because it's difficult to clean. I'm certain our bathroom is from the fifties and the shower is not up to standard at all. Staff are okay, not amazing, just okay. One guy has such a bad grasp of the English language it was only matched by his condescending attitude following our late arrival. Anyway, our issues were resolved by the lovely Emeralda so we got back on track fast.

The hotel is what it is but I would advise spending a little more and staying in either centre of Union square or fishermans wharf.

The big issues with this hotel is what lurks outside .... the homeless guys who make you run the gauntlet to get back into the hotel are on a par with the drunk "sellers" of crap stolen from tourists. Both are aggressive and seriously high on drugs. I mean, I'm from London so homelessness isn't a shock but what is shocking is that 9/10 of these guys need mental health assistance. It's incredible, everywhere in market street is awash with mentally ill people. Finally, please don't be fooled by the Whitcomb's claim of a Union Square location. Union Square it aint, it's in a run down part of market street so my advice is to keep your head down and head quickly out of the area.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us. We have listened to your comments and made our staff aware so that they can be more aware of the perception of our valued customers. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss your stay further.

Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Whitcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.