We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the heart of the Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2620 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly Hilton San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf) (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Get Cash Back
Ranked #68 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the heart of the Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at Pier 2620 on our last visit to San Francisco. I learned early in the stay from a can driver that the hotel used to be a Hilton. Not sure why it is no longer, but that is irrelevant.

The hotel is very neat and clean. Security is in effect so non-guests can not get up to the guest room floors. Rooms are large with nice sitting area, large TV, safe, coffee pot, iron, and safe.

This hotel is very conveniently located to all tourist attractions in the wharf and Nob Hill areas but is a little bit of a trek to downtown and the Castro areas.

We would definitely stay at this hotel on a future visit.

Just beware of the $40/day parking fee if you rent a car. This is common for wharf area hotels and on street parking can be difficult.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! You are correct, we are no longer affiliated with Hilton as the property changed ownership in November 2013. We're so glad to hear that our guest rooms could meet your needs and you felt reassured by our secured elevators. Parking can definitely be challenging, so we're always happy to assist with public transportation options whenever possible. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review - we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    187
    84
    25
    16
See reviews for
146
199
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

For me short term family vacationers with small kids in SF it got the perfect location for Fisherman's Wharf, Alcatraz Island and Cable Cars. The price is slightly cheaper than those chain hotels around. Got a 15% discount for booking early (5 months in advance). The place was probably refurbished from an old building, but rooms are nicely kept. Staff are friendly. Did not try the complimentary continental breakfast as there are plenty of choices around. We stayed in a King room which is spacious and comfortable. Our friends are in a standard room with 2 double beds which is much smaller and would be a little bit crowded if you have more luggages.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! Booking in advance definitely has it's advantages - it sounds like it did for you and your family! Our location is definitely a highlight and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of all the attractions! We couldn't agree with you more that this is a great place to be with kids as there's so much to see and do! Thank you again for your feedback of our staff as well - we always aim to provide impeccable service. We hope to see you again in the future should you be back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room was located between guest floors on a sold-out Saturday night. We saw families with kids in the hallways, but HEARD NOTHING in the room. Very nice! Nice staff, especially the concierge and the bellman. Great location, too. The $40 parking isn't so bad for the location and it comes with unlimited in/out privileges; also, it's charged by reservation night, not by calendar day, so you don't get stuck with an extra day's charge. The bed was perfect. Forgot to bring my favorite pillow up from the car; the one with the bed was so nice, I didn't have to go fetch it. Free HBO, too.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the street noise. But the traffic on these streets is slow and limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We're so happy to hear that virtually all of our amenities could help make your stay a great one - especially the beds which continue to get amazing feedback from our guests! We work hard and pride ourselves on customer service and are always happy to hear of great guest experiences. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you come to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lympstone, Devon , uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good value hotel. In a great location near to fishermen s wharf. Very helpful staff, keen to help in any way they could. Clean hotel and bedrooms. Bed was amazingly comfy. Only slight disappointment was the breakfast .. not a huge choice but again staff were very helpful. If we return to San Francisco we will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're so glad to hear that your guest room could meet your expectations and of your friendly interactions with our staff - we work extremely hard to set ourselves apart from other hotels based on customer service! We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Really enjoyed this stay, clean comfortable rooms and helpful staff.
Great breakfast.
Car park under aether hotel $40 per day but worth doing as it's expensive elsewhere.
Would come here again.
Like with most hotels if you have a problem let them know. Don't moan after you have left! We had a faulty aircon. Fixed within 30mins.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay - ESPECIALLY your final comment! We are always available to help with any issues our guests encounter (though hopefully there aren't any!) and would love the opportunity to take care of anything before you leave rather than hear about them after you've departed! Thank you for the kind words about parking - which is definitely one of the bigger challenges that everybody in the city encounters - visitors and residents alike! It sounds like overall you had a great stay and were able to take full advantage of our great location! We hope to see you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We (4 of us, 2 rooms) stayed for 4 nights at the Pier 2620. We choose this hotel because of its location as well as the good reviews I've read from Tripadvisor.
The check-in took longer than expected, due to no fault of Pier 2620. In fact our travel agent have messed up our names in the booking and Bill (the guy that checked us in) had to do a bit of detective work to sort it out. Our rooms were clean and spacious. Unlike some hotels, the fridge in the room was a good size and we used it to keep our drinks and food cold and fresh. The amenities in the bathroom was, again unlike some hotels, of good quality and nice (I tried it despite we brought our own). However, despite all good things about this hotel, there are a couple things that's not so good. The sound proofing between floors were poor and as my room was on the first floor facing the courtyard we could hear the room above moving about, several occasions during the night and the early hours in the morning. The other thing to be aware of if you like a dark room to sleep in then the light in the courtyard can come through the window shutters. We were not bothered by this and would have enjoyed our sleeps more if it weren't for the noise upstairs. The bed was large and very comfortable.

All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful, in particular the concierge, who helped us with restaurants, bus routes etc.

The hotel location was great, literally a stone's throw to many restaurants. Pier 39 was only 5-10 minutes stroll away, the terminus for the Hyde & Powell, the Ghiradrdelli Square, the hop-on hop-off big bus (definitely worth doing) terminus (stop 1) were a few minutes' walk away. China town, Union Square are further away. The famous crookiest street, Lombard Street, is couple blocks away but the walk up is steep but worth the effort.

We all had a very pleasant stay at the Pier 2620 and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors facing the courtyard if you don't want to hear the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We're so happy to hear that our guest rooms and amenities could meet almost all of your needs. We're always happy to receive feedback on our wonderful staff and are thrilled to hear of great customer interactions such as yours. It sounds like you were able to really take advantage of our amazing location to see and do many of the great attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Thank you for the thoughtful feedback and advice for your fellow travelers as well - we continue to do our best in all of the areas where we can control things and are happy to do anything we can to make all of our guests' experiences one to remember! We hope to see you again should you be back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is located a few blocks from the famous Fisherman's Wharf area. The hotel is an older property with a New York feel to it. Old school high level service from all of the staff. they really were good people to work with. The rooms are nice and the TV's are HUGE. I don't think we ever turned it on but a 60" TV in a hotel room? Wow. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and came with a mini fridge and microwave. Incredible location and great amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P2HCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay! It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us and experienced wonderful customer service - something we work extremely hard to provide to every guest who walks through our door. We are always happy to receive feedback in that department. We're so glad the rooms and amenities could meet your needs after busy days full of sightseeing! We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2620 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly Hilton San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience San Francisco's newest Hotel, Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf! This San Francisco hotel offers the perfect haven from which to explore all that the City by the Bay has to offer. When you are welcomed by our friendly associates to Pier 2620 Hotel, you'll find more than a comfortable place to stay. You'll find a community made up of our staff, ready and willing to share our passion for San Francisco, Fisherman's Wharf and the hotel with you. You'll find our hotel to be the "sweet spot" you've been looking for – the perfect launching point to experience the city with a local’s perspective to guide the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton
Hilton Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.