Had one of the worst experiences of my travelling life here. Do not stay there!
We booked quiet last minute on Hotwire.com so didn't know what we were getting til it was confirmed. We had expected a 3star room for two, what we got was a 2star(or lower) shabby room with two small twin beds.
As we checked in the queue was huge but this was around 3pm so check in time so not really surprised or put out by that. The lobby area is lovely and the reception staff were friendly enough... it was when we got to our room that it all went very down hill.
The room was very dated, scuffs on the wall and curtains that didn't close(there was a basic blind behind the net curtain that barely blacked out the room. The street noise was very loud and we were located by the lifts on the third floor.
The constant bell ringng of the lift as it hit our floor (in the short time we were there) confirmed that this room would be way too noisy without sleeping tablets and ear plugs! We read through the hotel manual and it mentions to use the door chain on the door and not open the door unless there is confirmation of identity which rang our alarm bells. Then we saw that the door chain was hanging on as if it had been busted before... then as we started to unpack we realised the room didn't have a personal safe, I have never stayed in any room that didn't have a safe and frankly having to go down to reception with all our belongings to store is not professional or very reassuring. Then looking online we saw several reports of theft from this hotel...
We sat there not sure what to do, we spent £300+ on two nights here and had plans for the evening so time was short. We decided to stay and give it a go. I used the toilet only to discover the bowl was filthy and the bathroom grotty. then my partner pointed out a cigarette burn on the bed throw (this room was nonsmoking...) I felt itchy at the thought of what other oversights they had made... at this we decided that there was no way we could stay here. We went online and booked another hotel at top price for the rest of our holiday. We knew we were going to have to just write off the money as there is no refunds on our booking. We returned to reception and told them we were going to check out. When we told them why we were leaving they were surprised and I mentioned the cigarette burn. I was informed that a refund was not possible which I told them I was aware of and hadn't expected we would get one. There was no offer of a different room(not that we would have stayed at this stage.
The location is not desirable and very dodgy(I have been to San Fran before and we had been in the city for four days prior to our brief stay here so knew the city fairly well by the time we checked in). There were so many hobos outside and in the area(something we were used to as this is highly visable in central SF but this was a much higher level and quiet scary). Frankly if you have no valubales and don't mind slumming it you may be ok. I'm sure there are other nicer rooms here but 3star rating is a bloody joke. we wasted our money and it almost ruined our holiday.
If you haven't guessed I WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN(EVEN FOR ANOTHER 30 MINS...)
Go elsewhere in a safer part of town!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are alwys trying to improve our guest experience and will do our best to address the areas you mentioned.
Kris Betz, Director of Operations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.