We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I hadn't gotten the room on hotwire for cheap i would have been very upset.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Whitcomb to your Saves list
Hotel Whitcomb
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Davis, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If I hadn't gotten the room on hotwire for cheap i would have been very upset.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My biggest complaint is that the valet parking treats your cars like toys.im sorry but I do not appreciate the valet bringing me my car by revving up the engine flying down the alley without his hands on the steering wheel.

The hotel was nice with its victorian style which i very much enjoyed but the service was poor. The staff also was not very friendly

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to communicate your concerns about the valet with our staff. We will also share your thoughts about the service you received with our Front Desk so that they can be aware of your feelings. Thank you again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    500
    449
    263
    171
See reviews for
282
515
174
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is not my first time staying here. I think we're going to make it a tradition. The hotel is older but that just adds to it's charm. Historical and still relevant, the Whitcomb is just steps away from all that is happening in SF. But the real reason to stay here is the customer service- Kazi, the customer service manager, is on top of things if an issue should arise. Definitely worth staying here if you care about the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the kind words about your stay with us. We are pleased that you were met with our usual great customer service and attentive managers. I will be sure to share these comments with our staff so they know your stay was great.

Thank you again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Whitcomb this past week and I have to say I was a little nervous about the location at first. But the staff is super friendly and awesome. Including the manager Sean. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about your stay. We are all pleased to get another 5 star review from one of our valued customers. I will be sure to share this with the staff members mentioned.

Thank again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from July 2-July 8th, 2014. I chose a petite double room.

The location of this hotel is slightly problematic, though in the hotel's defense, there's nothing it can do about it. It's located on the edge of the Tenderloin district, and there are definitely some rough/scary people about as it's a disadvantaged area of San Francisco. I'd definitely have some concerns travelling to this hotel at night, on foot.

That being said, the transportation choices are excellent. There's a MUNI and BART station right in front of the hotel (local and regional transit). Makes getting to most of the attractions easy, and cheap. It's only a 9 dollar fare from the airport, and it's right outside.

There are plenty of restauarant choices nearby. There's a Subway sandwich place, a diner called Sam's, a Burger King, and a Carl Jrs very close by. There's also a restaurant in the lobby, and a Starbucks in the hotel. Can't beat that for convenience.

After 9PM, or thereabouts, there is security in the lobby. It is required due to the neighbourhood, and I'm glad it was there.

My room. My room was a petite double. The lowest rate per night for this room I paid for was 99 dollars. And for that, you can't really beat the price. The wifi was good, and very reliable. My room had windows facing the inside (not street view) so it was quiet.

However--the room was dark. I don't know if they are trying to cut costs, but the lamps in the room needed more wattage to make up for the fact that there wasn't a lot of light coming from outside. The room was incredibly small. A dresser drawer to help store my clothing would have helped. In fairness, there was a large walk in closet. But it didn't have any light inside, making it fairly useless to store clothing.

The room itself was clean, if not huge. Housekeeping did a great job.

I had no problems with the front desk staff. They were eager to help and cooridinated a late check out time for me at a minimal charge.

All in all? I would stay here again. The price is right, and the location great. What's sad is that the vagrancy and homeless problem around the neighbourhood may turn off some people. I'd feel uncomfortable walking to this hotel at night, even a short 10 min walk. BUT...the location, service, and price still make this a place to stay. If they take my advice about making the rooms a bit brighter in terms of the illumination, it'd be close to perfect.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose a room NOT facing Market Street. However, be prepared for a decided lack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here the weekend of SF Pride. It was my "Pride Weekend" and the location is amazing!
We had an extremely pleasant stay there. Kazi was amazing and made any glitches right but also made our stay extra special. The room was clean and large which is unusual for a lot of the older remodeled hotels. I was impressed by the details and the fact that hotel security seemed good because the area is very "central" - a plus - but a lot of foot traffic and we felt very safe and comfortable. The beds were awesome - super comfortable and for once ample pillow choices.
We got good advice and some surprise extras when it came to attending weekend events. Thanks to everyone who made our weekend great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Staying at the Whitcomb reminded me of the Overlook hotel from Stephen King's The Shining - a place with a rich history, which has certainly seen better, grander days.

My visit started with a 15 minute wait for the elevator (which was thankfully not overflowing with blood), a ritual which repeated itself twice a day. I found myself dreading the long waits for the elevator, and actually gave up on going downstairs for coffee some evenings... I've heard many horror stories about the horrible traffic in SF, but at the Whitcomb I got to experience congestion in the stairwell, as I and a few other frustrated guests climbed 7 stories, just to avoid those elevators.

The hotel was filled with many other similar surprises... trash in my room on check-in, lousy showers, an exposed metal bit in the furniture which cut my foot, noisy wake-ups from the street, and for some weird reason only a single tiny mirror in the elevator situated at crotch height... at least that absurdity offered some comic relief from the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for pride this year and am so happy that I did! Not only was it really close to everything, the customer service was great. Kazi went above and beyond to make sure I had a great time. The room was clean and even though it was an older hotel everything seemed well cared for . I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Whitcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.