We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly Hilton San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Play Package
Ranked #68 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed at this hotel with my Husband and Family in June 2014.

The hotel is nice and modern, I think it's recently been refurbished. It's nice and clean and the rooms are spacious with large comfy beds. The staff were friendly and helpfull which is always appreciated/

With just a few minutes walk away from Pier 39 it's a great location for tourists. There is also a supermarket just accross the road which is very handy.

The only downfall is the hotel is quite expensive and we couldn't afford to stay longer than 4 nights. However this was enough time to see most of the wonderful San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    80
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
65
97
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coaldale, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days!! We really enjoyed the location since it's located right in fisherman's wharf. Perfect walking distance to and from the attractions. Easy to locate and i really like how there was a walgreens right across the street to purchase snacks etc. I didn't seen a pool in the hotel which was fine.. since we spent the majority of our time sightseeing San Fran!! The one thing i didn't like was we were charged $2.00 for one local phone call. The hotel was perfect for what we needed… We absolutely enjoyed San Francisco!! The airport was a little bit out of the way however it was $50 both ways for a cab. I would recommend this stay if you aren't travelling with children since i didn't see lots of kids in this hotel.. I am not sure if its children friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were celebrating our 32nd anniversary over the weekend. Our first night, we have a small problem with the room location and condition and we told at check-in nothing could be done. The next morning,we met Bill at the front desk and he turned the stay around by his kindness. Thank you, Bill for making our anniversary a good trip! He arranged another room and had our luggage moved for us while we were out during the day. Great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel in the Fisherman's Wharf area. Very clean, nice, with great service. Walking distance to most of the "touristy" locations in Fisherman's wharf.

The only reason I can't give 5 stars is the price. We paid over $1100 for 3 nights. I know San Fran is expensive, but geez... At that price, I guess I expected a little more "luxury" and a little less cookie cutter.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If location is your main concern when looking for a hotel, then Pier 2620 might be right for you. It's an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, and the North Shore neighborhood. I also walked to Chinatown without much trouble. But the hotel itself is unimpressive. I had seen other reviews from earlier in the year saying that the hotel was going through renovations, so I crossed my fingers for a freshly renovated room, especially at the rate I was paying, but I was disappointed. The carpet and sofa were extremely worn. The other furnishings looked beat up. The hot water control in the shower was finicky. The elevator and hallway smelled musky.

I interacted with the staff very little, but when I did they were pleasant.

There was nothing particularly special about this hotel. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Pier 2620 for a long weekend (Fri-Mon) after dropping our son off at a summer program at UCB. As other reviewers have noted, a strong point of this property is its location just minutes away from Fisherman's Wharf. It is an older building that has been given a 'modern' facelift - streamlined simple decor and suited our purposes - somewhere safe, clean, and comfortable, centrally located.
Pros: Pretty efficient service and professional staff. Rooms fairly large and well-appointed with fridge and coffee/tea-making supplies. Bottles of water were a nice touch and appreciated on our roamings around SFO. Lotions/shampoos were upscale and very nice. Outstanding location close to cable cars, Fisherman's wharf, and many coach tours pick up in the area since it's a popular hotel area. We walked everywhere (including down to the Ferry Building and up to Nob Hill) and thought the location was superb. Parking on site (although it was $40/night, that seems to be roughly the going rate.) Walgreen's across the street and many other restaurants (including Starbucks and Dennys as well as several great-looking breakfast places) as well as a Trader Joe's just a block or so away. Bar/lounge in the hotel; breakfast is available but costs an extra $20. We didn't eat it, so can't say if it was good or not. Hotel arranged for a town car to take us to the airport on Monday - they were ready and waiting well before we were and the driver was efficient and professional.
Cons: Room smelled musty/smoky, but not bad enough to bother to change or complain-might have been more of a problem if either of us were sensitive to cigarette smoke (although someone from housekeeping showed up about an hour after we arrived with a bottle of what looked like Febreze to respond to what must have been a complaint from someone in another room); air flow in our room was poor, so despite cool temps we needed to use AC, which was a bit complicated to operate and did not work particularly well. Overall, the hotel seemed to be pretty typical for the area and met our expectations. We would recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Through Expedia we bought flights to San Francisco and a reservation for a king bed at 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf. We were greeted warmly and to our surprise we were upgraded to a king bed suite. The hotel has been renovated and it shows. The carpets are clean and the walls nicely decorated. The suite was spacious. The main room was essentially a living room/dining room. It was equipped with a small refrigerator, sink and coffee maker. The bedroom was very large. Both rooms had a 50" TV. The bath was modern and as other reviews have noted has full sized Bee Kind bath products.

One safety amenity is the secure elevator. A room key is required to get to guests rooms. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was quiet. The hotel has a well equipped modern gym.

The staff is friendly and helpful, especially our concierges Joanna and Debbie. They helped us with a car rental, reservations with Big B tour bus, restaurant recommendations and more. The housekeeping staff kept our room clean.

The location is perfect. It is located 3 blocks from the pier, 4 blocks from the steep part of Lombard St. and a few minute walk to North Beach and Little Italy. Tour busses, trolleys, bikes, motor carts, and public busses can all be found within a few square blocks.

I cannot think of anything that would have improved our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel offers Club 2620, a room where you can have a light breakfast. You have to reserve it when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2620 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly Hilton San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf , North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience San Francisco's newest Hotel, Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf! This San Francisco hotel offers the perfect haven from which to explore all that the City by the Bay has to offer. When you are welcomed by our friendly associates to Pier 2620 Hotel, you'll find more than a comfortable place to stay. You'll find a community made up of our staff, ready and willing to share our passion for San Francisco, Fisherman's Wharf and the hotel with you. You'll find our hotel to be the "sweet spot" you've been looking for – the perfect launching point to experience the city with a local’s perspective to guide the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton
Hilton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.