We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy from start to finish” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Whitcomb to your Saves list
Hotel Whitcomb
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sketchy from start to finish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here tonight. Let's just say I'm happy it's only a night. There's weird smells and noises, the bathrooms are the size of the closets, the sheets were musty and the place is old & falling apart. Yes, I get historic but that doesn't mean rundown. The TV was great but the remote control was filthy!! I would never stay with this hotel again and hope I never have to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. We are disappointed that the hotel was not us to your needs. We will examine these comments and do our best to make improvements. If you would like to discuss further I am always available to talk personally.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    491
    442
    261
    166
See reviews for
277
510
173
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The public areas are very impressive of times gone by, but our room had had a quickie make over leaving it with poor tiling, plumbing and in need a complete re-fit really.

We felt forced to use concierge parking because firstly the place is hell to find ans=d get into because of the one way systems, and secondly there was not a car park in sight. So we paid up £35 dollar plus taxes a night to park the car.

Our room had interconnecting doors to two other rooms and they are not soundproof. We could easily hear their conversations.

The extractor fan didn't work (they did fix it - but why don't the maids check and report these things) and the light in to suitcase alcove didn't work either.

No coffee maker because there is a Starbucks off the foyer. Breakfast is overpriced, but here is a choice of Starbucks or several fast food establishments across the road.

We did have a a good meal in the dimly lit restaurant with very lean steaks. From our window seat we could watch the local dropouts walk by. We were never pestered - except by the barman when we signed for the bar bill without adding a tip.

All in all, an expensive way to end our holiday and we will be suggesting to Thomas Cook's that they find somewhere else to use instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your stay. We are disappointed that each aspect of your stay was not excellent. We are pleased that during your stay you experienced great service and sleep quality. We do hope that if you should return to SF from UK you will contact me personally to assist in your accommodations.

Cheers

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a hotel with a true Way to experience the city of San Francisco! By reading other reviews after I already booked my room thru Hotwire I have to admit it made me a little nervous. I loved the fact that there are little eateries around! U have Walgreens a min walk away. Best of all public transportation right out front! The staff was nice :) I checked in at 1 am with ease! The parking is right behind hotel! I google mapped it so I knew exactly what road an alley to turn on! The hotel has a true historic feel to it! I myself work at a four star resort in Hawaii, so yes I can see how this hotel functions from a different perspective then most! YES, this is a great not to touristy, not overly priced place to stay in San Francisco! I will visit again! Aloha :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review! We are all pleased that another guest loved their stay. We do hope that each time you come to SF from Hawaii you stay with us.

Aloha.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times. The hotel is very dated which is fine when I'm traveling solo for business. I don't expect I could get my wife or kids to stay here. The pros: large flat-screen TV, comfortable bed, reliable wifi, and a decent fitness room. The cons: very old bathrooms/toilets/showers, old air conditioners. Overall, it's a charming historical hotel with a restaurant/bar and very easy access to Bart/Muni.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay again. We are pleased that we are your choice in SF for your trips to the area. We do hope that you continue to stay with us and please next time ask for me so I can thank you personally for returning.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you like old hotels with homeless people hanging around outside begging and bothering you, this is the place for you. Even the furniture in the lobby appears to not have been cleaned since it opened !! Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We do appreciate all feedback both negative and positive so we can better understand our guests feelings and needs. We talk all these reviews very seriously and will examine areas we need to improve. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

At the front desk, the guy from Uruguay was very nice. Cristina was horrible in the only 2 occasions we had to ask her something. Other guy told us the trip to the airport take 2:30hrs, he wanted us to leave at 5:30 to be at the airport at 8. Fortunately we asked other people, trip from hotel to the airport was 16 minutes. Late check out is $100 for only 1 hour. Still thinking on recommend this hotel or not.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay. I have read your comments and the details about the information provided by our staff and the charges seem incorrect, so I apologize for any inconvenience. Please contact me directly to discuss and make sure that you were not overcharged.

Thank you in advance.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful old historical hotel while we were in SF for our wedding & honeymoon. We absolutely loved it!!! We loved the charm and the history of the hotel. Our room on the 7th floor was great and we loved the views. Our room did face Market and it was noisy, especially in the morning because of construction across the street. If this is a concern ask for a room away from Market. We loved our room and enjoyed the sounds of the city. Everyone we dealt with was awesome. The concierge, Rahn Fudge was wonderful!!!! If you need anything please go to the lobby and speak with him. He will take great care of you. The location of the hotel is perfect for navigating the city. Bart and Muni is right outside the door. There are a lot of homeless in the area, but that is big problem in all areas of the city. They really don't bother you, but you should be aware your surroundings in all areas of the city. Anytime we travel to SF this will be our hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Love the views facing Market, but they are noisier because of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We are all pleased to hear that we had another satisfied guest. I will be sure to share these comments with the entire staff. Please stay with us again in the future if you should return.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Whitcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.